John W Stanko’s Reviews

John W Stanko

Average Rating

Based on 51 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ending to a nightmare!!

    Posted by Heidi, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. John Stanko made my horrible experience tolerable. I was facing a long time in jail and Mr. Stanko was able to get the DA to drop a major mistake made one night. He has kept me informed every step of the way. Not making me feel like a criminal. We never went to trial, thank God. That saved me a lot of money. 4th DUI/Assault. DA dropped the assault. He also fought for my license and it will no longer by revoked for 4 years. (that's a long time without driving). Yikes. Thank you Mr. Stanko for helping me get through this mess and come out the other side smiling!!!

  2. Great Lawyer, Great Experience!

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found John on Yelp and through internet searches to represent me for a speeding ticket. He suggested Trial By Written Declaration first and luckily it worked. The cops didn't respond meaning the ticket got dismissed. Anyway, we did this all by email and phone. I personally like to meet everyone, but this worked! He's a go getter and saved me a lot of headache, time and money! Thanks again John!

  3. Excellent representation and outcome!

    Posted by Neil, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Transportation matter.

    I engaged Mr. Stanko to represent me when I got a ticket for 96 mph in a 65 mph zone. He appeared in court for me, negotiated with the CHP officer and the judge, and we received a highly favorable outcome. John is personable, attentive, and communicative, and seems to know everyone at the Marin Traffic Court. He did a great job for me. I recommend him at the highest level to anyone seeking an excellent traffic citation attorney.

  4. Impressive Representation

    Posted by Robert, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Having received a citation for an alleged red light violation captured by San Francisco's automated camera red-light system, I initially thought about fighting it myself and in then realizing the complexity of the issues involved, I contacted John Stanko. Amazingly, John himself answered the phone on the first ring and immediately took the time to discuss my case, explain the law and offer some advice and options. Upon retaining John formally, he promptly reviewed all of my materials, communicated with me, and kept me in the loop as we proceeded toward trial. Then at a certain point, John called me to mention that a respected colleague of his was very involved in the defense of this type of violation and he felt that it might be more beneficial to me to have his colleague handle the case. He graciously put me in touch with her and she succeeded in having my citation dismissed. In conclusion, I consider John to be experienced, professional and generous. I have no doubt that he too would have done a great job had he ultimately represented me.

  5. Marin Area

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I had two back to back speeding tickets in Novato and I felt hopeless about my possibilities but when I hired Mr.Stanko he went over my option and how he was going to build my case. Now at first I was somewhat skeptical because of nature of the citations and the speed he was giving me the information about my options. I felt like I was missing some details but, rest assured he has your best interest in mind when he litigates your case! I actually appear in court with him and saw how he handles cases and he works hard every step of the way. Though there may be some monotony in the courtroom he does the same high level of work every time. You can tell he is an individual who went into a field which he likes and excels and helps people defend themselves. I was so pleased with his work that I hired him a third time for a chp case and he got all the cases dismissed!!!! That's three points and huge bailouts he got out of! Great personal and professional guy!

  6. Highly Recommended!

    Posted by BE, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Highly Recommended! My experience with John Stanko was top notch. Professional.Timely. Responsive. Effective. He represented me very well in traffic court and I did not have to appear in person. I am very pleased with the result in my case. Thanks John!

  7. Thank you Mr. John Stanko!

    Posted by James, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I am in Mississippi, and found Mr. Stanko on the internet. My case was an old one from 1980 in Vallejo California. Mr. Stanko and I talked a couple of times, and he agreed to take my expungement case. He did all the background work, looking up old records, etc. A few months later he presented the case to a judge, and the charge was dismissed. Thank you Mr. John Stanko! I highly and whole heartedly recommend this attorney!

  8. Hire The BEST!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Was able to assist me through a difficult time & obtain
    A just ruling for me!

  9. Call John

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.

    Driving in San Francisco I was ticketed for a ridiculous ticket for speeding. I was referred to John by a client at work over small talk of my situation. I gave John a call and he consulted with me for about 15 minutes giving me a thorough lay out of how this could play and different ways to handle the situation. I then met with him at his office to meet and go over more. I then left my case in his hands to represent me. He kept in contact with updates giving me full details of every step. John made me feel comfortable and I never felt worried. In the end I told John exactly what kind of result I wanted from the case and he delivered.

  10. John Stanko helped me through the whole process

    Posted by Glen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Stanko.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    In a time of great stress and confusion, John really helped make sure I was taking care of every step in the right order and the best way possible. He gets to the point and makes things very clear without hours of lawyer 'speak'. He personally responded to each call and email in a timely manner and never kept me wondering or guessing.