David Elliott Wise’s Reviews

David Elliott Wise

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. "I AM A FREE MAN TODAY!!!!"

    Posted by Rick, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wise.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I FACED 6 Felonies, 25 – 30 years

    A FREE MAN TODAY

    My case was about as serious as they get.

    People of the State of California vs. H.C. aka (rick)

    I faced 6 felonies including 4 sex offenses; a total exposure of 25-30 years in state prison as a sex offender. At my age, 53, that was virtually a life sentence. On top of that, I faced lifetime registration as a sex offender. It does not get much worse than that.

    My life was in David Wise’s hands and I am a free man today because Mr. Wise, through his dedication, legal expertise, unparalleled tenacity and attention to detail, was able to prove to the jury that I was innocent.

    At trial, the district attorney added lesser charges, effectively giving the jury approximately 15 different ways to convict me instead of just 6.

    Faced with this giant mountain of a case that had been damagingly magnified and exaggerated by the District Attorney, San Francisco Police Department and the media, Mr. David Wise was able to strategically break down its components and bring that giant to a full collapse in true ”David and Goliath” fashion.

    Mr. Wise is also well-versed and equipped to discuss DNA scientific subject matter extensively with the experts at a scholarly level. He has a thorough knowledge of the testing processes and procedures and did not allow the experts to pull the wool over his eyes.

    He helped me weigh the pros and cons to accepting a plea bargain, without undue pressure, and allowed me to make the final decision to proceed to trial.

    His focus and aim were precision-calibrated. The distorted illusion that had been built up by the police and the media was surgically disintegrated by him in such a systematic way so that in the end, the jury only saw what Mr. Wise chiseled down to the true merits of the case. A unanimous verdict of NOT GUILTY on all counts was reached by the jury after only two days of deliberation.

    It does not get any better than that. I owe Mr. Wise my life.

    He is a true litigator; a craftsman of his profession. He is THE lawyer you want to fight for you.

    If you want the BEST, hire David Wise.

  2. TOP GUN ATTORNEY

    Posted by Manuel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wise.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    BEST OF THE BEST

    I would not hesitate to hire David Wise to defend anyone else close to me whom I would want to keep out of jail.

    We were hoping for the best and the best is what we got with a verdict of not guilty on all felony charges.

    Mr. Wise has a subtle but clever wit and he is armed with the stealthy and effective skills of a black panther in the dark woods.

    He has a gift for compelling the undivided attention and interest of the jury and for gracefully delivering the substance of his message to them.

    Not one juror was falling asleep when Mr. Wise spoke. They were taking notes and paying close attention. Not true when the prosecutor had the floor.

    He did not allow the judge or prosecutor to intimidate or rush him on the basis of court “time or budget restraints”. He tenaciously persisted with an issue until it was thoroughly discussed, vetted and resolved.

    At times, during closing arguments, he had the Judge and jury laughing at tasteful bits of humor while making a serious point.

    Closing arguments make or break a case and Mr. Wise piloted those arguments to a three point landing and a decisive victory--unanimous verdict.

    These are unique professional skills that cannot be taught in law school.

    He is obviously well respected in the courtroom both by the Judge and his adversaries. He is mild mannered, soft spoken, eloquent and articulate.

    Extremely effective Lawyer.

  3. A MAJOR LEAGUE LAWYER

    Posted by cHRIS, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wise.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    MAJOR LEAGUER

    DEFINITELY A GRAND SLAMMER

    I am part of a satisfied group that helped to retain legal counsel for my brother in a serious felony case. He was facing 25+ years.

    Mr. Wise demonstrates a resolute devotion to the fight.

    He is not boisterous or arrogant. He appeared to be well liked by the jury.

    He gets paid to score points a few at a time; points are what are needed to convince a jury that his client is innocent. AND, SCORE POINTS HE DID!

    This case was unique in that the plaintiff was deceased and the defendant was tried based on hearsay evidence; all of which was slanted in favor of the prosecution.

    Mr. Wise was effectively fighting a ghost. If that was not enough, much of the exculpatory evidence for the defendant was not admitted for the jury to hear.

    Although it did not look good for his client, with his hands basically tied behind his back, Mr. Wise managed to hit a homerun out of the ball park in the ninth inning, count was 0 and 2 and bases were loaded as his team was losing 3 to zero. He scored a grand victory for his client as the jury delivered a decisive NOT GUILTY verdict on all counts.

    He did it all without raising his voice once.

    He is not just a major leaguer but a Grand Slammer; a gold medalist of the legal profession.

    He will go the distance for his client.

  4. A FREE MAN TODAY

    Posted by Rick, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wise.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I FACED 6 Felonies, 25 – 30 years

    A FREE MAN TODAY

    My case was about as serious as they get.

    People of the State of California vs. H.C. aka (rick)

    I faced 6 felonies including 4 sex offenses; a total exposure of 25-30 years in state prison as a sex offender. At my age, 53, that was virtually a life sentence. On top of that, I faced lifetime registration as a sex offender. It does not get much worse than that.

