Ashwani Kumar Bhakhri’s Reviews

Ashwani Kumar Bhakhri

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I am proud of my lawyer

    Posted by Maoj, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani 6-12 months ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I came to the United States in 2012 with my wife and two teenaged daughters. I wanted to apply for asylum. I wanted to find out about a good immigration attorney. I spoke to several people in my community. Each one of them (6-7 People) recommended me the name of Mr. Bhakhri. I retained him in February 2014. Mr. Bhakhri represented me before the asylum office. My asylum case I approved. My family and I are extremely happy. We are indebted to Mr. Bhakhri, his associates and staff for incredible representation. Mr. Bhakhri's is very knowledgeable. He is down to earth person. He treated us like his own family. I thank Mr. Bhakhri for his incredible representation. I highly recommend Mr. Bhakhri to others.

  2. Immigration deportation poceedings

    Posted by HK, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani more than 3 years ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.

    I am really satisfied with the services provided by Mr. Bhakri's law firm. I have received tremendous emotional and instrumental support from this law firm. I have been placed in deportation proceedings due to convictions, and this law firm took care of so many hurdles from there. Finally I got my GC. I have noticed important thing about this law firm is, that there are no gimmicks and pretty responsible about what they need to do for my case. I have to give 100% credit to them about the briefs they put together to face the case. I really recommend this firm for any immigration related issues.

  3. Terrific Counsel

    Posted by Bethelihem, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani 1-3 years ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.

    I am from Ethiopia. I arrived the United States in 2004. I applied for asylum. I retained couple of attorneys to represent me in removal proceedings. The immigration judge denied my application for asylum. The Board of Immigration Appeals and the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals denied my case appeals in 2006. I lost hope to be in the United States. I then retained the Law Offices of Ashwani Bhakhri in 2012. Mr. Bhakhri told me that there is little hope for success. He was candid and honest. He worked very hard. He filed a Motion to Reopen with the Board of Immigration Appeals. The Board denied. The 9th Circuit Case remains pending. Mr. Bhakhri worked hard to reopen my case. He convinced the US government attorneys to join me in a Motion to Reopen. Mr. Bhakhri knows how to put a plan together. He has in depth knowledge about the immigration laws. My husband and I are extremely happy with his work. Now I am hopeful to get my green card. He is incredibly sharp about the immigration laws. His staff is decent and very helpful. All I want to thank Mr. Bhakhri for giving me new life and hope to stay in the United States.

  4. BRILLIANT

    Posted by Mangat, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani 1-3 years ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.

    I am from India. I have been in the United States for the last 10 years. I am married and I have a child. It was extremely difficult to make living without lawful status. I happen to meet Mr. Bhakhri through a friend whose case Mr. Bhakhri fought and obtained status not only for my friend, but for his cousin, father and younger brother. I became victim of a violent crime in Milwaukee around 8 years before. Mr. Bhakhri convinced the Milwaukee Police Department to sign certification and he successfully fought my case. Now I am lawful. Thanks to Mr. Bhakhri. He is brilliant lawyer. He is humble, honest and hardworking person. He is an outstanding attorney. My family in India and my wife here are very happy. Mr. Bhakhri is incredibly good and very practical. He is best around. Lots of thanks to Mr. Bhakhri and his hardworking staff.

  5. GOOD LAWYER

    Posted by william, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani 1-3 years ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.

    I love my lawyer. I was improperly removed by Immigration authorities to Fiji Islands. I was placed in Deportation Proceedings. I had couple of attorneys before I hired Mr. Bhakhri, a great immigration lawyer. He fought hard with the immigration authorities in the US and represented me before the Immigration Judge in San Francisco. He got me back from Fiji Islands. I entered the United States as an immigrant. Thanks to Mr. Bhakhri, his associates and his staff. Mr. Bhakhri is a great lawyer. I highly recommend him to others.

  6. MY ATTORNEY IS THE BEST

    Posted by Susana, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani 1-3 years ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.

    I came to the US in 1999. I applied for asylum in 2001. I did not get interview notice. I retained Mr. Bhakhri in November 2011. I had no paperwork with me. He requested copy of my file from immigration. He reopened my case and had the Immigration Judge terminated the proceedings against me. He then filed adjustment of status application which got approved today. I am now legal permanent resident. I am so pleased for the services Mr. Bhakhri given to me that I have no words to express. He is very honest, candid and helpful person. He is very human. He is very knowledgeable about immigration cases. I thank him and his staff from the bottom of my heart. My children in Fiji are very happy and extend thanks to Mr. Bhakhri for helping me.

  7. Veteran Lawyer Who Knows What He Is Doing...When He Replies

    Posted by Kaur, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani 1-3 years ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.

