Frederick William Schwinn’s Reviews

Frederick William Schwinn

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Lawyer,The very best!!

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick 1-3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Fred Schwinn .He is an expert in his field .His staff were very helpful and knowledgeable.They were very up front with us about every detail .My case was dismissed and I do not think this would have been the case if we had not hired Fred to help us.

  2. Debit Collection & summons advice

    Posted by Alicia, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick 1-3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The Consumer Law Centre, Inc are a friendly Law firm, very helpful and listen to you concerns and gives the best advice on how to resolve the situation. Their staff are friendly helpful and so polite, I would highly recommend this firm to anyone who needs legal advice on Debit collections or bankruptcy. We had a review of our case by Raeon Roulston who was a great example of a professional attorney knowledgeable, responsive and so helpful. Thank you!
    If you need help and need a firm you can trust and know what they are doing, these are the firm!

  3. Thanks to Fred, case was dismissed!

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick 1-3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am by far pleased with the work Fred and his team has done with my case against a junk debt buyer trying to sue me on an old debt. I was always informed by the paralegal, and was always able to call in for any updates on my case. I recommend him to any one I know seeking help defending themselves against a lawsuit against creditors. I was relieved to have the help I needed this time.

  4. Excellent service, both in terms of legal rigor and compassion for the client!

    Posted by Ryan, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick 1-3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When we were served Fred took a look at our case and presented us with the facts. Understanding the gravity of the situation and the implications for our family, he sensitively outlined the best, middle and worst case scenarios. As time progressed, he kept in touch with us, updating us on the progress of our case. He was meticulous in his research as he had mentioned that our case was not entirely unique and was eventually able to find a case that had established a precedent related to our issue. He has served us beyond our satisfaction, especially given that this was the first time we had to contact a lawyer for anything like this before.

  5. Very competent, very effective, also patient and responsive

    Posted by Ray, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick more than 3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The order and final decree closing my Chapter 13 bankruptcy case was signed on May 24, 2012. Fred Schwinn, his associates, and his staff competently shepherded me through my Chapter 13 bankruptcy from the assembling of the required information to the closing of my case.
    I became acquainted with Fred when I attended a seminar on bankruptcy that he gave. I was favorably impressed by the thoroughness of his presentation and by the clarity of his explanations and of his answers to questions. Also, he was patient and respectful in his behavior toward those who had come to the seminar. I thought that he would treat his clients in the same manner.
    Before my petition for bankruptcy was granted, I regularly received phone calls from collection agencies. Some of them were unpleasant; some were threatening in tone and were clearly meant to intimidate me. They certainly succeeded in troubling me. As my lawyer, Fred responded to these calls and dealt with the agencies, to my great relief.
    I recall that in the first year of my plan, I received a notice from the trustee for my case about my payments. As the notice did not include an explanation of why it had been sent, I became worried. I sent a copy of the notice to Fred who assured me that letter was only a formality. He explained that the trustee regularly sent out such notices to inform those whose cases he was overseeing of the current status of their payments.
    If you are thinking of filing for bankruptcy, I don’t think you can find better legal representation than that provided by Fred Schwinn and the staff of the San Jose Consumer Law Center. I am completely satisfied with their representation of me.
    Raymond [removed by Avvo staff]
    August 6, 2012

  6. If you have people suing you over consumer debt this is the Man!

    Posted by a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick more than 3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He did excellent work for my brother. Before my brother contacted Fred he had hired some know nothing attorneys who knew nothing about consumer debt and the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act but pretended they could help him. If you have consumer debt, don't hire a personal injury attorney just like you would not hire a orthopedist if you have cancer. It's good to see Fred is still doing the "Lords work" helping out consumers!

  7. This guy is awesome!

    Posted by Shelly, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick more than 3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My 87 year old mom was being harassed by bullying bill collectors. Mr. Schwinn was professional, knowledgeable, respectful and attentive. He stopped the bullies while allowing my mom to maintain her dignity during a difficult financial time. He was truly awesome!

  8. I Highly Recommend Attorney Frederick Schwinn

    Posted by Debbie D, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick more than 3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was sued by a collection company/lawyer for a credit card debt. If I thought all the collection calls and letters prior to that already stressed me out, it was the end of the world when I was served. I had no legal understanding of the issue at all, did not know what to do at that point and was just plain scared.

    It was during that very difficult time that I found Attorney Fred Schwinn. He was extremely fast in getting back to me and very professional. He asked me questions, let me know my rights, explained to me what I could do and was able to offer a payment plan for someone in financial trouble like me to get started.

    My case was recently dismissed without prejudice. Thank God for Attorney Fred Schwinn!!! I highly recommend him to anyone who is looking for an excellent, dedicated, honest and kind attorney to help them in credit card debt issue.

  9. Consumer Law Center

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick more than 3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a lawsuit against me for a debt collection on a credit card. I had tried to work with this individual bank but they outsourced their collections dept. to India and they were rude & abusive over the phone. Needless to say, they then decided to sue me for $6,000. I worked with Mr. Schwinn & staff and they got the case against me dropped. They were easy to deal with & were honest & upfront about all details of the case. This team really delivered with great results. I would highly recommend this agency. Heather was also great & very helpful.

  10. Professional, kind hearted, caring lawyer

    Posted by Mary, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frederick Schwinn.
    • I hired Frederick more than 3 years ago.
    • Frederick handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    So much to say about Atty Fred. He is a very smart, caring and most of all kind hearted lawyer. From someone that worked with other lawyers, I CAN HONESTLY say ( and not to mention relieved ) that Atty Fred is overall different. He really cares and will fight for you. It is not about money but about doing the right thing and fighting for it. I am so lucky to have him representing me. Even his team are wonderful. They know what your needs are and support you whole heartedly. I will recommend him in a heartbeat. Thanks Atty Fred for everything!!!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

408-294-6100