Carla Leslie Hartley’s Reviews

Carla Leslie Hartley

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing Attorney

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • I hired Carla 1-3 years ago.
    • Carla handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Ms. Hartley for a child custody case in 2012. She was the fourth attorney and final attorney I hired since my child was born in 2008. Ms. Hartley came highly recommended by a couple of my friends and co-workers who had also used her services for family court with excellent results. Ms. Hartley is smart, knowledgeable and very well respected in the courtroom. She has a kind heart; she helps those who truly need it and fights the “good fight.” I had been concerned for my child’s safety, but my prior attempts with attorneys and court had not been able to keep him from harm, my custody case also became a child abuse case. Thanks to Ms. Hartley’s knowledge and ability to effectively fight for my child in court, my child is now safe and healing. I am grateful to Ms. Hartley more than I can ever express.

  2. Great, Trustworthy Attorney

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • I hired Carla 6-12 months ago.
    • Carla handled my Child Support matter.

    I placed my trust on Ms. Hartley from day one and she did not disappoint me. She fought to prevent my children's father from reversing overpayment of child support. This meant the world to me, as he had voluntarily overpaid due to a mutual agreement, then chose to use it against me. In addition, my ex husband received a severance package of 115,000.00 from his previous employer and insisted on modifying support based on earnings solely from unemployment benefits. Ms. Hartley demonstrated that he had been dishonest regarding his finances, and in addition, acquired the court's ruling for him to partially pay for my attorney fees, as his actions prompted me to seek legal counsel. Due to Ms. Hartley's dedication to my case, I will receive more support for one child than I had received for two children. I thank God for having placed Carla Hartley in my path when I was seeking legal advice and I pray for continued blessings for her.

  3. Very happy grandparent

    Posted by Grandma, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • I hired Carla 6-12 months ago.
    • Carla handled my Family matter.

    Ms. Hartley is a compassionate warrior, very detail oriented, and her staff is very good at communicating with her and the client, making changes to documents, even small ones, when asked. I've had lawyers tell me they would make changes to a document and for me to just sign the signature page, but the changes were never made and I ended up embarrassed by the opposition. Ms. Hartley's staff makes the changes, no matter how small, though not many are required because they do it well the first time. In court, Ms. Hartley did not back down, even to the judge. We hear about lawyers "arguing" their case; well, she really does. She made the opposition seem meek. I had a fairly complex grandparent guardianship issue, but she knew within 2 minutes of our first conversation what her strategy was going to be, which instilled confidence in me. I never lost that confidence. I'm from out of town and everything was handled via phone, fax and e-mail. It was also clear that she puts the children's best interest first. I would recommend her to anyone with family law or probate issues in Ventura County.

  4. An attorney that fights for father's rights

    Posted by Robert, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • I hired Carla 6-12 months ago.
    • Carla handled my Child Custody matter.

    Carla and her team were amazing with my child custody modification case. They're highly organized, and very cost effective, minimizing the finical burden of my case. She provided me with realistic and reasonable outcomes that could be expected from the case. In my opinion, the resulting outcome was far better than anticipated. Carla has a no lose mind set, and gives her clients her full devotion. Carla was very detail oriented with my case, and ensured we covered all angles of the case.

    Carla isn't just an attorney, she is a person. She puts herself in her clients shoes and really feels and understands their struggle. She is able to restore the confidence at a time when there is none. Before hiring Carla, I felt at a disadvantage as a father. After retaining Carla, I felt equal to the mother in the court. Carla believes in father rights, and will fight for those rights. Carla Hartley will always be the first attorney that I call.

  5. Thank you!

    Posted by Rosie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • I hired Carla 6-12 months ago.
    • Carla handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Two and a half years ago I went to Carla feeling terrified and alone. I was pregnant and had been threatened by my then husband after I kicked him out for being violent (to me, not our son) and unfaithful and neglectful to our son.

    Carla was reassuring, patient, knowledgeable and honest. I am from England (I'm legally American and moved here in 2002) and knew nothing about the judicial system here. Carla informed me on the law and my legal rights and standing. She reassured me when ever my ex came up with some fantastical threats. She let me know nothing could be promised when we went to court and gave me realistic expectations. Carla explained the legal process to me very clearly which took away the fear I had of going to court. She made me feel like I had emotional support and she was the only source of support I had most of the time.

    My then husband and I could not communicate with one another at all, Carla was able to talk to him and keep him calm which very few people can do.

    Carla got me custody of my children and spousal and child support, she enabled me to move away and be near my parents in the Bay Area and give birth with family support rather than alone in Ventura. She made it so my ex paid for half of our debt (he has no credit and we had lived off of me for several months while he was out of work, he promised to never pay me the money back once I had filed for divorce). She got me all of my back support and health insurance for a further year. My ex was going to try to make me pay for half his back taxes, which he had not paid for several years and I did not owe, Carla stopped him even trying.

