Richard Cornell Stone’s Reviews

Richard Cornell Stone

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. NO GOOD

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was in dyer need of an attorney and was referred to him and wish I wasn't! I was very fortunate that Richard has been around the court rooms as the judge said longer than "DIRT" I think he thought he's been around for so long he didn't need to inform his clients of what was going on or the processes, we were to just go along with him (DRAGGED). My family was involved with a homicide case so this was very hard on us and had NO support from our lawyer. I have never dealt with the law and was so confused and didn't know what to expect. We were left in the courtrooms multiple times with no indication on what was going on and constantly subpoenaed by another attorney and he did not stop it. I was outraged when he left me in the courtroom trying to put a stop to us constantly going back to court when they weren't ready and I was handcuffed to the chair almost in contempt trying to fight for my family and no attorney there that I paid $5k for! We asked for the discovery packet for 18 MONTHS!!! There was a time he went to court early and left cause we weren't there at 8:45 am we were to be there at 10 am!!!! DON'T GO TO HIM

  2. A master in what he does

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Never could have asked for a better DUI attorney. My career and family was on the line and this man not only kept his promise of "going the extra mile" he got my case dismissed when I was hoping for a minimal sentence. His confidence was assuring and this is the best decision I ever made in my life and hope God give me same wisdom in my choices going forward. The best!

  3. JMayorquin- D.U.I. & Criminal client

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard Stone is one of the best attorneys in the Bay Area if not in California. I have hired Stone for 3 D.U.I's, and a serious criminal case. I would have never thought of the minimal sentence I was given for them. Never done any significant time for any of my DUI's, only had overnighters in jail for them. I definitely recommend him to everyone I know in need of an attorney.

  4. Best Criminal Lawyer in town.

    Posted by Annabel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Excellent lawyer. Knows what he is doing. Have had a very good experience with him. However, he has the WORST secretary in the whole world. Very rude to his clients and sensors phone calls. She looks at the caller ID and decides whose calls not to pick up. She will never let you talk to the lawyer...to get to him, you have to spill all ur beans on her....maybe she should have gone to law school herself. Overall, lawyer is the BEST.

  5. "CASE DISMISSED, Richard Stone ROCKS"!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hiring Richard was one of the best decisions I've made. I was pulled over by a chp, obviously because the time of morning and I was the only car on the road. I was arrested for blowing a .09% and possession. I for sure I was going to see some type of consequence for my actions but I was astounded when he called me and told me that everything was dismissed. Not to mention, I was still on probation for a similar charge. I highly recommend Richard....... Wishes do come true!

  6. Best Lawyer hands down!!!!!!

    Posted by buddythrower1, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stone is very knowledgable of the law, I worked with him in 2009 on my case in wich I was facing 12yr to life, I feel if I would've had any other lawyer it would not have worked out the way it did. He holds a big presence in the court, I mean the guy was an DA for over 12yrs he knows what he is doing but to make a long story short my case was dismissed with no charges thanks to Richard Stone I will always appreciate what he did for me, gave me a second chance at life.....

  7. CASE DISMISSED!!

    Posted by Fermin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I dont know where to begin because I am still trying to understand what happened and How Mr Stone was able to get my case dismissed. I knew for sure that it was pretty much an impossibility given my case as a former truck driver with a Class A at the time of my incident and with a BAC of .15. I really didnt have any hope whatsoever, i just wanted the least or minimum sentence and I have no idea what he had in mind or up his sleeve but I can tell you that I have never seen a judge or D.A.'s look on their face like the way I saw on my last court date, whether it was a technicality or not, all I know is that he did it and when the judge granted the motion to dismiss, I was just stunned and he was actually more excited then I was..just unbelievable...retaining Mr Stone was the best thing I couldve done...

  8. Good deal, Bad attitude

    Posted by Steve Moody, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Through out my whole case, He never kept me informed. In the end he got me a good deal. But the attitude and poor communication skills, Really turned me sour towards him. He made me feel 2 inches tall. His secretary (I think it was Wendy at the time) was nice though. I would always call her to see where he was. "He`s on his way, Sorry". I have hired other attorneys in the past. They just seem to be a bit more chipper and most important on time.

  9. Absolutely the best in the bay area!!!

    Posted by Wendy Beck, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If your looking for the best you just found it! He's straight up right to the point. He's been my family attorney for over 25yrs he's always fought for what he thinks is right and fair! He cuts out all the bs and lays everything out on the table. He's a walking talking version of all the books penal codes come rolling out with explanations and consequences of each one! AMAZING PERSON LET ALONE ATTORNEY!!

  10. Superlative

    Posted by Aaron, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Stone.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Without Richard I would have faced time in Federal Prison. He prevented the system from brow beating an erroneous plea out of me. He is a strategic,imposing and effective.
    If your freedom hangs in the balance he is the best attorney I have ever seen.