Gerard William O'Brien’s Reviews

Gerard William O'Brien

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing Attorney

    Posted by Jami, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Gerard W. O’Brien in 2011 for a Chapter Eleven bankruptcy proceeding. He guided us through the process, was easy to work with and was able to get a plan confirmed. We are well on our way back to financial stability and success. I feel he was a great value and I would hire him again.

  2. help with my parents' care

    Posted by Michael, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard 6-12 months ago.
    • Gerard handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My parents hired Gerard W. O’Brien in 2001 for a revocable living trust-based estate plan. Last year my parents began to need a great deal of care and I and my two siblings went to see Mr. O’Brien about using the estate plan to provide for and protect our parents. He guided us through the process, was clear and easy to work with, and we have been able to take care of Mom and Dad and sell their home so we have resources for their care. We are still working on our parent’s estate and Mr. O’Brien makes himself available quickly when I need advice on the proceedings. I feel his work was and is of great value and I would hire him again.
    Michael Sweeney.

  3. Expensive and Unproductive

    Posted by a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard 1-3 years ago.
    • Gerard handled my Trusts matter.

    I hired Mr. O'Brien to assist in getting the trustees of a trust to distribute trust proceeds as set out in the trust. After 6 months, $3K in fees, 2 lawyer letters and attorney conference, Mr. O'Brien was only able to secure a partial distribution of 25% of what was owed. It's too high a cost for the limited outcome.

    1. Gerard William O'Brien

      Gerard O'Brien

      Lawyer Comment:

      This review is only about 25% factually correct.
      The writer omits the following services that were provided as part of the sum writer paid.
      1. Office meetings;
      2. There were lengthy emails requiring written responses to address multiple issues raised; many of the issues raised were irrelevant or tangential to the case. The writer and attorney engaged in 13 chains of email correspondence, they were conducted on 6/28/2013, 7/12, 7/16, 7/18, 7/23, 7/24, 7/29, 8/3, 8/21, 8/30, 9/11, 9/12, 9/18. The average length was 4 emails or two rounds of correspondence.
      3. Physical visits to the property by co-counsel,
      4. Advice regarding allegations of waste to the property,
      5. Creating of photographic evidence of the property to support the case against waste,
      6. Collecting documents to refute the claim writer was wasting the property,
      7. Two or more telephone conversations with opposing counsel,
      8. Over 15 conferences with Co-counsel regarding the case, and
      9. The Two letters written to opposing counsel, which were disclosed in the review.
      These services were provide over the course of 5 months.
      Writer is entitled to its opinion of the value of the services, however, all services provided should be included.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  4. Trustworthy reasonable lawyer

    Posted by a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerard handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Asked Gerard to reveiw our family trust. Met him as part of a networking group. Gerard met with my father and mother to handle a case with properties, grandkids, special needs dependent and other concerns. Gerarad handled our case professionally. My parents felt they delt with a lawyer they could trust, and a lawyer who would be availalble to help after they are gone. Gave them a sense of relief for their handicapped daugher. In addition, they were very satisfied with the fee's. Expected to pay much more. (Didnt tell Gerard)

  5. Highly Recommend Mr. O'Brien

    Posted by Diana, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerard handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Mr. O'Brien very comfortable to talk to. He was professional yet personal and even went the extra mile to help me during an emotional time. He was recommended to me by a trustworthy business friend and I would recommend him to anyone needing assistance.

  6. I recommend Mr. O'Brien

    Posted by Henry, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerard handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Mr O'Brien to be your Lawyer. He effectively handled my case and gave it the attention that it needed. I have used him twice: once for a business partnership that dissolved and again when I was wrongfully sued over an airplane that I did not own. In both instances the matters were resolved very professionally. Mr. O'Brien is is a good, ethical Attorney with high standards and integrity. If you are even considering seeking legal advice or help, please call Mr. O'Brien.
    Dr. Henry Cardenas

  7. Great review for in-house counsel attorney

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerard handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    While in-house counsel for my company, Jerry took care of many issues : client contracts, landlord-tenant, tax, employment/labor, immigration, and insurance. All the work Jerry did for my company was done very efficiently and in a timely manner. He explained everything to me in terms I could understand. I would highly recommend him for any legal work needed for a small company.

  8. ESTATE PLANNING

    Posted by John, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerard handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We needed information on estate planning, Jerry was very helpful and put us at ease in setting up our plan.

  9. Poulsen probate

    Posted by Don, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerard handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We really like the way Mr. O'Brien is handling our situation. He is trying to do the best for all parties concerned so that we can live with the outcome. His expertise is quite valuable.

  10. Business Contract Review

    Posted by Matthew, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gerard O'Brien.
    • I hired Gerard more than 3 years ago.
    • Gerard handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I asked Gerard to review a legal document I received from a customer. I wanted to make sure my business was protected in the short and long term so I engaged Mr. O'Brien immediately. His response was quick and I was able to respond to my customer the same week to keep our agreement on track.

714-985-9025