    My life was in David Wise’s hands and I am a free man today because Mr. Wise, through his dedication, legal expertise, unparalleled tenacity and attention to detail, was able to prove to the jury that I was innocent.

    At trial, the district attorney added lesser charges, effectively giving the jury approximately 15 different ways to convict me instead of just 6.

    Faced with this giant mountain of a case that had been damagingly magnified and exaggerated by the District Attorney, San Francisco Police Department and the media, Mr. David Wise was able to strategically break down its components and bring that giant to a full collapse in true ”David and Goliath” fashion.

    Mr. Wise is also well-versed and equipped to discuss DNA scientific subject matter extensively with the experts at a scholarly level. He has a thorough knowledge of the testing processes and procedures and did not allow the experts to pull the wool over his eyes.

    He helped me weigh the pros and cons to accepting a plea bargain, without undue pressure, and allowed me to make the final decision to proceed to trial.

    His focus and aim were precision-calibrated. The distorted illusion that had been built up by the police and the media was surgically disintegrated by him in such a systematic way so that in the end, the jury only saw what Mr. Wise chiseled down to the true merits of the case. A unanimous verdict of NOT GUILTY on all counts was reached by the jury after only two days of deliberation.

    It does not get any better than that. I owe Mr. Wise my life.

    He is a true litigator; a craftsman of his profession. He is THE lawyer you want to fight for you.

    If you want the BEST, hire David Wise.

  5. STILLCAN NOT RECOMMEND THIS LAWYER

    Posted by woodruff2000,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Wise.

    David, it appears the court and police where out to get me as my court appointed attorney waived my oral arguments in my appeal without my knowledge and wishes after informing me weeks prior that the police where worried about being sued. However I still believe that you failed in your duties to acquire critical documents in my case: the statement made to prosecutors by the alleged victim that he had in fact threatened me with physical violence and the fact that it was a crown and NOT a tooth the the alleged victim lost. Again these admissions/documents would have been crucial in squashing the charges in pre-trial.

    1. David Elliott Wise

      David Wise

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Former Client. I'm not sure why you are reviewing your appellate attorney here, who wasn't me, and who didn't meet your expectations. I have already responded to your review of my services of three years ago, for a trial a few years before that, which you never contacted me directly about prior to posting your complaint. My response to your post of three years ago is available as a comment there.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  6. Always focused, compassionate, and open-minded, always on your side

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wise.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Evaluation : excellent. My petition for factual innocence was granted under David Wise's counsel. I heard this was very hard to get, and was able to achieve justice and innocence with David Wise. I was initially charged with assault with a deadly weapon, but the district attorney's office of 12 dismissed the case, however I wanted my arrest charges sealed and destroyed. I sought David's help in August, and the judge granted me innocence in January. David's timing is excellent. His ability to understand complicated details and defend you in a way that is both comforting and effective. justice served

  7. Provided excellent assistance for son with developmental disabilities

    Posted by a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Wise.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My son is high-functioning autistic. But not high-functioning enough to know when hugs are not appropriate and when they can upset someone. My son upset a young woman and was investigated by the police. Mr. Wise was immediately responsive to my initial and follow-up calls, and let me exhaust all my questions, including new questions that arose as we talked - even though it was during the most busy part of the end-of-year holidays. He was very knowledgeable, and responded quickly and authoritatively with sound advice, being especially attentive to all the information I could provide.
    He laid out all the possibilities and gave me an idea of the likelihood of each, and what I should do to protect my son in each case. I followed his advice and obtained it readily when I needed it.
    The police decided to not file charges, and the issue was closed.
    Mr. Wise's fee was more than fair, and he worked with me to ensure I received the help I needed, when I needed it, without incurring his charges unecessarily. I would certainly hire him again should the need arise. In short, Mr. Wise helpd me feel that I was meeting my responsibility to protect my son from his own risks and vulnerabilities (I am his conservator). His advice reduced my anxiety and thus helped me make rational decisions during a very distressing experience.

