Nicholas Payvand Azemika’s Reviews

Nicholas Payvand Azemika

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I'd Hire Him Again (but hope I don't have to!)

    Posted by Andrew, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Azemika.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    An attorney friend of mine recommended that I contact Mr. Azemika when I sought advice on who I should hire as a divorce attorney. It proved to be an excellent recommendation, and one of the best decisions I've ever made.

    Mr. Azemika was very professional and highly competent throughout the entire difficult process. Because of his history, associations, and courtroom experience here in Bakersfield he was able to consistently predict and out-maneuver the tricks, traps, and strategies of opposing counsel. Without exception, his efforts on my behalf resulted in the most advantageous outcomes. His rates and billing practices were fair and honest. In fact, I know of far less competent attorneys here in Bakersfield who charge exorbitant rates for what was ultimately ineffective counsel. Not Mr. Azemika -- he did an excellent job, has my utmost respect, and I highly recommend him to anyone seeking a consummate professional in the areas of family and divorce law, and child custody.

  2. Mr. Nicholas Azemika could not have done any worse for me.

    Posted by Richard, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Nicholas Azemika.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Because of Nicholas Azemika, it took more than three years (Mar 2010–Aug 2013) to resolve just four key assets entailed in my marriage (house, pension, vacant land, vacation hours). I lost nearly $200,000. My ex got nearly 90% of the value of the assets (82% of the community property), but she was still not happy. Despite the many times I asked Mr. Azemika to consider my share in my ex’s pension, and my separate investment in real estate—in many mandatory settlement conferences that took place—he avoided doing so. His excuse: he was waiting for her to provide info on her pension and vacation hours. While he waited I consulted another attorney who was once his boss. He assured me that N Azemika is smart enough while he would also be willing “to take my money.” During oral stipulation for a settlement in Court (Sep 2011), Mr. Azemika lied to the Judge and to me about him having advised me that I should consider my ex’s pension, when in fact I was the one who finally obtained an expert appraisal at the advice of his former boss, but still he would not apply it in dollars In June 2012, I hired another attorney who changed his mind about pursuing the fraudulent non-disclosures and claims by my ex that were incorporated into a Partial Judgment. In April 2013, I became my own attorney and was able to bring the matter to resolution, but I had to live with the losses that had accumulated in order to stay in my home. In hindsight, I should have never hired an attorney; I could have settled the case in 6 months and saved both my ex and myself a lot of misery.

  3. Great lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Azemika.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Nick took care of me when I was going through a very tough divorce. My wife was very angry and unreasonable. She also had a very unreasonable female lawyer who was not interested in resolving the case at all. Instead, all my wife and her attorney wanted to do was keep fighting about everything, no matter how reasonable their position was. Nick was always very responsive to all of my questions. He fought so hard for me. There were times I could see how angry he was that he had to waste his time and my money to fight on issues that should have been settled. I honestly thought that Nick fought for me on everything that was important to me. If I decided to fight on something that was small, he would talk me out of it by telling me that it would take more money to fight over that issue that it is worth. But, on most issues he fought his heart out and we won EVERYTHING. The moment you walk into the court house you KNOW that you hired one of the top guys in town. Everyone in the court house from the bailiffs, to clerks, to court reporters and judgment, they all treat Nick and his brother with so much respect. You know that these guys are well respected and liked by everyone in the courthouse, including the judges. The best decision I made in my divorce was to hire Nick Azemika.

  4. Hire Nick for sure

    Posted by Diana, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Azemika.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Before I went through my divorce, I made sure I researched all the lawyers in Bakersfield. The one name that kept coming up was the “Azemika brothers.” Most people kept telling me to hire one of the “Azemika brother.” Some would tell me to hire Nick Azemika. So, I decided to meet with Nick. But, I met with 4 other lawyers too, just to make sure I hired the right divorce lawyer. Thank God, I hired Nick Azemika. From the very first meeting, Nick made me feel so comfortable and confident. He was so personable and answered all of my questions and concerns. My ex-husband hired three different lawyers throughout our divorce. After our divorce was over, he told me that so many times he had wished that he hired Nick Azemika, before I hired him. Apparently, my ex-husband was also referred to Nick, but I got in and hired Nick first. Throughout my divorce case, Nick was always ready. He also always responded to all of my questions. The one thing I was so impressed with was how Nick would always respond to me by emails. I would email him questions and concerns, he would email me right back or within a day or two. It was not uncommon for me to get emails back from Nick at nights or on weekends. I swear I would hire Nick again if I ever wind up in divorce court without any hesitation. I also find it funny that my ex-husband is even referring his family and friends to Nick. I found out after my divorce was over that my ex-husband’s sister hired Nick for her divorce. That right there should tell you how good Nick Azemika is as a divorce lawyer.