    I was deportation hearings back in 2009. I saw Ashwani at a social gathering and he said he could help me out and review my case. When we met the next week at his Burlingame office, he was sincere in offering his advice- that it was not going to be an easy case. He said, over and over, that this will be tough based on what the INS was stating. He mentioned to me my options were to fight the case and expect a decision in 1-2 years depending on the court's schedule. If the ruling was unfavorable, there were multiple appeals available to me. The appeals would not come cheap, but they had proven to be successful with some other cases he had worked. I appreciated his honesty and I was impressed by his communication skills and experience. After thinking about it for a week, I came back to his office and I paid him the retainer and signed his paperwork. Prior to choosing Ashwani, I had checked with 2 other attorneys as well, but Ashwani was very comfortable explaining my options to me and his calm demeanor was what I was seeking.

    Over the next 1.5 years, Ashwani and his staff attending my court hearings (although sometimes I must say they were late) and they prepared for my final hearing and official interviews.

    The only downside to working with Ashwani is highlighted in other reviews - his office staff is not very courteous or responsive, and they often can be heard yelling on the phone. As an proactive client, I used to call and email for updates, but I was rarely given a meaningful response. Instead, I was promised a call back, or an email back, but never got it. I used to leave voicemails but often times I was told that no one got the voicemail. Sometimes, the secretary used to yell at me over the phone when I used to simply ask what was going on with this form, or why was this paper mailed to me. Instead of being interested in helping me over the phone, I used to get scolded for asking a simple question or asking to speak with Ashwani. I realized after a couple of months that this was just how they operated.

    In hindsight I was probably not treated that well as a client, but the overall result was favorable. Ashwani and his team were able to get the deportation charges waived, and we did not even have to appeal. I would tell everyone who is reading this to not expect stellar service, response or any courtesy updates. If you're focused on that, you should see another attorney. But, if you want someone with experience and someone who knows how to navigate a tough immigration case, then I would recommend Ashwani Bhakhri. He is a good thinker, attentive, and has lots of experience as he showed in my case.

    Thank you, Ashwani, for your help. I do recommend you to step up with the customer service area but thank you, again, for winning my case.

  8. SUPER JOB FOR

    Posted by Manjit, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani 1-3 years ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.

    i was placed in removal proceedings. I applied for citizenship. During the citizendship interview, USCIS asjed me questions about my first marriage. They charged me with marriage fraud and placed me in removal proceeedings. I immediately retained the lawoffices of Ashwani Bhakhri. He represented me before the immigration judge. Tioday was my hearing date. The Immigration Judge terminated the removal proceedings. I reatined my lawful status in the US. I am pleased with the extraordinary work that Mr. Bhakhri and his associates has performed on my behalf. My wife and two children are extremely happy. Mr. Bhakhri has saved my family. He is a super lawyer. His staff is very helpful. They have treated me like I am one of their family members. They took pain for me. Mr. Bhakhri is candid and sincere. I appreciate what he has done for me.

  9. Heavy Weight

    Posted by Nirbai, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani 1-3 years ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.

    I was put in removal proceedings. I had green card. My green card was taken away because of a criminal conviction. I received connviction within 5 years of the date of admission in the US. I retained the Law Offices of Ashwani K. Bhakhri who helped me in the court. The Immigration Judge denied my case. Mr. Bhakhri filed an appeal. The appeals court retunred my case to the immigration judge. Mr. Bhakhri filed a motion to terminate the proceedings which the immigration judge granted. Because of Mr. Bhakhri's smart plan, I have been able to keep my green card. I did not realize that a criminal conviction can put me in that big trouble. Mr. Bhakhri is experienced and hard working attorney. He is honest, sincere and candid. His staff is very helpful. My family and I are thankful to Mr. Bhakhri for helping me to keep my green card. I recommend people to go to Mr. Bhakrhi, especially, those who have criminal convictions.

  10. HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE

    Posted by Barjinder, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ashwani Bhakhri.
    • I hired Ashwani more than 3 years ago.
    • Ashwani handled my Immigration matter.

    I got my asylum case granted after being in the United States for 22 years. I came to the US in 1991. I retained two other attorneys before hiring Mr. Bhakhri. Prior to Mr. Bhakhri, I had Attorney Kaiser and Kaufman. They represented me before immigration judge. Mr. Bhakhri represented me before Immigration Judge, Brian Simpson, The Board of Immigration Appeals, and the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals. Mr. Bhakhri win my appeal from 9th Circuit Court of Appeals. The case came back to the Immigration Judge. I knew from day one that my asylum claim is week. Mr. Bhakhri's hard work and sharp litigation skills turned the tables around. Mr. Bhakhri is highly professional, good in court and always stick to his position and is always on the client side. I am so impressed with his knowledge about immigration laws. He is very professional. I call him a "fighter". Mr. Bhakhri's staff is very helpful.