Paul Richard Burglin’s Reviews

Paul Richard Burglin

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Recommend for north bay people looking for a DUI lawyer

    Posted by RR, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was pulled over for not having a front license plate by the CHP and they smelled alcohol on me. I was arrested for a DUI based on the breathylizer results showing just at .08. This occured at a small town so cops there tend to look for stuff to pull you over such as no front license plate. A week later I hired Paul Burglin who showed the CHP didn't follow the protocol of processing me. A few months later in court I was able to get it down to reckless driving. This incident was the only time I had been in trouble with the law prior (or since). I would recommend him for anyone looking for a DUI attorney in the north bay area.

  2. Extremely Professional. Paul will go the extra mile for you.

    Posted by Bill, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Paul to help with my son's DUI after an accident. It was a very serious case involving a felony with injury. After reasonable adjustments, he managed to get it reduced to a misdemeanor and saved my son's career as a result. I can't say enough good things about Paul's professionalism. I highly recommend!

  3. This man saved me from going to prison...twice...and helped me get sober.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested for a DUI when I hit a woman in a crosswalk, in the dark, in the rain, going about 5 mph. I was drunk and so was she. She had ran out in front of me as I was making a turn and I didn't see her until it was too late. I was arrested and had a .16 bac when tested. I was referred to Mr. Burglin by a friend of mine who is also a lawyer. This was after my first lawyer informed me that I would probably be doing some prison time. It was my first DUI. Throughout the court proceedings Mr. Burglin kept me informed about everything that went on. While he is sometimes hard to reach on the telephone, his emails are VERY prompt and if you get his cell number, he is is fast with the text messaging too. The person I hit lied to the courts throughout the process on many instances in an effort to get as much money from the accident as possible. I was outraged. He told me it didn't make any difference in my case and to remain calm in court. At first the courts wanted me to serve a six year prison sentence, then it went down to two years, and eventually he worked out a deal where I served four months of a six month jail sentence and was allowed to do a work furlough program so I was able to save my job and business. I almost lost everything. Part of what helped soften the sentence was his recommendation that I voluntarily wear an alcohol monitoring ankle bracelet for the time I was making court appearances to show the courts that I was taking the matter seriously. After my conviction, the head of probation said she thought I got an incredible deal for my offense and should feel very fortunate. She said I was the only person they had ever heard of wearing a monitoring bracelet without being ordered by the court. It wasn't cheap (about $500 a month), but in the end was worth every penny and helped my cause. I wore it for nine months. He said it was the only way to PROVE to the court that I was not drinking a drop. After my sentence was served I had a misunderstanding of my terms of probation. I thought I could still legally drink alcohol, but not to intoxication. I don't know where I came up with that one, but I was naive and basically stupid. This was ridiculous thinking after such a major conviction. One thing led to another and my drinking picked back up, not to previous consumption levels, so I had a lower tolerance and more severe drunks. About 7 months after I got out of jail, I wound up drunk and passed out on the side of a street, the cops found me and arrested me, and I had a violation of felony probation on my hands. I was incarcerated and once again hired Mr. Burglin. The DA wanted me to do some serious time and have by business license revoked. Mr. Burglin convinced the courts that I didn't need to do time, but needed help because of my alcoholism. He was able to get me released from jail into a 28 day rehab program and in the end was able to save my business once again. Furthermore, the violation of probation was dismissed and my probation was reinstated. After the last court appearances he stayed in touch with me, gave me AA attendance forms to have signed for probation, and checked in occasionally on my well being, encouraging me to get into AA and pursue a sober lifestyle. He was genuinely caring and helpful in getting me on the road to recovery. I have been sober since my second arrest and have no plans to drink in the future. I attend AA meetings, and while not required to anymore, I still get my form signed and give it to probation. Without the help of Mr. Burglin I would probably still be in jail or prison and have lost everything. He is a good dude and did everything he could to help me out. I would highly recommend his services if you are in some deep trouble. I know he has worked miracles for many others who have been in deep crap and has a way of massaging the system if you are willing to take his suggestions and advice on helping you help yourself.

  4. The BEST DUI Attorney

    Posted by Barry, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am writing this review with regards to my wife's first DUI with injury case. Needless to say we were very intimidated by these charges and how we were treated by the police and courts. After contacting Paul Burglin, we were immediately put at ease and assured that he was experienced in this type of charge. He was able to contact the courts and handle matters in a very professional and timely fashion while diminishing the impact of the legal and financial responsiblities. On a more personal level, he was always available and always had answers to our questions. The charges were reduced and we were extremely pleased with his services. I would recommend him highly to family and all friends. He is extremely professional and excellent in the courtroom

  5. A life-saver !!!!!!

    Posted by JR, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I Hold a Commercial drivers license , the stakes were high and I had everything to lose . Mr. Burglin treated me with respect and kept me in the loop . I felt confident with him handling my case . He was able to get my charges reduced !!! I was able to keep my license and my job . He is the GREATEST ...

  6. Paul Burglin

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was charged with a DUI that involved a crash and injury to two other parties, which meant that I was facing a wide spectrum of possible outcomes, including potential prison or jail time. It was in Napa County, which everyone told me was the toughest place to get a DUI. However, it was clear from the very start that Paul Burglin was familiar with the court and its players. He had spectacular timing, knowing when to play which cards. His litigation skills and extensive knowledge of the law was pivotal to getting the charge reduced to a misdemeanor and keeping me out of jail.

    In addition, Mr. Burglin was completely reachable and responsive, and treated me with the utmost respect and consideration, helping me get through this ordeal. I am so extremely grateful to Mr. Burglin, and would therefore highly recommend him.

  7. Paul Burglin

    Posted by Nathan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with my second DUI in 10 years, and was facing a possible 18 months in prison and losing my license for many years. I felt my arrest was unfair, and I was honestly scared of the potential outcome, so I knew I had to hire the best attorney I could find. Paul called me up and honestly told the potentials of the case, and his professionalism and knowledge put a little bit at ease. And a month later, he called to tell me he won the DMV part of my trial! Two months later, he had the prosecutions attorney agree to a dry and reckless! Paul Burglin ended this nightmare of a situation, and I am truly indebted to him.

  8. Paul Burglin - Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Paul Burglin. I had just relocated from the east coast and had not a clue of the severity or the repercussions of getting a DUI in Marin County. Paul assisted with all aspects of my case from start to finish with his comprehensive knowledge and highest level of professionalism. His trial preparation and litigation skills superseded the prosecution and it was clearly obvious to the entire courtroom that this is his expertise.

    Also there is a human characteristic to Paul that makes him one of the best.
    He treats his clients with the utmost respect at a time when they can hardly withstand the stress of the situation they have found themselves in. He is in his profession for all the right reasons and you will not be disappointed in his services.

  9. great lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was blown away by Mr. Burglin's questioning of the cop. He made him look like a deer in the head lights. I was found not guilty of everything and got my license back.

  10. DUI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Burglin.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I can't say enough about Paul Burglin. He is brilliant, sharp, creative, personable, and professional. He worked extremely hard on my behalf and also by doing behind-the-scenes research. I had total confidence in his ability and was very lucky that I came accross him. (I found him on the internet). I was completely acquitted on charges for a third DUI. He was amazing to watch in the court room, never missing a beat with his keen attention to detail. I would not have trusted anyone else to represent me. I am so utterly grateful to Mr. Burglin. I highly recommend him to anyone who needs a DUI attorney. He literally saved me thousands of dollars and a lot of time as I was looking at fines, expensive DUI school, loss of license and a jail sentence. He was worth every penny because you can't put a price on your freedom.
    J.A.