Dennis James Balsamo’s Reviews

Dennis James Balsamo

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Taking on an unusual case.

    Posted by Diane, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dennis Balsamo.
    • I hired Dennis 1-3 years ago.
    • Dennis handled my Lawsuits & Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I needed to sue my former attorney who lost almost 1M dollars in benefits, property & money; I had been a victum of a natural disaster . Dennis took my case and managed it efficienty, pragmatically and empathetically. I am lucky to have found him and highly recommend him to others.

  2. Untrustworthy

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dennis Balsamo.
    • I hired Dennis 1-3 years ago.
    • Dennis handled my Car Accidents matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Please do your home work before hiring any lawyer... especially this one. Here was my experience. I hired him for a car accident. He told me he works on contingency of 33% and that he could get me the limits of the other guys policy. I told him of my health insurance with my employer. Well things didn't happen the way he told me they would and I lost a lot of money because of his wrong advice. This is because of something I learned about afterward from a lawyer. It is called subrogration. Mr. Balsamo never told me that because of my medical insurance the legal issue of subrogration would be in play. This was a major deal because, Mr. Balsamo insisted on his fee being paid BEFORE the subgroation issue came up with my insurance company. What subgrogation is (as explained to me) is that if my insurance company paid money for my medical bills, what ever I got in money from the car accident, I would have to pay back to the insurance company. When I got the letter from my insurance company to pay them, I consulted Mr. Balsamo, he said the following, "there is no such thing as subrogration." Obviously the new lawyer I hired told me that subrogration has been a basic law thing for car accidents for many years and there is no lawyer he knows which would deny it. So I lost a lot of money because of Mr. Balsamo's wrong advice. And to make matters worse, that 33% charge he demanded was on the full amount I received, and then I had to pay the insurance company back after that. So I was left with almost nothing. Mr. Balsamo is why we regular people do not like lawyers. So, I say stay away.

    1. Dennis James Balsamo

      Dennis Balsamo

      Lawyer Comment:

      We're sorry you had a bad experience with our firm..if you were in reality an actual client? I believe you to be the SAME fake that posted the bogus probate allegation. Why do I think this? Let's see...Your matter does not sound familiar and I cannot even begin to place whom you might be, or if you were ever a client of ours? Nevertheless, we strive for the utmost client satisfaction in every case. What makes your 'complaint' suspicious is the fact that EVERY client (which would have included you - if you were a client) - signs an attorney client fee agreement as required by Ca law. In that agreement the issue of client responsibility for Subrogation claims are CLEARLY documented. Also documented therein is the fact that neither I nor any other atty could guarantee you or any client that they would get anything. The very nature of a contingency fee agreement is that the attorney risks his time and the client risks costs. That means no recovery no fee. So your spurious allegations seem to imply that you were NOT a client of my firm. But, I If you find the courage to climb out from beneath the rock of anonymously, please contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns. And please read the attorney-client fee agreement ahead of time. In closing if I may add..get a life and stop making up lies.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  3. Dead Right

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dennis Balsamo.
    • I hired Dennis more than 3 years ago.
    • Dennis handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Dennis Balsamo has been my attorney for over 6 years. My father passed away leaving us in a horrible mess. Dennis has won our litigation hands down, taking us all the way to The Supreme Court, because of his tenacity and above all because he cares. I no longer consider him my attorney...he's my friend! And if we looked anything alike, we'd be family. :-) Most honest and trustworthy person I've met to date. He's gone above and beyond the call of duty in our case. He stepped up to help out with things that weren't related just because he cared. Call him and you'll know just what I mean. He shoots it straight. Simple as that! I recommend him to the highest extent. Thanks Dennis for always being there.

    1.5 :-)

  4. I will use Dennis EVERY time I need something Legal.

    Posted by Edward, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dennis Balsamo.
    • I hired Dennis 1-3 years ago.
    • Dennis handled my Lawsuits & Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Dennis is everything I needed and I would use his services anytime!
    Working with Dennis brings a calmness and a sense that everything will be taken care of. And I (the client) can take the worrying out of my daily schedule.

