Clifton Jon Lurkis’s Reviews

Clifton Jon Lurkis

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Valuable Family Law Attorney

    Posted by Ed, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Lurkis.
    • I hired Clifton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hello,

    Funny thing about dealing with Lurkis is that I was so pleased with his work that I ended up WANTING to pay him ! I am in business, and Attorney Lurkis is more open, less stilted and far more professional than any other attorney I have met, with one exception, in another field, and that person is a long-term personal friend.

    I consulted other attorneys he had worked with and they gave him terrific reviews.

    In my child parentage case, my first attorney was not only following the well-known "money, money, money" path ! I am no lawyer, but as I found out empirically, her advice was simply incorrect ! "Sounded good" "in theory", but was costing thousands, and less likely to succeed. Much of her energy went into "selling" me she was great and asking for praise. She seemed smart, but left me with the impression of a beginner grasping for top fees. I felt stressed by her presence in my life - really, I did ! When I criticized something she had done in attempt to discuss it, she poutingly suggested I should find another attorney. I advise anyone to Beware of: "Sell, Sell, Pressure, Pressure" !

    Lurkis never attempted to sell me anything or demand praise. His associates and clients I spoke with gave me great references instead. Besides, he is in demand and has plenty of work without any selling needed. He kept the issues simple and schooled me on the intent of the law. Lurkis worked with me on fees and payment terms at a time when I really needed it. Lurkis was extremely well received by the judge handling my case. His attention is fixed where it should be: on the welfare of the child. Clif is a father and understands the issues from a personal view. He was open to discussion and gave me the "straight scoop" wherever I had questions.

    How did the case turn out ? With his much appreciated help, I won.

    Thanks, Clif !

  2. average service

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Clifton Lurkis.
    • Clifton handled my Family matter.

    It was an unpleasant attorney-client relationship. He's not detail oriented and not organized. I did not like how he handled myseperation. I felt like he failed to put my interests first and left me hanging out there. My ex had a real good attorney, I wish I hired her first. My questions were often left unanswered and he's hardly in his office. His office staff was nice tho.

  3. Terrific lawyer

    Posted by Mary Beth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Lurkis.
    • I hired Clifton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Clif Lurkis was a fortunate find for me. In the midst of a painful legal situation, he provided clarity, empathy, and knowledgeable advice. All the lawyer cliches people like to repeat fell into dust around Clif - far from trying to add to my bill, he would point out if I was getting distracted by unimportant details, and adding time. And I always felt he cared about doing the right thing, and doing the right thing by me. His clear sense of ethics helped me remember mine.
    I would not hesitate to recommend Mr. Lurkis to anyone. He's a real treasure.

  4. Honest, Knowledgeable, No-nonsense Family Lawyer

    Posted by Golnaz, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Lurkis.
    • I hired Clifton 1-3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Clif restored my faith in lawyers. After interviewing an array of incompetent family attorneys and even working with one, I quickly realized that I needed to change to a different lawyer. Clif was referred to me by a trusted source to represent me in a heated divorce case that was heading to trial. He not only did a superb job litigating my case before trial and winning the case, but also helped negotiate a fair settlement on some of the issues before the trial date which ultimately saved me time and money. I am recommending Clif not only for his legal knowledge and experience in handling family law cases, but also for his thoroughness, listening skills and ability to strategize and think outside of the box. He is honest, sharp, responsive, no-nonsense and not greedy like most lawyers are. I highly, highly recommend him as a family lawyer without hesitation.

  5. Great attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Clifton Lurkis.
    • I hired Clifton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Clif defended me against an unscrupulous ex husband and attorney who tried to stick me with hundreds of thousands of dollars in bad business debts that my ex husband accrued after marital separation. He also established a wage garnishment that ensured that my ex husband pay me the spousal support that the court ordered.

  6. Reliable Ethical Caring Family Lawyer

    Posted by Marina, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Clifton Lurkis.
    • I hired Clifton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Having experienced a chain of incompetent and greedy lawyers, I finally met the exception in2009,with Clifton Jon Lurkis, who has excellent listening skills, brainstorms to get the best possible solution, is willing to pursue creative avenues to resolve the issue, and has high ethical standards. He helped make my child custody orders permanent, plus, he helped me resolve a very sticky traveling issue that required a 24 hour solution. He is a great lawyer and is not greedy like 99% of his peers. If he continues the way he is now, he will have a very successful and lasting career. I highly recommend Clifton Jon Lurkis as a family lawyer.

  7. Client Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Lurkis.
    • I hired Clifton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I really felt Clif represented me with integrity; he communicated well and often; and I would absolutely recommend him.

  8. Client Review

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Lurkis.
    • I hired Clifton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very good, don't waste any time, right to the point , great strategies

  9. Strength and Diligence for My Personal Storm

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Clifton Lurkis.
    • I hired Clifton more than 3 years ago.
    • Clifton handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Clif was originally recommended to me as being a "formidable opponent" of which I found to be very true. My case was far from ordinary and required in-depth communication on many details. Clif's confidence, intelligence and utmost professionalism shined thru at all times. The ultimate proof of his talent being that he was able to guide my case to where we wanted it to go.