Rick Horowitz’s Reviews

Rick Horowitz

Average Rating

Based on 44 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I would and do recommend all my friends and family to Rick Horowitz, an outstanding lawyer that cares.

    Posted by James, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    When I was arrested Rick was on the phone with the sherrif transporting me to the jail by the time I got there. The sherrif pulled over and handed me the phone, I couldn't believe it. Rick advised me not to say anything and that he would come to the jail to see me. Hours after bieng booked they let me talk to my attorney, he had been waiting the whole time at the jail. It was around 1:30 AM. My charges were dismissed a couple months later but in that time Rick did a fantastic job of keeping me informed and out of trouble. He understands, He just gets it, and He fought hard for me. When the judge finally dismissed my case he followed his ruling with a few words for the D.A. I would be proud to recommend Rick to any of my friends or family. In fact I have on numerous occasions. Not only did Rick get my case dismissed he helped me get my family back together and we have been happy ever since. Thats one of the things that makes him different from the rest, He cares and helped me personally in my life and not just in court. I just can't say enough about him. I admire him, look up to him, and appreciate him more than you could ever know. The only way to know how great he is at his job and as a human bieng is to hire him. To this day every year on Christmas Eve Rick puts on a Santa suit, comes to my families home and passes out presents to all the young kids. Rick is some kind of man, let him fight for you and you'll see just how good and caring he is. I carry his business card in my wallet in case I ever get in trouble. There are some words on the back and all you have to do is hand that card to an officer and your rights are protected. Ask him for one, it is a great tool to have. In summary, He came to the jail in the middle of the night, got my case thrown out, helped put my family back together, and the D.A. in a little hot water. What a guy. I am forever gratefull!

  2. went from looking at a year in police custody to a free man with all charges dropped!!!

    Posted by David, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In May of 2011 I was pulled over by two police officers, shotguns pulled on me and placed under arrest. The officers were accusing me of running a stop sign, which was not there. Also of evading police officers, which is a serious crime. Rick was very helpful at making sure I knew my rights and doing everything to help.

    We had to go to court several times in the case where there were a few different district attorneys but Rick was very persistant and continued to fight for me. The district attorneys were trying to give me a year in custody but just this last month in February of 2012 at my pre trial hearing Rick managed to get all the charges dropped.

    I highly reccommend Rick Horowitz to anyone needing a criminal defense lawyer. I was really surprised that at every turn in this case Rick was there to point out the flaws in the DA's case causing them to keep changing representatives and try another avenue. Thanks to Rick they all failed.

  3. Rick should be the first Criminal Defense Attorney you call

    Posted by Christopher, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Rick is a great lawyer. He goes out of his way to research and find the best solution for wahtever problem you may have. I was charged with a misdemeanor and Rick was able to get the charges dropped without having to go to trial. It was a very frustrating time in my life, but Rick was able to put my mind at ease with his professionalism and his caring. I do not know what I would have done had it not been for Rick. I cannot recommend him enough. If you EVER need a criminal defense attorney, make sure Rick Horowitz is at the top of your list to call!

  4. This is the SECOND time he saved my life

    Posted by Nicholas, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In march of 2011 i was told i was under arrest and to put my hands behind my back. before anyone else even knew Rick called me and told me not to worry and advised me of some rights that the police failed to. (i still dont know how he knew i needed him, but damn thats awesome!)

    He not only handled my criminal case with enough ferocity that the other attornies in the room actually said that the highlight of there day was watching Rick run circles around the prosecution, but he handled my FAMILY case as well because he believed that the two could help eachother. He won them both. at the same time. I have no convivtions on my record, and yet i have been arrested twice and both times have looked at serious prison time. He has kept the DA's from prying what little rights i had left away from me, though they tried.

    Dont walk into a court room without Rick Horowitz.

    1. Rick Horowitz

      Rick Horowitz

      Lawyer Comment:

      I should note that I am not clairvoyant. A relative called to notify me that the client was in custody. Since I had represented him before, I knew how to reach him on his cell phone and did so to remind him that he had the right to remain silent and should do so. ;)

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

  5. A Trustworthy and Knowledgeable Defense Lawyer

    Posted by Mitch, a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I wanted to write a letter regarding the way that Rick Horowitz handled my case. I was charged with 2 felonies plus added charges, and had no idea what to do. My wife and I were scared and completely lost, as we have never had any dealings with the law before. Rick stepped up and guided us through the process, getting my sentence down to a no contest misdemeanor with only probation. I want to say thank you, and to let anyone out there know that if they are accused of something and do not know what to do, call Rick immediately. He is not only a great lawyer, but compassionate and caring as well. I am very thankful my wife found him on Facebook, and just want to let people know that there is a defense lawyer who cares about your wellbeing more than your money. Thank you Rick, for helping me get my life back, and giving my family the peace of mind knowing that I would be taken care of in this horrible time in my life. God bless you!

  6. Rick gave us hope in a very trying time.

    Posted by Randy, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My son was looking at four years in prison for possesion, violating his probation for a drug charge. My son was in a lot of trouble but Rick said in the beginning that he would do all that he could to keep him out of prison. He did. The result was reinstatement of his probation and six months in an out patient rehab program. But equally important was Rick's advice to my son during the ordeal. To remain positive, to look to the future, that one can't dwell on past actions but focus on how to improve on the future. His words made a difference as my son has a whole new positive outlook on life. Rick was also there for me too, keeping me informed as to the progress all along the way as things developed. He really cares. When he said he would do all that he could do to keep my son out of prison, he really meant it.
    God bless Rick Horowitz.

    1. Rick Horowitz

      Rick Horowitz

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for this comment. It makes me feel very good to do what I do. But, at the same time, I want to point out: Your son did -- and continues to do -- the REAL work.

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

  7. Hands down, great guy and great at what he does. Extremely intelligent and really really went to bar for me. He saved my life

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Absolutely saved my life!
    Look no further than mr. Horowitz

  8. Very knowledgeable attorney!

    Posted by Sandy, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It didn't take Mr. Horowitz long to get our entire matter dropped. I can't remember exactly how long it took, but I believe it was less than a month. We were impressed. I have given his name to others who are in need of a defense attorney, or know someone that is in need. I trust him to help my friends and/or family members if necessary. He is very knowledgeable of the law.

  9. GRADE A+ LAWYER

    Posted by VINCE, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My daughter had 8 cases spread out all over LA and OC for various
    traffic violations - Rick took them all one by one and over time we took care of all outstanding tickets, FTA and warrents.

  10. He helped me through legal issues and life in general!

    Posted by Melissa, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rick Horowitz.
    • I hired Rick more than 3 years ago.
    • Rick handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Rick Horowitz is one of the best lawyers I have ever met. He is very personable and honest. I feel that he is very knowledgeable when it comes to the law. I would recommend him to my loved ones or anyone else who is in need. He will definitely put all of his knowledge and heart into your case. He really put up a fight for me and would do the same for any of his other clients. Not only is he currently helping me through my legal issues, but he does very well at giving good advice for life in general. He is very genuine and intelligent. Thank you for your help...