Stephen Chase Gerrish’s Reviews

Stephen Chase Gerrish

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. President

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Steve Gerrish was exactly the guy I needed when I negotiated my employment contract at the sale of my company. He had a framework of reasonable and customary terms, but he was completely open to my idiosyncratic preferences. I may have imagined it, but I felt that he absolutely understood what I wanted to accomplish, and (conversely) what I did not care about at all.

    He was clear and responsive when I was drafting and negotiating the contract, and he was ready and alert when the provisions were unexpectedly triggered.

  2. CEO/President

    Posted by a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

  3. Client Review

    Posted by a Partnership client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Partnership matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Stepehen has been a great resource for our companies since he successfully represented us in a partnership dispute in he late 90s. He's always available and extremely knowledgeable in his field(s).

  4. CEO

    Posted by a Arbitration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Arbitration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    He represented me in a trial-like arbitration setting in 2000. He was well prepared and did an excellent job presenting a complex case. We prevailed on every count and were awarded our fees. Since then he has become my adviser on various partnership and HR matters. He is generous with his time, offers concise, practical answers and is very fair when it comes to billing. Steve has a great deal of personal integrity. Ethical behavior comes naturally to him. His advice has helped me avoid numerous problems over the years.

  5. President & CEO

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Excellent knowledge. Clear and concise description of viable options. Quick follow-up.

  6. Vice President Human Resources

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Steve Gerrish is the most pragmatic employment attorney I have worked with.Steve acted as our external employment counsel for 6 years.During this period I considered Steve to be an extension of my Human Resources team . I especially trusted his judgement and counsel when dealing with the most complex employment matters.

    The combination of Steve's experience and knowledge helped our company develop a strong Human Resources infrastructure with world class employment policies and practices.
    I would not hesitate to recommend Steve to other HR professionals.

  7. CFO

    Posted by Elias, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stephen Gerrish has been providing very valuable services in the area of Labor Law. He understands the client needs and acts accordingly.

    He is very knowledgeable, courteous, professional and above all does care about our company as a client.

  8. Partner

    Posted by Mike, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have used Steve's services over the last 16 years for employment contracts and issues that they affect.Sometimes upfront negotiation of a contract, and sometimes in a dispute after the fact. I have also referred Steve to several friends and business associates who have used his services in a similar way.

    Steve is excellent in determining goals for a contract, structure and language to achive the goals, and behind the scenes (when appropriate) guidance to complete the agreement. When I have twice had problems with the other party fulfilling their contractual obligations, Steve has charted a course of action, and successfully brought us to a satisfactry outcome at a very low legal cost, due in no small way to not spending time in useless activities.

    Steve has in every instance also been very responsive to requests for help with employment related issues in some of my partnership client companies.

    I have complete trust in Steve's knowledge, process recommendations, negotiating strategy and ability to provide full disclosure of risks and opportunities.

    After 16 years of working with Steve, I plan to continue to do so whenever issues in his field require attention.

  9. CEO/President

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Steve has helped us on several difficult legal issues related to executive personnel. He did a spectacular job. In addition to providing the legal frameworka and documentation, his advice and counsel in handling the situation helped us avoid a lawsuit.

  10. Executive Vice President

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Gerrish.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Steve cares deeply about his clients, as well as providing first class advice. He has the ability to combine legal theory within the context of solid practical insight.