Kevin Brendan Murphy’s Reviews

Kevin Brendan Murphy

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best FDD Review and Due Diligence

    Posted by Sam, a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin 1-6 months ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    The franchise company told me they don't negotiate their franchise agreements from the get go. Made me question the need to even hire an attorney. A family member told me about Mr. Franchise - a franchise-only attorney with an MBA that has actually owned a successful franchise. Ended up retaining him to review my FDD and advise. Very detailed report that covered not just the legal, but also the business and financial aspects as well. Like he told me (and he was right) - the legal is less than half the story in franchising. Decided to move forward and we were able to negotiate the really unfair provisions out of the contract. Highly recommend!

  2. Mr. Franchise Keeps on Rolling!!!

    Posted by a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin 6-12 months ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.

    I have know Kevin Murphy for akmost 30 years. In all that time that we have worked together, I have never seen him falter once. He is keenly intelligent, incisive, and has tons of common sense to boot!

    Kevin combines all aspects of franchising (have onwed one and been a franchisor), along with an MBA business background. He brings a multi-faceted approach to the game that is nonpareil!

    Kevin, keep up the good work.

  3. Mr. Franchise definitely knows franchising

    Posted by Phillip, a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I'm so glad I hired you. Although I'd paid another so-called franchise attorney, she didn't have an MBA nor did she ever own a franchise before. Without these critical perspectives, all I got was "let's try to negotiate the notice period from 20 days to 30 days," etc. - just a bunch of legal technicalities. No evaluation or review of business, financial and other much bigger-picture issues, like you did in detail, which literally means the difference between success and making just minimum wage, or even failure. Now I know why you're called Mr. Franchise.

  4. Fantastic insight with a fully detailed report

    Posted by Ralph, a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was going to go into one of two different franchises and I was planning on choosing the one with the better franchise model. Both of them had very similar models, and both of them had MANY red flags--many of which I would have never thought about! Kevin did a fantastic job reviewing the lengthy FDD statements, showing me that anyone with half a brain could do it themselves. After reading his assessment, it's a no-brainer. He's inspired me to go ahead and start my own business and become a competitor instead of being tied down to a 10 year "franchise jail".

  5. FDD review

    Posted by a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I used Mr. Murphy this month and glad I did. I received a detailed report which opened my eyes. Thanks

  6. Franchising Our Business - Two Thumbs Up, Way Up

    Posted by David, a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin 1-3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We actually started with another franchise attorney. After engaging him we were told "you need to also hire a franchise consultant." Not good news, but we did (why don't they tell you this BEFORE you retain them?). About a month or so into the process, things were not going well - a lot of conflicting advice, like "that's a legal question, ask your franchise attorney," and the attorney says "that's a great question to ask your franchise consultant." Thing was, it was the same question we asked and they both pointed at each other.

    That's when my wife stumbled on an article written by Mr. Franchise and we found the Franchise Foundations website, with tons of info and a realistic budget for franchising a business, all there in black and white. An amount, by the way, that was far less than the total we were supposed to pay the other two. Fortunately, I'd negotiated an "out" clause in both contracts.

    Going with Mr. Murphy was a Godsend. He knows tons more than the other two combined and for good reason: besides being a veteran 30-year franchise attorney and testifying franchise expert, with an MBA, he's also owned and operated a successful franchise. And it showed, from our very first strategic planning session - which were done online every week. At the end of his process, we had a plan to move things forward, a solid FDD with a fair and relatively (compare to others in our industry) short contract, and a professional, 100% custom operations manual that still get rave reviews from our franchise owners.

    And that's another critical difference with Mr. Franchise - he offers optional management training in how to sell franchises and run the new franchise company. As he told us, everyone else gives you an invoice, an FDD and a handshake before they continue on to the next client. Believe me, if we didn't take his training, we wouldn't have sold the number of franchises we have so far. Probably wouldn't have sold any. And we've got great systems in place not only for franchise marketing, but also for running the other divisions of the franchise company. I remember saying to my wife after his first workshop "Wow, I would have never thought of doing it that way." Definitely take his optional training, and you get a good break if that's selected as part of his fixed price package. Otherwise you pay more.

  7. For Franchising a Business, Look no Further

    Posted by Patrick, a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Murphy (aka Mr. Franchise) helped us franchise our business. We interviewed over a dozen franchise attorneys and franchise consulting groups. With his MBA and being a former franchise owner and testifying franchise expert, he caught our attention. Hiring his firm proved to be the right decision. He returns phone calls and emails promptly (usually same day), and completed our project a bit early and within the budget. Great business AND legal sense. His management training in how to run a franchise company is phenomenal. It helped us sell our initial franchises, doing it in-house and per our marketing plan timeline without making mistakes we would have otherwise. Selling a franchise is not that difficult; selling to someone who will follow your system and be a good operator is something else again. He also helped us produce a custom operations manual that our franchise owners admire (and recommend). If you're thinking of franchising a business, look no further.

  8. A Super Franchise Attorney

    Posted by Ben, a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Murphy, also known as Mr. Franchise in the industry, helped me and the other franchisees in our network negotiate a walk-away from our franchise contracts. He found all kinds of things that were not disclosed in our FDD's as well as other legal mis-steps taken by the franchisor after we signed up. As he told our group "I put these things together, I definitely know how to take them apart." Highly recommend.

  9. A franchise attorney who knows his stuff

    Posted by Albert, a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Helped me get out of a very bad franchise. It was the worst nightmare of our life and Mr. Murphy completely turned the table around. Other attorneys told us we didn't have a case. Glad we found him.

  10. Professional and Practical

    Posted by a Franchising client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kevin Murphy.
    • I hired Kevin more than 3 years ago.
    • Kevin handled my Franchising matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    We used Mr. Murphy's firm to franchise our business. His advice and services were excellent and done on-time. Working with a franchise attorney who has an MBA was a real plus for us. He understood the business as well as the legal aspects of franchising. That saved us a lot of money by not having to hire a franchise consultant for this aspect. His training of our management team as we entered the franchise industry was very helpful.

Contact Mr. Franchise Today

415-225-3010