John M. Kaman’s Reviews

John M. Kaman

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Direction in Criminal Case

    Posted by RICHARD, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    WITH MINIMAL FACTS PRESENTED TO MR. KAMAN, HE GAVE ME EXCELENT DIRECTION IN MY LEGAL SITUATION. IF I HADN'T ALREADY STARTED THIS CASE MYSELF, I WOULD HAVE HIRED MR. KAMAN WITHOUT A SECOND THOUGHT.

  2. John M. Kaman is much more than just a lawyer

    Posted by Hazel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    In August 2012, with no news of my brother in the United States for a trip, I contacted his friend on facebook. He reassured me by telling me that my brother had been arrested because of a fight in a hostel and would be released soon. I asked him the address where he was detained. I contacted the county jail.
    On hearing the charges, I had the feeling of falling into a bottomless pit. He was prosecuted for attempted rape.
    So I put my feelings aside and I started to act mechanically as if my soul and body were separated.
    I made a summary of the case and contacted several lawyers. Living in Paris, I started the process remotely.
    I found the website "avvo.com". I look at the French-speaking lawyers specializing in criminal law. I see the photo of John M. Kaman. A deep look, a face without expression. I felt that he wasn't a man performing and gesticulating in every sense. My misgivings were confirmed during our telephone conversation. I explained that we were a modest family, we lived in Paris, we were in shock. His words were measured, his tone monotonous: a simple man who does not show his emotions.
    I begged him to present at the hearing, which took place the next day, to make a diagnosis of the case and propose a defense strategy. He kept his promises. He studied the case, listened to the testimonies, he conducted his investigations. He made available each day for the family.
    He concluded a deal with the prosecutor. My brother was released after a month and a half in jail.

    Life is strange. It was incredible to feel so alone in this tragedy and cross the path of this brilliant and compassionate humanist in this dehumanized society while some of my friends and family were not at my side.
    John M. Kaman is much more than just a lawyer.

  3. If you need a lawyer, I highly recommend John Kaman.

    Posted by James, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Kaman is everything that you expect from a lawyer and more. Legal Knowledge isn’t any good unless it is applied properly. Not only does he have “in depth” legal knowledge, he practically applies the law, does it in a timely manner with creative skills as required. In his years of legal work, Mr. Kaman has built a support network of excellent resources. That is, Private Investigators, expert witnesses, etc. In addition, Mr. Kaman’s excellent communication skills keep things on an even keel and makes sure that you know what to expect and when.
    My experience; Mr. Kaman was engaged to defend my son. Due to an unfortunate set of circumstances, and a very aggressive DA, my son faced a myriad of charges that could have resulted in years of hard time. On charges that my son acknowledged making a mistake, Mr. Kaman negotiated probation only. On charges that my son insisted innocence, he used his legal expertise and appropriate support services to verify my son’s claims and lay out a defense. This resulted in a dismissal of the charges.

  4. Probation Violation

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Kaman Represented my husband in a violation of probation case. although the case was over three years old, Mr. Kaman was able to get us the best possible outcome. My husband was let go completely with no more probation and no restitution. Kaman was great at letting us know what was going to happen before we even stood in front of the judge. He answered all of our questions promptly and completely. He was well worth the price.

  5. Answered my question with no strings attached

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thank you for John Kaman for answering my question so quickly. My tricky question was, "Instead of going to jail is their a get out of jail card by joining the army?"
    The majority of attorneys said no, but John Kaman sent me a link that was quite useful in my research for the book I'm working on now.
    That technically no the service can't allow that, but in some States its really up to the judge, making this decision.

  6. Best of the Best

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Kaman helped me resolve an embarassing criminal case that had been interfering with my job prospects. Throughtout the whole procedure he kept me informed and was kind but aggressive in my defense. I'd recommend him to anybody.

  7. Thank you Mr. Kaman,You are very informative.

    Posted by a Partnership client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Partnership matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Knows the law like the back of his hand.Comes recomended by me. Thank you sir.

  8. My 5 Star rating of my opinion of Attorney John M. Kama

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.

    John seems to have a phenonmenol ability to grasp and to retain so much knowledge of the Judicial system. He is truly amazing, as well as genuinely a caring, considerate Lawyer. If you have a legal problem, don't hesitate to retain John.

  9. Great Lawyer and Friend

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He guided me through a difficult time in my life and obtained the best result possible in my case. I would not hesitate to recommend him.

  10. He Helped Rebuild My Life

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kaman.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He helped me clear up an early criminal record and even get a governor's pardon. I was able to start life afresh and am now in nursing school.

    1. John M. Kaman

      John M. Kaman

      Lawyer Comment:

      This positive endorsement troubles me because I have never applied for, much less obtained, a governor's pardon for any client. I assume this is an ex client and I am glad that s/he was content with my services but I did NOT obtain a governor's pardon.

      Posted about 4 years ago. Flag

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

415-630-3021