George B. O'Neill’s Reviews

George B. O'Neill

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very efficient Lawyer

    Posted by David,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George O'Neill.

    I was in SLO for a wedding so I do not live in SLO county. Made a decision to drive after hanging out at the bar with the wedding party. This was my first DUI so didn't know what to do. Since I lived in San Jose, I contacted George to represent me at the hearing, and to take care of everything else too. George put my concerns at ease, answered all my questions multiple times, and told me exactly what to do in my situation. He took care of everything so I didn't have to drive back down to SLO. I only made one trip for a Book & Release with the country Sheriff. George is very efficient and too the point, and doesn't leave any stones unturned. I recommend him to anyone caught with a DUI!

  2. Definitely recommend George in SLO

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend George O'Neill.
    • I hired George 6-12 months ago.
    • George handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had the unfortunate pleasure of getting pulled over by SLO cops in regards to a DUI after a night downtown. The SLO PD were fishing for something to charge me with and George pretty much did not let that happen. George and his team were very helpful throughout this process. Anytime i had any questions they would always answer, and i was able to meet with George whenever needed. One day before i knew it, i received a text stating that the case was dropped, and that all i would have to pay is the fine for the traffic violation. Also George has a student rate which is amazing if you are attending school around here, saves you over 500$. He even paid my parking ticket that i received during my first visit at his office since the meter ran out. Overall i had a great experience with George, and i would highly recommend George due to his knowledge, experience, and cost that is better than most other offices i looked at. T

  3. He Leaves No Stone Unturned in Your Defense

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George O'Neill.
    • I hired George 6-12 months ago.
    • George handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    SLO County's law enforcement is notorious for their aggressive approaches toward drunk driving. While overall this promotes a safe community environment (let's face it…nobody wants people on the road who have overindulged), the fact of the matter is that law enforcement officers make errors when arresting individuals, especially with borderline cases. Breathalyzers are not foolproof devices and equipment calibration errors can mean the difference between losing and retaining your driving privileges, not to mention the related costs. Meanwhile, roadside sobriety tests can be ridiculously subjective based on the officer's interpretation of behavior and responses to their hand and leg balancing requests (try doing these when you are physically handicapped…officers in a rotten mood don't necessarily take these conditions into consideration at midnight).

    There is no one in SLO County who knows every inch of the DUI legal landscape better than George O'Neill. George will examine every minute detail of your situation, provide frank and honest counsel, then be an absolute bulldog in your defense. George's office staff of legal experts rounds out a great team that leaves no stone unturned…together, they are your best defense option in the area.

    If you ever find yourself needing DUI defense, there's only one phone call you need to make …call the office of George O'Neill.

  4. DUI

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George O'Neill.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.

    I was in SLO visiting from southern California and was arrested DUI. I contacted Mr. O'Neill and he took my case. After working on my case for several months my driver's license was not suspended and I was not convicted in court of an alcohol offense.

  5. SAVED my commercial license

    Posted by keith, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George O'Neill.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hold a commercial drivers license and without it I am out of a job. A DUI or a DMV suspension of my commercial licensefor one year was going to cost me $100,000/ year job. I retained Mr. O'neill, but in the beginning he painted a very bleak picture for my situation, but he said that he would do everything possible! The DMV case and the DUI case lasted some months which allowed me to save up for my anticipated unemployment. One day I received a call from George telling me that half of the battle was over and I was still good to go, He had found an error in the arrest report with the breathalyzer certification that beat the DMV portion on a technicality. I still had the DUI case to battle, and George had set a date for jury trial as it appeared to be the only way to save the license completely. The D.A. just would not give in. I was prepared to spend a ton of money considering legal fees and expert fees let alone my loss of work. I few days before trial Mr. Oneill contacted me with an offer that I/we couldn't refuse. He managed to finally get the charges reduced to a reckless driving (fine, night in jail, classes, NO LOSS OF LICENSE!!) Case over, job still intact, and all of those $$$ that I saved are still in my pocket. Thanks, George

  6. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend George O'Neill.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    One weekend I headed over to the beach from the Valley for some rest and relaxation,
    but the SLO County jail was not supposed to be part of the plan. I left SLO with a record at the County jail,
    a driver's license that was going to be suspended for a year, a misdemeanor DUI charge, and a return invitation to appear for arraignment at the San Luis Obispo Courthouse. I hired Mr. O'Neill based on recommendations. He handled both the DMV suspension matter and the court case for me. In short I did not lose my license for even a day but Mr. O'Neill said that I definitely dodged a bullet and that was definitely not the norm. The DUI was satisfactorily resolved too; I will not be returning to SLO... at least not to serve a jail sentence!

  7. George B. O'Neil "Is the Man"

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George O'Neill.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He is the man you want on your side. He knows his info and the law every well. Go with him and he will make life better for you. He did for me

  8. Outstanding Services

    Posted by Victoria, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George O'Neill.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. O'Neill was incredibly responsive to every aspect of the process regarding my pending DUI sentence. He helped me to understand what my responsibility was during this process and what my outcome would be. I strongly recommend his services. In my difficult situation Mr. O'Neill helped me in many ways and I truly appreciate his services.

  9. George took care of the hassle for me.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George O'Neill.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It's horrible enough to get a DUI, but when you have a busy job like I do, it makes everything worse. I had never gotten a ticket, let alone need a lawyer, so this was a very scary experience. George was able to take care of so many things while I kept my mind on work. He did such a great job juggling around my case and keeping me informed. George was also able to reduce my sentence greatly. It is such an amazing feeling to have someone trustworthy handle my case as well as get me out of so many penalties. I am extremely greatful to you George. Thank you so much.

  10. Great multiple DUI service

    Posted by Richard, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend George O'Neill.
    • I hired George 1-3 years ago.
    • George handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    George was great and made me feel very comfortable. He kept me up to speed on everything and I'm very satisfied with the end results.

Call now for a free consultation.

805-543-7695