Donald Wayne Werno’s Reviews

Donald Wayne Werno

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. One Lawyer You Can Trust

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I hired Donald 6-12 months ago.
    • Donald handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was considering attaching counsel to a family law case (custody) wherein I had been representing myself. I contacted Donald to setup a consult. He returned my call and we went over the broad strokes of my case. After some discussion, he concluded that I already had proceedures pretty well understood and handled, and that my case seemed strong so he recommended I "just go for it" and handle the upcoming hearing on my own. Aside from winning over my trust by not even trying to sell his services, I was extremely grateful for the extra time he took to go over the more detailed questions I had about my case. He gave me some of the most nuanced, level-headed, and specific advice I have recieved to date. He wasn't a "cheerleader" for my case, cautioned me about getting too agressive with the facts I had assembled, and also was able to give me some specific insight on the Judge handling my case. His advice regarding strategy was exactly what I was looking for. We agreed that I would handle the hearing on my own and that I would give him a call if I ran into any hiccups. I definitely have Donald's number on speed-dial, and would absolutely recommend him.

  2. Very Caring Attorney

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I never thought that I would have to hire a criminal defense attorney, but recently I had to. After raising our children without any real issues, my wife and I were extremely shocked when our teenage son was arrested on some pretty serious charges. Not knowing what to do, I asked a business associate for advice and he highly recommended that I talk to Don Werno. We immediately called Mr. Werno, who personally took our call, carefully listened to what happened, then asked a number of questions and finally put our mind at ease when he said that he was going to get to work helping our son, which he did. He also helped us completely understand the process and what options we had at each point in the process. It was clear that Mr. Werno was looking out for our interests and not just looking to make some quick money off our misery. I sincerely appreciated his professionalism and his honesty.

    During five days of agonizing pain and while the police got their case together, Mr. Werno stayed in touch with us and gave us updates on the police investigation. He even went to Jail to see our son to make sure that he knew what was going on and to make sure that he was being taken care of as well. That really made my wife and I feel better. Finally, Mr. Werno gave us the good news that our son would be coming home and that the District Attorney would be dropping the case against our son. I was really surprised that Mr. Werno actually cared about our mental state of mind and that he took the time to give us piece of mind during the entire ordeal.

    I am really thankful that my friend referred me to Don Werno. I am pretty sure that there aren’t too many attorneys who really put their clients first, but Mr. Werno is one of them. I could not have asked for a more kind, completely honest and professional attorney to help my family out and if you need a hard working attorney who will be honest and straight with you, call Don Werno. He’s an attorney who actually cares about his clients and their case.

  3. Personable Attorney with a Broad Range of Legal Knowledge

    Posted by Kayla, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I worked as a law clerk for Don throughout law school and we still continue to do business together. I owe everything I know to Don and recommend clients to him when I feel Don would be the best person to handle the matter. Even if Don doesn't end up being your attorney on the matter he will offer you excellent advice from both a legal and personal perspective. Don has been an outstanding mentor to me and I would recommend his services to any client in need of an attorney who is highly knowledgeable in general business litigation, criminal law, personal injury, family law, and aviation matters.

  4. Highly Recommend!

    Posted by Elise, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Werno took the time to listen to my case, was easy to talk to, trustworthy and extremely helpful with my difficult divorce situation! I appreciate his knowledge, expertise and professionalism. He is result oriented, proactive and he gave me very valuable information. He sets the BAR high for attorney standards. Mr. Werno does what he says he is going to do, he always returned my phone calls promptly and thoroughly explained the answers to any questions I had. I highly recommend Don Werno. A+++ honest guy who will do right for his clients.
    Thank you!

  5. Straight forward and helpful

    Posted by Cecelia,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted Don Werno to assist me in enforcing my divorce settlements. He was very helpful in giving me various options on how to handle the situation. He was honest and advised me to go to the courts myself instead of charging me for unnecessary retainment of his services. I appreciate all his advice and trying to strategize the best way to handle in my favor.

  6. I Can Always Rely On Don Werno

    Posted by Kirk, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After years of paying child support, my youngest child was about to turn 18 and my ex spouse was about to lose the child support that she had been receiving for many years. Just before the support order expired, my ex spouse filed a completely frivolous motion to try and get one last payday, despite the fact that I had gratuitously overpaid her child support for years.

    Don was able to demonstrate to the Court that my ex spouse was not entitled to one additional penny more than she had already received. The Court actually belittled my ex wife for wasting the Court’s time with her motion, especially since I was actually entitled to a refund, that I did not request.

    I have always been impressed with Don’s ability to determine the right way to handle my case, especially when I really needed his assistance. He has always been honest and fair with me. I am truly grateful that Don has been my attorney and I would recommend him to anyone needing legal assistance.

  7. An Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Shari, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have utilized Don's professional legal services on more than one occasion over the past decade for different types of matters. Mr. Werno has always been patient, insightful and extremely professional. Don is one of the few lawyers that I have met who is highly competent in different areas of the law. When Don was unfamiliar with an issue, he was honest and made sure that he found someone who could truly help me out.

    Don has been more than reasonable regarding the fees that his office charges. I have never had an issue with the work that he has done or the positive results that he has obtained for me. Most recently, I hired Don to represent me in a breach of contract case where I was owed a great deal of money by a former client. The former client and their attorney were obtrusive and protracted the case out as long as possible. Don worked tirelessly and patiently to make sure that my legal position was fully protected and to minimize the impact of the Defendant’s incessant machinations, which the Court allowed to happen, mostly due to the Court being really disorganized and underfunded. In the end, Don prevailed in the case. I am extremely grateful that the case is now over and that I had Don to represent me because he is an ardent advocate for his clients. Don is a terrific attorney who prides himself on his integrity, excellent client service and unsurpassed legal representation. He is not boastful, but should be in light of his legal accomplishments and case records. Any client will be well served by Don Werno.

  8. An Excellent Aviation Lawyer

    Posted by Robert, a Aviation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Aviation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Don is very knowledgeable in Aviation Law. His willingness to listen, help and be compasionate is unmeasureable. He is honest and very fair. I highly recommend you reach out to him if in need of aviation advise.

  9. Look no further

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Don has been my attorney for more than four years. Everytime my ex and I reach a resolution, he lives with it for about a year before he takes me back to Court requesting an increase in visitation (in an attempt to have his support payments reduced). I find Don to be highly knowledgable, honest and fair with regard to his fees. If you are looking for a top notch family law attorney, at least schedule a consultation with Don, I'm confident you will hire him.

  10. Highly recommend Don

    Posted by Connie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Werno.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Don handled my contentious divorce that, unfortunately, ended up in trial. Don's knowledge of family law is strong and his experience in court showed. He always came well prepared and ready to get down to business . Don and his staff are professional, very knowledgable and kept me well informed. I highly recommend Don.

Call now for a free consultation.

714-542-4466