  8. CAN NOT RECOMMEND THIS ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend David Wise.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    UNFORTUNATELY MR. WISE FAILED TO OBTAIN MEDICAL RECORDS ON THE ALLEGED VICTIM IN MY CASE AS REQUESTED AND AS WELL FAILED TO NEGOTIATE DISCOVERY IN WHICH THE ALLEGED VICTIM ADMITTED TO A DA THAT HE DID INFACT THREATENED VIOLENCE AGAINST ME. HAVING BOTH ALONG WITH AN ADMISSION TO THE POLICE BY THE ALLEGED VICTIM THAT I WAS CALLING THE POLICE AT THE TIME I WAS ASSAULTED BY THE ALLEGED VICTIM THE CASE MAY HAVE BEEN DISMISSED PRE-TRIAL. WHILE MR. WISE HAD COMPELLING ARGUMENTS IN SUMMATION AT TRIAL I WAS WRONGLY CONVICTED OF MISDEMEANOR ASSAULT CAUSING GREAT BODILY INJURY WITH EXCESSIVE FORCE. THE INJURY WAS SIMPLY A CROWN BEING DISLODGED WHEN I STRUCK, WITH MY FIST, THE ALLEGED VICTIM IN SELF DEFENSE.
    MR. WISE WORKS SOLELY ALONE WITHOUT A PARALEGAL SECRETARY NOR ASSOCIATES TO HELP IN THE CRIMINAL MATTERS HE REPRESENTS. I FEEL THIS TO BE A DISADVANTAGE AS MR. WISE SEEMED EXTREMELY BUSY AT THE TIME OF HANDLING MY CASE WHICH IN MY OPINION DOES NOT ALLOW FOR THE ATTENTION ONES CASE DESERVES.
    IN FINISHING ARTER THE TRIAL MR. WISE REQUESTED ANOTHER $1000 TO HAVE AN INVESTIGATOR INTERVIEW A JURY MEMBER WHO REFUSED TO TALK AT ALL. I WAS NOT REFUNDED ANY OF THAT $1000.
    ALSO MR. WISE FILED AN APPEAL IN MY BEHALF WITHOUT FIRST CONSULTING ME AS TO HOW HE WOULD BE PAID. MR. WISE SIMPLY SAID THAT HE THOUGHT I HAD A STASH OF CASH.

    1. John M. Kaman

      John M. Kaman

      Lawyer Comment:

      In criminal law we all have dissatisfied clients. Some of them refuse to take responsibility for their own acts and shift blame to the lawyer instead. Having know David for a long time I am sure that these accusations are false. He certainly would not twist anyone's arm in search of a bigger fee. He's too good a lawyer for that.

      Posted almost 4 years ago. Flag

    2. David Elliott Wise

      David Wise

      Lawyer Comment:

      It's disappointing to see comments like this from a former client, especially when the concerns were never spoken to me, and only appeared here a year after our trial concluded. This was a person that I fought overtime to exonerate, and for whom I spent more time defending than most attorneys would. I went to court over a dozen times negotiating his case, spent over five hours face to face with him in my office, and prepared and did the week long jury trial and new trial motion with the same effort as if it were a homicide case.

      In short, the jury did not believe our defense. This was upsetting to the client. I happen to agree and think that the jury was wrong. This was a misdemeanor case, where no jail time was issued by the judge at sentencing. I thought we would win. I think the jury's decision had to do more with the fact that the alleged victim was a soft spoken middle aged African American man with no criminal record, whereas my client was White, it was in a politically correct venue. They believed the alleged victim more than my client. I like to take unpopular and hard cases because they are a challenge, and because I enjoy defending underdogs. Usually I win. Sometimes we lose.

      Starting with the last complaint, I filed a Notice of Appeal because if I do not, you lose your right to appeal forever. I asked for the court to appoint an appeals lawyer because the client could not afford counsel. The court gave him that, and he got a free appeals lawyer. Last I checked, the publicly funded attorney was still fighting the appeal. If he wins, it would be based on my complex research and investigation leading to my twelve page new trial motion on juror misconduct and the judge's error in her instructions to the jury. That is the basis for the appeal.

      The client complains that he had to pay $1,000 for investigation after the trial. Investigation and interviews of jurors on the question of potential juror misconduct is not free. Again, this client wanted to follow all avenues of attack in the case. It is unusual to go to such lengths on a misdemeanor. We did, and he paid for it. Had he expected a refund at the time, he would most likely have requested it. He did not. It does not matter, since the work was done.

      The client says that I seemed busy and he might have gotten more attention. My records show five and half hours of face to face interview time with him at my office, not including emails and phone calls. I do have associates make appearances for me. Two other attorney's work in my office. We often appear for each other and have conferences about case issues. I do not have a paralegal, as I do not need them. I am happy to say that I am busy, with a number of people seeking me out to assist them in serious criminal matters.

      The jury heard the same argument that the client makes, and decided that getting punched in the face and getting a crown knocked out, with bleeding, was great bodily injury. We had a record from the dentist, and “discovery” of the alleged victim's statement is not “negotiated” but is supposed to be provided. It was provided, albeit late. The judge denied our late discovery sanctions motion. The client agreed with me that we should proceed with the trial and not seek to continue it again, over a year after the incident. Earlier discovery of this would never get the case dismissed pre trial anyway, as that is the last remedy, after continuance, jury instruction, etc. It was helpful to us and the jury heard about it. They just didn't put enough stock in it to find him not guilty.

      My response is limited, as I still have a duty of confidentiality to my client. I have only responded to the actual facts that the client put on public view. In fact, the conviction is not even final, and he may receive a new trial if they appeal I laid out prevails.

      Posted over 3 years ago. Flag