  5. Best Damn Lawyer in the World

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dennis Balsamo.
    • Dennis handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was desperate to find an attorney on my personal injury case as the statute of limitations was looming, and no one seemed to believe me when I told them I was injured when my own truck ran over me. With two weeks to go before the statute of limitations would expire I was referred by a friend to Dennis. He met with me the same day, listened to my story and said he do some free research to see if there had been other incidents of Chrysler trucks suddenly shifting into gear and injuring people. Within a day or two he called me and said he had found another case similar to mine and the cause was a know defect in the shifter of certain Chrysler trucks...and mine was one of those. That same week he filed a lawsuit to protect me and immediately engaged in settlement negotiations. Ultimately he got me a million dollar + settlement. Throughout my ordeal he and his staff were there for me. Calls were promptly returned and he would not get upset if I popped in unannounced to ask a quick question. I can honestly say that without Dennis I would not have been compensated for my injuries and my family would still think I was crazy. He's my lawyer for life. I cannot recommend him highly enough.

  6. Unfortunate Experience

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dennis Balsamo.
    • I hired Dennis more than 3 years ago.
    • Dennis handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As with the other reviewer of Mr. Balsamo, I too had a very unfortunate experience with him. First, he would not return phone calls unless I called several times. I found him to be very combative with the attorneys on the other side, which caused more conflict and expense than necessary. When I would ask for an accounting, he would get very short with me. So I decided to see if I could find more out about him, and low & behold, in the SLO court public records he was sued by a former client. The suit alleged that he used money from the trust account for his own purposes. In response, he called this former client in court papers filed with the court a "bottom feeder." Wow, how professional is that. Well I disengaged from Mr. Balsamo and went elsewhere and was treated with dignity. Concerning what the other reviewer said about Mr. Balsamo's handling of his appeal, which he said went to the California Supreme Court. I researched that too and the appeals case that reviewer talked about NEVER went to the CA Supreme Court but just went to the regular appeals court and the attorney who handled the appeal was Neil Tardiff and Mr. Balsamo was just in the background who handled the lower case and when it was appealed, Mr. Balsamo engaged Mr. Tardiff who handled the appeal. This is also public record. Mr. Tardiff is a very experienced lawyer, and is listed as a "Super Lawyer" in CA who focuses on just appeals work.

    1. Dennis James Balsamo

      Dennis Balsamo

      Lawyer Comment:

      We're sorry you had a bad experience with our firm..if you were in reality an actual client? Your matter does not sound familiar and I cannot even begin to place whom you might be, or if you were ever a client of ours? Nevertheless, we strive for the utmost client satisfaction in every case. We have an office policy that mandates calls be returned within 24 hours, so I’m surprised by your assertions that calls were not returned. Also it would have been odd for me to discuss “accountings” with clients as we have a separate billing employee that handles those concerns for clients? Surely you must understand that anybody can make accusations against anybody for anything. The “lawsuit” you allege was filed against me was not a lawsuit and was not filed by an ex-client of mine. Rather it was lazy, spendthrift trust beneficiary who was bleeding his elderly mother’s trust dry who got upset when my firm managed to get him cut off and his mother protected. If you really did your homework you would have seen the court dismissed his accusations as being untrue. Lastly, the Probate case you mentioned DID go to the California Supreme Court (you did bad homework) who ruled en banc to deny the appeal. I was in fact assisted by Mr. Tardiff in the appeal process who was the lead appeal attorney, and who did do an outstanding job. I was fortunate to be able to work with, and learn from him. See Estate of Stoker (2011) ) 193 Cal.App.4th 236 (or just Google “Estate of Stoker”). I believe you’ll find that this firm took a very difficult case that was a case of first impression in California where we not only prevailed for our clients, but also made new law in California. Read the case, you might find my name mentioned 200 or 300 times. If you find the courage to climb out from beneath the rock of anonymously, please contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  7. Fantastic Lawyer

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dennis Balsamo.
    • I hired Dennis more than 3 years ago.
    • Dennis handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Balsamo is one of the most ethical and competent lawyers I have ever met. He handled my probate case zealously and with great competence. After we won at trial where he did an awesome job the other side appealed but with Mr. Balsamo's help the case went all the way to the Ca Suprme Court where we ultimately won. Without him we'd have lost...