John Midori Hamasaki’s Reviews

John Midori Hamasaki

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Life Saver!!!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I make my living from buying computers and other goods from Craigslist and reselling them. Unbeknownst to me, I was buying Apple Macbooks from a guy who was stealing from the company he was working for. He got busted and pulled me into the mess as well. The cops got a search warrant and ransacked my place -- took all my working capital (laptops and cash) and my camera as well! I ended up staying 2 nights in jail and had 6 counts of misdemeanors to deal with.

    Then by the hand of fate, John was appointed to represent me. In less than a month, he got my camera back. And in just a few short months, he got my case dismissed!!! I got all my cash and assets that were rightfully mine back. Not only is John on top of his game who delivers but he is also indeed a life saver!!

  2. HIGHLY recommended!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I found John on Yelp and decided to hire him after he put me at major ease and instilled confidence in me of his skills just after our initial consultation. John helped me with my very first ever criminal arrest and for anyone who has experienced this, I'm sure you are familiar with the insane amount of anxiety, stress, and pain that it involves. This was quite significantly minimized and all because of John's professional support, his hard work, and I also really appreciated that he remained open-minded through the entirety of the process, while still being very realistic.

    John is also very familiar with many others in the greater San Francisco area, so you will have the advantage of not only his already credible reputation, but his invaluable knowledge and familiarity with the SFDA's office. He is very friendly with everyone. In that vein, I also was impressed not only with John's expertise and skills, but his ability to maintain both professionalism and still remaining very pleasantly approachable, accessible, and relatable. He is very knowledgeable, super practical, very efficient, excellent at communication, and fights tooth and nail to ensure the fairest and most ideal outcome for your situation.

    On top of that, he offers very fair prices, considering the high quality of services and professional candor that he delivers for it. For anyone with an applicable/relevant case, DEFINITELY hit Mr. Hamasaki up - you will not regret it for a second.

  3. Extremely Patient and Helpful!

    Posted by Shane, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would recommend John without any hesitation whatsoever.

    Not only is he extremely talented and intelligent, but he is very approachable and patient. He took the time to decide with me what the best course of action would be—ultimately making me feel comfortable and confident about the case. He was always well-prepared and willing to answer all of my questions about my charges which stemmed from a demonstration. His experience and intuition made him able to anticipate unexpected decisions by the District Attorney, which was very helpful.

    In the end, thanks to his thorough work my charges were dismissed without even having to go to trial or even take a settlement. Thanks John for the wonderful work!

  4. An Outstandingly Diligent & Responsible Lawyer

    Posted by adrianwilson9765, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John Hamasaki represented me for about a year after I was arrested in a protest. John was extraordinarily diligent. He consistently came to court extremely well prepared - often with pages of notes outlining his strategy and potential questions to witnesses. He was always available to answer my questions, but he was always careful to leave the ultimate decision on what legal path to choose up to me. I have no doubt that with a different lawyer I almost certainly would have gotten a less favorable outcome. I would recommend him unreservedly.

  5. Excellent Representation

    Posted by Peter, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John Hamasaki helped me get through the San Francisco Court System. I frequently felt confused and powerless, but John was able to provide me with the necessary information and experience to make me feel knowledgeable and empowered. He was always able to provide a cogent explanation of events as they came to pass and worked to help me understand what was going on where others might not have.

    He is well-connected within the SF County Courthouse and seemed to hold the appropriate knowledge of the judges and other lawyers that he interacted with. He was punctual and was never late or a no-show. He often came to court more prepared than the DA. Even when events were happening around Christmas and New Years, John was able to devote the time necessary to keep things moving with my case.

    While I was incarcerated John worked to make me feel comfortable and secure, and to get me out on bail in the shortest possible amount of time. He worked with my parents to make sure that their concerns were addressed and ensured that they understood what was happening, and why.

