Back to Douglas’s Profile

Douglas has received 13 client reviews

AWESOME ATTORNEY WHO IS KNOWLEDGEABLE, ETHICAL, AND A TRUE ADVOCATE THAT GETS RESULTS!!!

Posted by: Kassy, a Residential Real Estate client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Residential matter.

If you need an awesome, ethical, honest, and cost effective attorney who is an advocate for the average lay person, then Doug Michie is the attorney you want to represent you!!! First, you will benefit greatly from Doug's years of experience which translate into an acute perception of what is truly going on in your case. Second, Doug is accustomed to standing up to bullies of every size and nature, including large corporate entities such as the banks and knows how to achieve results. Third, Doug is very hands on which means that he personally handles your matter and is intimately familiar with your case (no, he does not just collect your payment, assign your case to another attorney, and send you monthly bills). Fourth, Doug is personable, down-to-earth, and pleasurable to communicate with. Fifth, Doug will present you with viable options to choose from in order that you may be in charge of your case and elect how to you wish to proceed. Sixth, Doug is cost effective every step of the way -- i.e., he is aware that you work hard for your money and, with that in mind, provides services at very reasonable rates; now I am not saying that legal representation comes cheap, but Doug's years of experience translate into the reasonable expenditure of attorney time on your matter and the cost-conscientious selection of vendors (e.g., attorney services, process servers, etc.), where necessary. Seventh, Doug is selective about the clients he represents and will take on even the most challenging of cases (e.g., even those in which the chances of prevailing are small); i.e., he does not accept every case that comes his way so that his caseload becomes unmanageable and he is unable to be responsive to your needs, nor is he deterred from representing a client because their matter is difficult and they are likely to lose. Eighth, Doug is a long-standing and well-connected member of the Ventura County community. Ninth, Doug achieved quick results representing me in my legal matter against a HOA that is bullying and harassing its tenant-residents for the sheer joy of fulfilling their power trip; although the HOA is still in the process of doing the right thing – i.e., abiding by the laws of the United States of America, the State of California, and its CC&R’s – I am confident in Doug’s ability to continue representing me in this matter should their misconduct continue. Ninth, I have worked with other attorneys in the past and, I can honestly say that Doug is the best I have worked with in every sense of the word – i.e., in terms of his knowledge, experience, accessibility and responsiveness, and results. CONCLUSION: For all of these reasons, Doug Michie is given my highest accolades and recommendation!!!!

An Excellent Resource

Posted by: Paula, a Chapter 7 client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

Doug Michie is an excellent choice for assistance with debt settlement and bankruptcy. His expertise was extremely valuable in discerning which was the best choice for me. He dispelled many myths and offered the true pros and cons about both subjects. His rates are very reasonable for the quality of legal counsel offered. He was compassionate and generous with his time about all legal steps and was prompt with his communications throughout the entire experience. I highly recommend this lawyer.

Agree the person that does not recommend

Posted by: Joe, a Real Estate client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Real Estate matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Doug michie does not keep his word and is revengeful. Charges for services he agrees to do and does not complete and has to start over and wants to charge you again for his mistake. He accused me for righting the other negative review which I did not. He has good reviews but I had a very bad experience with him. So he accuses me for righting a bad review so her it is. More to come.
  1. Douglas Charles Michie

    Douglas Michie

    LawyerComment:

    This is the same reviewer that posted a the other negative review 8 months earlier (similar spelling errors).

    Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

Debt Negotiation Assistance Review

Posted by: Chris, a Debt Settlement client about 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Debt Settlement matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Doug was very helpful in assisting with our negotiations with a debt collector. This collection experience was one of the most stressful things our family has encountered, and Doug really took the issue on for us and let us get back to our normal lives while he negotiated with the collection agency. At the end of the day, Doug negotiated a great deal and a huge weight has been lifted off our shoulders. I would recommend Doug to anyone that needs legal advice, and help with real estate or debt collection negotiations. He was worth every penny to our family. Thanks Doug!

One in a million

Posted by: Linda, Ventura, a Real Estate client about 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Real Estate matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Doug Michie has been my legal counselor and representative on several real estate issues for both myself and my family. He was able to save my home from foreclosure and assist me to obtain a loan modification, he successfully sued prior attorneys who failed to perform, and he personally delivered a time sensitive check to my door over the holidays to prevent a tax consequence on a trust account. He is honest, trustworthy, personable and takes pride in upholding the law. He has my gratitude, respect and highest recommendation.

The Best!

Posted by: John, a Real Estate client almost 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Real Estate matter.

I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

Mr. Michie has helped me on a couple of different occasions, and each time he was able to make very unpleasurable situations a pleasure. His wealth of knowledge is only surpassed by his communication skills, and he has been able to translate the complex into a language I thoroughly understand, and that's not easy for me! He never forced his opinion on me, in fact he didn't want me to make any decisions unless he was confident that I knew exactly what I was deciding. A very nice detail that I appreciate. It was always easy for me to reach him, something else I really appreciate. On top of all this he's a nice guy who really cares about what he does. I would never hesitate to recommend him to my family or friends.

A true advocate!

Posted by: a Chapter 13 client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I was losing my home and car when Mr. Michie saved not only both but also likely my marriage. I consider Doug not only top-shelf counsel, but a friend. I would recommend Mr. Michie to anyone in need of an excellent lawyer!

Foreclosure Issue

Posted by: a Landlord & Tenant client about 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Good
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I have an issue with a possible fraud issue on a foreclosure property in which I am renting a room in a house. Mr. Michie was very helpful and informative. I would highly recommend him.

My attorney of choice

Posted by: James, a Litigation client over 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Litigation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Doug Michie has been providing me with top-notch legal and financial advice for many years. Without fail, he has been there for me in good times and in bad, and he is always the first person I turn to when counsel is needed. Doug is always readily available when I call him, if not directly answering my phone calls, then returning them promptly the same day. I know that I can count on him to pursue my best interest, without delay, and to keep me informed of developments as they occur.

Extremely positive experience - worth taking the time to review!

Posted by: Shirley, a Real Estate client over 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Douglas Michie

I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.

Douglas handled my Real Estate matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

My husband and I have had the pleasure of receiving legal and financial advice from Mr. Michie on more than one occasion. His integrity, his valuable knowledge, perspective and input, and his personable manner make him an excellent choice for anyone requiring his expertise. I am legally blind, and therefore it takes me a lot longer to use a computer to write a review. Yet, our experiences working with Mr. Michie have been so positive, that he is worth taking the time to write this review! I hope that my sincere comments help others to make a great choice in choosing an outstanding attorney such as Mr. Douglas Michie.