Jeffrey Tyson Hammerschmidt’s Reviews

Jeffrey Tyson Hammerschmidt

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If you want the best...

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jeff is one of the most kind, professional, honest, upfront lawyers I have met. Please know that with lawyers you get what you pay for! If you want results, you need to hire the best and I think that is Jeff! We were overwhelmingly impressed with him. He was able to get my husbands sentence from a possible 5 years in prison to 3 months in county jail.
    We cant sing his praises enough!

  2. I highly recommend Mr. Hammerschmidt

    Posted by Gabriela, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Hammerschmidt helped me seek the best possible outcome for my very unfortunate DUI case. He is personable, but professional, and exceptionally knowledgeable. I trust him implicitly and felt comfortable and confident with all of his legal counsel. He always speaks to me in a way that I can understand, fields all of my questions with clear competence and expertise, and listens with an open mind to my own thoughts and input -- all of which I appreciate greatly. I feel absolutely certain that my case would not have been resolved as efficiently with any other attorney as my representative.

  3. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Jeff Hammerschmidt is an outstanding attorney. I hired Jeff Hammerschmidt in early 2009 for felony drug charges. Jeff Hammerschmidt answered all of my questions, got back to me quickly, and kept me up to date on the status of my case. Jeff treated me like a regular guy not some criminal. I would recommend Jeff Hammerschmidt to anyone and everyone who is in need of a great lawyer. Thank You Jeff for all your hard work

  4. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Dean, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jeff was an amazing man to work with! He worked on my case and was able to reduce all of my felony charges down to misdemeanors. Jeff was honest, respectful, thoughtful, and really listened to my background. He took all of the information that I provided and made a great case out of it. I would recommend Jeff Hammerschmidt to anyone and everyone who is in need of a great lawyer. Jeff treated me like a regular guy not some criminal. I would highly advise hiring Jeff for any criminal case. If i ever need another lawyer I would not think twice to hire Jeff again. His services were well worth the small amount that I paid for the services that I recieved.

  5. Jeffrey T. Hammerschmidt - The BEST Criminal Defense Attorney In Town

    Posted by Terri, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My father was a business man and he always had told me growing up, that if I ever needed an attorney, to ALWAYS HIRE THE BEST. So now that I am a business woman that holds two different professional licenses, I needed to hire the best criminal defense attorney, as I was charged with a FELONY Domestic Violence charge in 2007 and another Felony Domestic Violence charge in 2013. Needless to say, a FELONY conviction would mean that I would lose both my professional licenses, along with losing my livelihood. And I was NOT going to allow that to happen.

    Therefore, I hired Jeff Hammerschmidt - THE BEST CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY IN TOWN, hands down!

    I was truly innocent in both the 2007 DV charge and the 2013 DV charge, and I told Jeff that I wanted everything dismissed since I was INNOCENT. Jeff worked hard, pulling police reports, writing letters to the DA's office, communicating with the ADA in regards to the other party's statement in the police report did not support the physical evidence, and all the while, BELIEVING ME AND BELIEVING IN ME!

    Then recently, in January 2013, I was charged with another FELONY DOMESTIC VIOLENCE charge w/ an enhanced great bodily injury charge added on to it. Jeff was my FIRST PHONE CALL I MADE EVEN BEFORE I WAS ARRESTED. He quickly communicated with my Office Manager within a couple of hours and told her no problem, he would handle everything.

    Jeff's vast knowledge of CRIMINAL LAW, along with his experience and insight gained from working in the District Attorney's office years ago (as he helped prosecute the Dana Ewel case years ago that I remember watching), I believe, is one of many key factors that allows Jeff to be the attorney that he is. Jeff's knowledge of how and what makes the DA's office tick, definitely showed in his communication with their office and the letters that he wrote to the ADA explaining in great detail why the facts supported that my cases needed to be dismissed.

    He kept me informed and always explained to me the stragety that he thought would be best to use (as there is always more than one way to approach a case). The first case in 2007, he took slow and steady. And within 6 months, he SUCCEEDED IN getting ALL MY CHARGES DISMISSED. My second case, in 2013, he took a different approach (as it was truly a different kind of case being that their was the enhanced charge of great bodily injury). And at the actual PRELIMINARY HEARING, he SUCCEEDED AGAIN in getting ALL MY CHARGES DISMISSED (which is pretty much unheard of getting felony charges dismissed so quickly)!

    I kid with him and tell him that he had it easy, because he defended an innocent client who was falsely accused. But I know just how hard Jeff worked on both my cases. And Jeff put all his knowledge, all of his resources, and many working hours into getting ALL of my charges in BOTH CASES, DISMISSED.

    So, if you are ever in need of a criminal defense attorney - GET THE BEST - AND HIRE JEFFREY T. HAMMERSCHMIDT.

    I APPRECIATE Jeff for keeping both my reputation and my livelihood, intact. Thank you Jeff, for ALL that you have done for my family and I and for always being there, in my corner, when needed!

  6. Trustworthy,Honest and Fast legal advice when needed!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A true an honest Attorney.I contacted him regarding a professional licensing matter and he provided a thorough honest assessment and gave me the consultation over phone without charging a penny while other Attorney's were demanding between $1000-1500 for the same service.

    One should Contact him whenever one needs any legal guidance.

  7. DUI case

    Posted by Bobby, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was being charged with a felony DUI and bodily injury to passenger under the influence. Mr. Hammerschmidt got the bodily injury charged dropped completely, and the DUI dropped to a misdemanor.

  8. Jeff Hammerschmidt

    Posted by Matt, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with a Felony DUI and Mr. Hammerschmidt got the charges reduced to a mistimiener. He was very helpful and always more than happy to answer any questions I had. It was a long case and Jeff never got frustrated he was always very professional and persistant with out his help i do not believe it would have got the sentence reduced.

  9. Jeff Hammerschmidt and associates are highly recommended

    Posted by Brandon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    For my DUI case, Jeff Hammerschmidt was able to produce the best possible outcome I could ever ask for (case dismissed). After reviewing the facts of my case, Jeff stated that we had a very good chance of beating it. Due to his vast knowledge of California's penal codes he was able to provide me with clear and concise information regarding the possible outcomes of my case. Jeff and his associates contacted me on a regular basis, via email and phone conversations, as information was relayed to them. At no time did I doubt Jeff's integrity and work ethic, for it was clearly shown by his communication and openness that he was actively engaged in working my case. After explaing to Jeff the severe consequences a DUI conviction would have on my career and financial stability, he was instantly dedcicated to not only helping me beat the DUI, but also helping me to keep my job. Despite the stress and anxiety I was feeling due to the uncertainty of my DUI charge, I rested assured that Jeff was doing everything within his capabilities to assist me. Hiring Jeff to represent me was a smart decision. If you find yourself in the unfortunate situation I was in, facing a DUI conviction, I highly recommend that you hire Jeff Hammerschmidt as your representation.

  10. Dismissal of Criminal Charges

    Posted by Tom, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey Hammerschmidt.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hands down, Jeff Hammerschmidt instills confidence. Once you talk to him and meet him, you know you will be in excellent hands. He has vast experience from both sides of the law - as a prosecutor and as a criminal defense attorney - and he has superb 'People Skills,' which is vital in working with you, the prosecution, and the judge. He has earned a phenomenal reputation in the field because he knows the law and because he knows how to work with people, and it is this combination that has earned him the tremendous respect of his peers over the years. He has forged fantastic collegial relationships that have proved his worth as a lawyer and as a solid person. Have no reservations about working with Jeff.