Brian Neal Gurwitz’s Reviews

Brian Neal Gurwitz

Average Rating

Based on 53 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Best!

    Posted by Teresa, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian 1-6 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    When I think of Brian Gurwitz I think of a man who will do everything he can to help you. He is The Best Attorney I have ever had. Some of the reasons I feel he is the best is because he is prompt, he explains everything to you and he actually treats his clients like a good friend and I felt like family with him. On my particular case he actually got the case against me so that it wasn't even filed! I can not say enough good things about Brian to do him justice! He can and will do EVERYTHING in his power to help you and he doesn't have the attitude that you are beneath him. I would highly recommend Brian Gurwitz. You would never be sorry that you retained him. I really can't believe I was so lucky to find him on line and he would prove to be not only the best attorney but I consider him to be a good friend. Brian will always be someone I will go to. I unfortunately had another case against me in 2009 and he actually got the case dismissed! I thought that would have been impossible but I really don't think anything is impossible if you have Brian defending you! Many thanks to Brian Gurwitz!

  2. DUI Defense

    Posted by N&J, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Brian did an excellent job during pre-trial and the trial phase of our case. He did a great job requesting applicable evidence from the DA which ultimately lead to our sucessful defense of a DUI arrest. I highly recommend Brian and his team.

  3. Brian Gurwitz is not only a fantastic attorney, but an incredible human being.

    Posted by Jevon, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Brian Gurwitz is not only a fantastic attorney, but an incredible human being. I was referred to Brian by a family friend who used his services and successfully got out of a lot of legal trouble.

    When I first met Brian I was facing some pretty hefty misdemeanor/possible felony charges. I was 22 years old and without tons of money and scared out of my mind since I had not been in any sort of major legal trouble before. I also come from a less fortunate single family household where money is not readily available to say the least.

    Long story short, Brian took all of this into consideration and was willing to work with my budget. He not only cared about me and how he could help me, but also took a personal interest in who I am as a person. I was truly touched by his act of compassion for me and his willingness to help me.

    He is very well connected and ended up working out a deal with the DA to get all of the charges against me dismissed.

    I am forever thankful to Brian and consider him a true friend since he really didn't have to do what he did for me.

    Thank you Brian!

  4. Brian Gurwitz is the BEST!

    Posted by Dean, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My family hired Brian Gurwitz in February to help me in a very difficult criminal case. I had just finished a trial where the jury was hung, 11-1 in favor of guilty. Brian accepted my case and started working. He immediately got me out of custody (first miracle). He then started working on my case day and night, keeping my family and I informed and updated through every step of this very difficult process. We went to trial last week and the way Brian represented me was amazing. He would pick up on every inconsistent statement from everyone that the D.A. brought to the stand. He did it with tack, skill and presented it in a fashion that brought out reasonable doubt. The jury came back with a not guilty verdict on BOTH charges in less than 2 hours of deliberation (second miracle). I had only hoped for another hung jury, I did not think it was possible to be found not guilty outright. Brian has saved me and my family from a LIFE long problem. I have never met a lawyer that cared so much about his client. I would recommend Brian to anyone that needs a lawyer, friend and savior. I could not be any happier with his service and I thank god that he got put into my life. Hands down, HE IS THE BEST!!!!!!

  5. Great Lawyer and Great Person wrapped in one

    Posted by Manuel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    2013 started off bad! I made a series of bad choices resulting in an arrest and facing multiple felony charges. After looking and asking around, I came across Brian Gurwitz. I decided to meet with him and right off the bat was very impressed with his experience and friendly demeanor.

    Brian made me feel at ease and reassured me that he would be on my side and work to get me the best results. When the DA finally pressed charges, Brian quickly acted to reduce the felonies to misdemeanors and my final sentence was a 120 sentence instead of several years in prison.

    Needless to say, this was a very frightening ordeal that could have resulted much worse. I was fortunate enough to find Brian to assist me with my ordeal. His cost was in line with other attorneys in the area but he provided me what no other could and that was piece of mind which is priceless.

    If you need an experienced attorney that will fight to get you the best results, Brian Gurwitz is that man!