    The staff at her office were welcoming and friendly and very helpful, divorce is an emotionally trying time and they made me feel so comfortable and welcome when I went in which was very nice.

    My ex and I now get on very well. Carla did not encourage childish or petty behaviour during the proceedings and so the divorce was, on my side, mostly without bitterness. I feel my ex and I getting on now is a result of the way I was encouraged to behave during our proceedings. I never denied him access to our son as per the recommendation of Carla and that has continued and been a good thing for our children and for us as a divorced couple.

    My ex and I extended our marriage for a further year a few months ago so I could have health insurance for one more year. We did this last minute and Carla and her staff got everything done in a matter of days.

    I would like to thank Carla and her staff for everything and I highly recommend using her if you are considering divorce.

  6. Personal attention and integrity. I found an attorney who helped me settle my divorce.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • I hired Carla 1-3 years ago.
    • Carla handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I went to Carla Hartley when another attorney failed to give my case the personal attention that I wanted in my divorce case. I learned more from her in our first consultation than with my other attorney in 3 months. She was always available. Her staff is also excellent. She was extremely well prepared and looked into every detail. The process can be difficult. I felt well represented and am happy to have a settlement. I would recommend Carla Hartley to anyone with a family law concern in Ventura county. Thank you Carla.

  7. Long-distance Divorce

    Posted by Matt, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • I hired Carla 1-3 years ago.
    • Carla handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I had a fairly simple divorce case, slightly complicated by the fact i was out of the country, but she didn't make it more than it was. She gave me good advice, took care of the paperwork, and represented me professionally in court. Very pleased with the fact she arranged things so I didn't have to travel to the US for a court appearance! I would (and likely will) hire her again.

  8. An Attorney with Character and Sincerity

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • Carla handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Very professional and understanding individual. I went through a very difficult divorce that included child custody. The divorce took 3 years to finalize. The first two years were handled by two other attorneys who were not supportive nor took seriously the safety of my children. Carla Hartley was supportive, very knowledgeable, and worked with integrity. She showed me patience, and went above and beyond what I expected. She gave me a sense of stability and hope when I was walking through all the uncertainties of my divorce. Her staff was also very professional and supportive. I felt I had a full team that could be depended on.

  9. Ethical, Incredible, and Tough

    Posted by Telitha, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • I hired Carla 1-3 years ago.
    • Carla handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I first met with Carla I had very little knowledge of family law. I was under much stress due to this in addition to going through one of the hardest events in my life. Carla was straight-forward, honest, knowledgeable, compassionate, and assuring. All of this also goes for her amazing staff as well.
    From my first meeting with her, to this day, I have had so much confidence in Carla, her representation, and her staff. I have been beyond happy and satisfied with Carla's services. Carla and her staff have gone above and beyond assisting me, keeping me informed, educating me on family law, and never letting me down. She and her staff do not make me feel like just a client-they have genuine concern for the people they represent.
    During a court hearing last month in which Carla represented me, she was prompt, prepared, and made sure I completely understood the process we were about to face. The hearing was grueling and in spite of being constantly put down with false facts by my husband's attorney, Carla remained calm and was tough while remaining respectful to everyone involved. She fought for me to the best of her ability (which was an 11 on a scale of 1 to 10!) and we walked out with a ruling in my favor. The hearing was very rough and emotional and Carla had a genuine concern for me. That meant so much to me.
    Carla is a woman of integrity, ethics, strength, knowledge, and compassion and this makes her an absolutely incredible attorney. It has been an honor having her represent me and I would recommend her services to anyone in a heartbeat.
    Thank you, Carla and staff!

  10. Easily the best family law attorney in Ventura County

    Posted by Ian, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carla Hartley.
    • I hired Carla 1-3 years ago.
    • Carla handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have exclusively used Carla as my Family Law attorney for over two and a half years. Carla came recommended by a co-worker who was also dealing with a divorce. After initially meeting with Carla, she seemed to take an honest, personal interest in doing the right thing for my case. She ensured I maintained custody of my daughter (not an easy thing for a father in California) and prevented my estranged wife from taking advantage of the situation and my good graces.

    Carla has been with me every step of the way, always maintaining contact and offering tips and recommendations. Her office staff is second to none, Ben and Charis are always on top of their work, completing and returning everything in an incredibly efficient manner.

    Carla is honest, ethical, and personable. She has protected my child and I through on-going child custody disputes, my divorce, and other ongoing custodial-related issues. I am a firm believer that she is the best Family Law attorney in Ventura County, and cannot sing her praises loud enough.

Marine Corps Veteran - Experienced Attorney

805-639-0600