    Not only is John a hardworking professional, but he is also congenial and personable. He is an amiable man who did not appear to take any news too hard, and, even when it seemed things weren't going our way, was optimistic about my future. His optimism kept me hopeful as well, and helped me through the process.

    I would highly recommend the Law Offices of John Hamasaki to any individual currently involved in criminal legal defense in San Francisco County.

  6. Highly recommend, skilled and personable

    Posted by Sarah, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John was a life saver for me, in many ways. I found myself in a very difficult, politically charged situation due to being at a protest and was connected with John Hamasaki. From the get-go, John went above and beyond in myriad different ways. As another reviewer says, he definitely was both professional and personable as well as effective.
    The care he showed in helping me while I was incarcerated and working to get me out was impressive- he interacted with and calmed down family and friends, explained to them how to be most helpful, came to see me regularly and jumped right into working on the case. As mine was a codefendant situation, he also did an excellent job working with my codefendant's lawyers, even when that was extremely difficult due to one of their personalities. I was always provided a fairly good idea of the process and what to expect, had questions promptly answered, and was able to get in touch with him with ease.
    At the end of it all, we reached a better-than-expected resolution, much because of John's perseverance and diplomacy and his own passion for justice and ensuring that my own blossoming career wasn't ruined due to political scapegoating. I am very grateful to John for his excellent legal representation, and highly recommend him.

  7. Fortunate Indeed

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    This past month, I had the good fortune to have John Hamasaki represent me as my court appointed lawyer. I don't think of myself as a criminal, but i have had other public defenders represent me. John did so with a level of respect and professionalism that was startling by comparison to the others. He communicated with me over email and in person not only effectively, but also had done the research that let me know he had really looked into the particulars of my case. his confidence and understanding that this case affected my life made me feel at ease with the process. Though I paid nothing for his legal aid, i would have gladly done so knowing what I do now. While it was lucky that I was the beneficiary of his service, it was his skill and knowledge that had my case dismissed on my next appearance. this returned my life to normal and put the worry to rest in record time. Thank you John.

  8. Understanding, personable and loyal to the end

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I met John Hamasaki when I first went to court for my DUI. I had gone to court before for a much smaller incident years before, and I had no idea what was in store for me for a major violation, let alone know what I should be doing or what my options were.

    I spoke with some of the lawyers there and I ended up being connected with John. John immediately exudes professionalism and care as he gave me his contact information and a time to cover what happened. This was the first time I worked with my own lawyer.

    I'm someone who wants to know all that is going on while it is going on, and John was EXTREMELY personable and brought everything down to my level of understanding. We walked through our case throughout the trial period to ensure it was the strong and had the highest possibility of winning.

    I recommend John for any criminal defense work and he will be sure to take care of you through the long haul.

    Thanks John!!!

  9. Passionate, dedicated and professional.

    Posted by Cynthia, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    As a first year college student who had never been in trouble before, so getting arrested was an extremely stressful experience. Luckily, John Hamasaki helped me through it. Although I did not know much legal terminology he made sure to explain everything that was going on and put things into plain English for me. He was great about keeping me updated on developments in my case, and replied rapidly whenever I had a question. He is also a very good support system and is friendly enough to make one feel comfortable speaking about ones case. He makes sure to explore as many options as possible, which makes it clear that he puts forth much time and effort and always pushes for the best possible outcome. I felt at ease knowing that John was defending me and I knew he was working as hard as possible. I would highly recommend him to anyone having the misfortune to end up in the criminal justice system.

  10. highly recommend

    Posted by Paul, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Hamasaki.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested in a political protest and was inaccurately implicated in a felony possession/intent to sale charge. As a student who have never come near this degree of legal troubles, I was mired with worries. John's character and expertise throughout my ordeal from county jail to the court date, though, has been extremely responsive and reliable. My charges were immediately and rightfully dropped at court and we're now in the process of retrieving my confiscated camera.

    Call this guy up. He knows what he's doing. Highly recommended.