  6. Falsely accused of assult with a deadly weapon

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Brian Gurwitz is an excellent attorney. Our son , a firefighter, was falsely accused of assult with a deadly weapon and vandalism. This person that made this accusation pushed my wife. I, a licensed professional, was also implicated and therefore we both needed legal counsel. We called at least ten lawyers on a Saturday afternoon. Brian was the only one to returned a call immediately. One other called three days later. Brian listened to our situation over the phone for about 45 minutes on the first phone call. He arranged a meeting at his office on the next day, Sunday evening. He referred our son to another excellent attorney. Brian made all the arrangements with the investigator. Our son's attorney gave him exellent advice and referred him to a private investigator. Brian advised us what to answer and how to handle certain questions. He completely prepared us for our statements. He drove and accompanied us to the police station to meet with the investigator. He was with us the entire time. There was a disagreement between the investigator and Brian regarding my wife pressing battery. The investigator said, " filing battery this late will look vindictive." Brian told the investigator that in his professional experience as a prior District Attorney he has advised his client to press battery charges. Brian told the investigator that the DA will probably drop all charges against both parties when the case is reviewed. Also, he told the investigator, "If you file any charges of vandilism or assult against their son, I want you to file battery charges on behalf of my client at the same time." The investigator said "that will look vindictive and this could take months to resolve." It was about a month later that the investigator told our son that all charges were dropped. Brian is an outstanding lawyer. He communicated with our son's lawyer to formulate the plan. I highly recommend Brian Gurwitz.

  7. Expert Insight and Guidance

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Brian listened to me. Although I was an emotional wreck, he stayed clam and put all the pieces of the picture together. I found him to be honest, forthright and, in the end, his experience proved to be priceless. On a personal note, Brian is pleasent and easy to talk to.

  8. Expungement.....bright future!

    Posted by Sandie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Brain was referred to me by a friend. He was professional & had a good sense of humor. He took care of a situation from my past allowing me to have my record expunged which helps me with my career & with providing for my family. He was on top of things the whole time & took care of all the details from beginning to end. Great experience!

  9. BRIAN GURWITZ, an impressive knowledgeable lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I agreed with someone's statement “ Brian was the answer to my prayers”. When your life enter to the darkest days, all you wish for is finding the best lawyer. Brian Gurwitz is the one! With his expertise, knowledgeable and impressive experience, Brian has showed how smart and talent he is as the Professional Criminal Defense Attorney. He walked me through the court process with confidence and comfort. I couldn't be happier with the result.
    If you are seeking for a lawyer to representing your case, you are in the right spot. Brian Gurwitz, the answer to your prayers. T.H.

  10. How Brian saved my life & brought humanity back to the profession of being a lawyer.

    Posted by CS, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Gurwitz.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This man without a doubt is worth every dime he charges. He is not just a lawyer collecting a fee, doing a job by making phone calls & pushing paperwork, he is a humanitarian and is really passionate about his clients’ well being. He was there in my time of crisis, giving me hope, calling me randomly just to see how I was doing, genuinely showing concern & care. He really looks out for the best interest of his client as a person, NOT as a dollar sign.

    When I retained Brian I was a wreck! I had been charged with two violent felonies and one misdemeanor. I was looking at a minimum of a five year sentence to a max of 10 years. In the beginning, it was all we could hope for just to get everything reduced to misdemeanors and serve a partial sentence. With his direction and counsel over the last year, I enrolled and completed anger management and domestic violence classes. Since the incident that occurred was the result of prescription drug and alcohol abuse, I also attended ADAT (Alcohol Drug And Therapy) outpatient rehab as well as individual therapy. He kept in touch with the DA and continually communicated with them my progress to showed them that I was NOT a danger. I had made a mistake. I was remorseful and sought guidance and counseling resources to gain back my life as well as correcting my addictive behavior. With Brian’s recommendation, The DA dropped ALL charges and closed the case. My relationship with my wife and family has never been better. Life is the way it should be. I am beyond grateful that I never had to go through the court system. Because of my hard work under Brian’s counsel and efforts, I am a new man with a new life.

    Brian has guided and counseled me as not just a lawyer, but as a friend. He really helps those who truly seek reform and will listen to his counsel. He was worth every penny and more! Thank you, Brian, for being the source for helping me get my life and family back.

Call or email Brian Gurwitz, seven days per week, for a free consultation.

714-880-8800