  5. Got me my kids back

    Posted by Diana, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Azemika.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a different attorney before I hired Nick. Before I even hired Nick, I had heard about him from many other people. For some reason I wish I knew now, I did not hire Nick. Instead, I hired this other attorney. It turned out to be the worse decision of my life. My ex-husband claimed that I beat one of my kids and the judge gave him custody of both my kids. For over a year, I had supervised visitation, and then limited unsupervised visitation. My case was going no-where and I was just seeing my kids for 4 days each month. My mother then told me I should just go see that one lawyer that everyone keeps telling me to hire. So, I made an appointment and went and saw Nick Azemika. At first, he did not want to take my case on because he told me that it was bad. In fact, I remember crying in my office. He felt bad and told me he would review my file and call me and tell me if he will represent me. I begged him to take on my case. Thank God, Nick agreed to take on my case. By the time my case was over, I had my kids half the time. I went from 4 days per month to having my kids every other week. Nick was amazing. He was so on top of things. He was always available to me. I could call him, or email him. He gets his emails on his phone and he would respond to me within a matter of minutes. In court, the judge would listen to him more than any other attorney. When he walked into the court the first time, the judge immediately acknowledged him. When we met with my ex husband and his attorney, Nick just took over. I did not have to say a word. He just talked and they listened. It was amazing. Now, over two years later, my husband has referred all of his friends to Nick. He told me he does not want to go to court ever again and he just wants to get along. My ex husband does not want to mess with me anymore because he knows I will go right back and hire Nick Azemika.

  6. The best lawyer you can hire for yourself and you better hope your ex does not hire him first

    Posted by Richard, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Azemika.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hiring Nick was the best decision I could have made about my divorce. I had two other lawyers before him, and they both screwed up my case. I was paying about $2,000 per month more in child and spousal support than I should have paid. The fist time I met Nick (who was recommended to me by SEVERAL people), he could not believe the amount of support I was paying over and above what I should have paid. He immediately filed a motion and had my support reduced by $1,800 initially. By the end of the divorce case, my support was reduced by $2,400 per month from the time I hired Nick. He is the most knowledgeble lawyer you can ever hire. On top of that, you should see the way he and his twin brother are in court. I swear as soon as he and his brother walk in, all the lawyers, judges and even the court staff notice them and accomodate them. One time, I was sitting in court, the judge was in a middle of the case, as soon as Nick walked in, the judge just stopped and started to joke with him about something personal. It was amazing. That is when I realized I had hired the right guy. Even the other people in the court could not believe it. I had several people come up to me and ask me who my lawyer was just because of the way he was treated by the judge. By the end of the case, I got everything I wanted and more. It was a joke. My wife fired and hired three lawyers and Nick blew them all away. On top of that, he is the most honest and personable lawyer you will ever run into. He talkes to you like you are friends. The best advice I have for anyone going through a divorce is hire Nick, shut up and just let him do his thing. The guy hates losing more than you can imagine. Hire this guy if you are smart and you better pray to God your ex does not get to him first.

  7. Fantastic attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Azemika.
    • I hired Nicholas more than 3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nick Azemika was very attentive and provided great services to me. I have used other family law attorneys before, but none of them were as professional and hard-working as Nick. He got me the results that he promised me when I first met him in his office. He is very personable and well liked by the judges and the court staff. He and his twin brother are very well known and liked by the judges and all the people in the court house. I was recommended to Nick and his brother by several people and I would not have any problem recommending them to any of my family members or friends.