Shawn Mills’s Reviews

Shawn Mills

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great lawyer, incredibly helpful

    Posted by Gregory, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn 6-12 months ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Found myself in a legal quandary at the turn of the new year and was looking at possibly losing my career. After researching online for lawyers in the area I came across Shawn Mills. He was the most down to earth and helpful person I encountered the entire time. He sat down and talked with me about the case and explained everything in terms I could understand. I contacted him numerous times between the consultation and the court date and he was always more than happy to help answer any questions. When the time for court came, he should up and knew exactly what to say and what was going on. There was no time served, community service or even fines. He helped make sure everything came up clean. Shawn Mills saved my career and helped me avert a potentially devastating event with his knowledge and skill. He is proof a mistake doesn't have to ruin your life.

  2. Pleased with the outcome

    Posted by Melissa, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Shawn Mills was very supportive and informative. From the start, Shawn was straightforward about the possible punishment I was facing, according to a Domestic Violence charge. However, he caused me to feel confident and trust that he would take care of me and my family. He is very knowledgeable and well experienced.

  3. Best Bang For Your Buck

    Posted by Andrew, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shawn Mills is perhaps the most personable lawyer you can find. Not only did he build an excellent rapport with me, but he was personally invested in my case. I think that it is extremely important for a client to feel that his lawyer truly cares about his/her case. Shawn Mills has spent more time reviewing my case on one particular SATURDAY than the entire time the trial took. He is extremely knowledgable and well versed in the law. He is very charismatic and captivates the jury with his witty discourse. He is well respected by judges and fellow lawyers alike. I personally heard both judges and lawyers compliment him on his work. I cannot think of a single thing that I was unhappy about with my case, and I will be working with Shawn in the future.

  4. Not Guilty On All Counts!

    Posted by Tony, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Even though all these lawyers crow about how good they are, after finding that several of the local attorneys had never made it to trial, meaning all they do is plead their clients guilty to something i realized that speaking to several lawyers was a good thing to do; it makes the honest lawyers stand out. My problem? I Am Not guilty!! Mr. Mills (sorry Shawn, but it is a sign of respect) gave me actual case numbers of RECENT felony trial wins. Mr. Mills told me the only way to "win" a domestic violence case was by winning at trial; I was scared but Mr. Mills told me that I had a winnable case. HE just had this look in his eye like he was telling the truth, he was different than the other lawyers I met with. My trial lasted three days (domestic battery, fase imprisonment, tampering with a cell phone). After four hours of waiting the jury came and proved that my lawyer was not blowing smoke; NOT GUILTY on all counts. My family cried, I had my life back. When you pick your lawyer make sure that they really have trial experience, not just a scary web page. If you are charged in Monterey County with a crime, call Shawn, a real trial lawyer!

  5. A Double Play

    Posted by Tim, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My stupid friend committed a crime while I was in my car near by (crime-1 a FELONY) He got back in the car and did not tell me. The cops searched my room and found friends bag with a stolen credit card (crime 2-Misdo). Shawn got the credit card tossed on illegal search. Took the felony to trial keeping the jury out three days before I was found INNOCENT which I was. My life was saved. I did not realize the work that was involved with a trial. He picked the cops as clean as a three day old Thanksgiving turkey in a 6 child family! If they breathed wrong he had them gasping for air. He knew the case so well it made the DA look ill prepared and lacking ability. His manner kept the jury loose and on our side. I can now start to heal. Thank you Shawn!

  6. Domestic Violence Case Dismissed on eve of Trial

    Posted by Mark, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A few years ago I plead to a Felony domestic violence conviction. I messed up. My wife (now my ex) knew that a phone call to the police was all it took to get me arrested again. When we split up and I locked her out of my house she called the police and told them I had grabbed her by the neck; yep, another criminal domestic case. I DID NOT DO IT! Mr. Mills pushed my case through the system always with an eye towards trial. The DA kept sweeting the offer but, no how, no way was I going to admit to something I did not do! Yesterday at the Jury Trial Calendar call Shawn went in ready for trial this Monday; the DA finally listened and my case was dismissed. Without a lawyer who believed in me I would have been screwed! Thank you Shawn for caring and listening.

  7. Normal Attorney Who Cares

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a domestic violence case that included alchohol. To make things better, I was on probation for a previous DUI. After my arrest, spending the night in Jail and posting bail, I immediately started looking for Lawyers. I called a few and met with a few. Some wanted to go to trial and some just seemed like your average "paper pusher" Attorney.

    Then, I met with Shawn. At first, I was a little skeptical. Shawn had a T-Shirt and Jeans on, his desk was pretty messy and he had an ear-ring. Well, you can't judge a book by its cover with Shawn. Shawn cared about my charges. The other lawyers I met with had a "look at the clock" mentality. I hired Shawn. Shawn gave me his cell. He always returned my texts, phone calls, e-mails and was always willing to answer any questions. Needless to say, I was arrested for 2 Felony Domestic charges and a False Imprisonment charge. Shawn got my charges dropped to 1 misdo domestic. I'm looking at Anger Management classes (eventhough I'm not an angry person) and some probation. Shawn saved a jail sentence, community service, a Felony, my job, and got two charges dropped. I was left with one misdo.

    The bottom line is Shawn is a normal guy. He cares. He doesn't pretend to be this hot shot Attorney and he saved my ass!!

  8. I got JAIL (well home confinement)!

    Posted by Scott, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I did something rotten, yes I did. The moral of the story is to keep your cool! I got made and burned by girl friend's clothing after I found out that she had been cheating on my with my BEST FRIEND! I did not lay a hand on her. The DA charged me with FELONY ARSON (all the while I was probation after a burglary/DUI) event several years (that Shawn also helped me with). The DA was PRISON in her eyes! I was hoping for time in County Jail. Shawn got the charges reduced to a misdemeanor and instead of prison, instead of jail, instead of home confinement (which would have been a dream ending) Shawn got me community service at the agency that I volunteer at anyway. Saved again by Shawn. He HATES being called MR. MILLS; claims that that is his father's name, he is Shawn. I would say the only thing that Shawn could have done better would to been to called me the day before I got in trouble and warned me of the future, but hey, he is a lawyer not a fortune teller. I have several friends Shawn's way with the same happy results. He is a go to guy!

  9. He is a Rock Star!!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested with a DUI, and Shawn was the only lawyer that I called and actually talked to me like I was a human being and not just someone with cash. He kept me informed of every little thing, good and bad. If he was not in the office his assistant was able to help me as well, and always assured me that Shawn would call back, or would even call Shawn while he was in court. If I ever have another situatuion (I hope I do not), he will be the first one I call, I will never use another lawyer in this town except for him.

  10. Very Helpful

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shawn Mills.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shawn did exactly what he said he could do and was integral to getting my case reconciled in a beneficial manner.

    He was friendly, personable, and very available for phone calls and meetings.

    His price was extremely fair and he gave no hidden fees like other lawyers tend to do.

Call Until 9PM-Text to (831) 521-6265 requesting a call back ANYTIME

831-372-3000