Teresa Ann Beyers’s Reviews

Teresa Ann Beyers

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I do not recommend this lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Teresa Beyers.

    I hired Ms. Beyers this past year to help me with my annulling my marriage (currently divorce). I spoke with her over the phone and decided to hire her due to her seemingly empathetic nature. She was timely in her responses and seemed quite knowledgeable. However, this quickly changed. My case was particular since my ex-husband is not a US national and resides in another country. I followed Ms. Beyers's guidance and found myself completely misdirected and the case mishandled. Not only did she go through the necessary steps to ensure that serving my ex the papers be legitimate, but she did not keep me informed on the proceedings -- especially the fact that the documents provided were rejected. Since I was out of the country, I was corresponding with Ms. Beyers via email and only found out about my case months afterwards, when I had returned home.

    When I finally met Ms. Beyers, we spoke for a total of 20 minutes and she tried to run circles around me: apologizing for not keeping me informed, commenting that I seemed "mature" for my age (presumably since I am educated and politely called her our for incompetence), and then telling me that she had filed my papers in the Compton Courthouse (when she had in fact filed them in the Los Angeles Superior Court, which is right down the street from her office). It was only when we met that she also informed me that annulling a marriage requires going to court. She is misguiding and the manner in which she used her legal jargon as an attempt to pull the wool over my eyes and protect her incompetence is unethical. We hire lawyers trusting that they will guide us and represent us in legal matters -- not to use it against us.

    Learning from the experience I had with Ms. Beyers, I have since found another that came with a good reference from another well-respected attorney that has worked with my family. (My new attorney is going through the US embassy in my ex's country to translate the papers and have them served to him by a professional, ensuring that all of my legal bases are covered -- something Ms. Beyers never attended to much less considered. Ms. Beyers has unapologetically mishandled my case.

    Ms. Beyers did not send me monthly invoices. The new attorney and I had to ask Ms. Beyers for the invoices a total of four times (including two emails that I had sent her). The only invoice I received from Ms. Beyers dates back 6 months. She did virtually nothing to advance my case yet somehow padded out the invoice so that she could keep the retainer fee (charging me exuberantly for each email, reviewing my files, charing me for having not filed the papers to my ex, etc) . While the new attorney is much more expensive, I know that she is a well-respected professional who is tending to my case in a succinct, legally viable manner. I have since wrote an excellent review for this attorney.

    While I am debating whether or not I will be investing the time and energy to take Ms. Beyers to small claims court, I will be reporting her to the State Bar. If you are going through a divorce or separation, you are going through a very difficult time. Hiring an attorney like Ms. Beyers will only add to your stress and cost you. I do not recommend Ms. Beyers in the least.

    I have read reviews on this website and see that this is not isolated to my case alone.

  2. Recommended Family Law Attorney

    Posted by Scott, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Teresa Beyers.
    • I hired Teresa 1-3 years ago.
    • Teresa handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used The Law Offices of Teresa Beyers about two years ago for a Child Support and Custody issue and was happy with my end results. It was a long haul and there were some very frustrating moments but Ms. Beyers stood by me the whole way and I felt very comfortable with her. She was very knowledgeable about my situation as everything seemed to turn out as she had predicted. I would definitely use this attorney again if I was to run into some unfortunate circumstances that would require my needing an attorney again.

  3. Caring and Competent

    Posted by Amy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Teresa Beyers.
    • I hired Teresa 1-3 years ago.
    • Teresa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Attorney Teresa Beyers to represent and assist me with my divorce. She was my second attorney as my first attorney was not productive, informative or attentive to my case. In contrast, Ms. Beyers was very professional, knowledgeable and helpful with my concerns, and my many legal questions. She was fantastic and very patient in walking me through every stage of my divorce. Also, I found The Law Offices of Teresa Beyers to be very attentive to my case and my desire to get things quickly settled and never let a day go by without returning a call or email. Ms. Beyers made what was an already painful and frustrating experience for me a much more smoother and tolerable situation and I am so grateful to her for all her help.

  4. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Posted by zeida, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Teresa Beyers.
    • I hired Teresa 1-3 years ago.
    • Teresa handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    About a year ago I was in a panic looking for a good attorney to help me with my emergency child custody issue. I didn't have much money and had no knowledge or understanding as to how the legal process worked but I knew I needed help right away. I called this office and got Ms. Beyers who was very understanding as to my issues and quickly advised me as to what I needed to do. Ms. Beyers was more than helpful she knew I didn't have much money so she helped me with my paperwork and advised me as to what to say and not to say to the judge during my hearing. As such I was able to get my hearing continued and I hired Ms. Beyers to represent me at the following hearing. Ms. Beyers was able to get all my issues resolved at the hearing and I felt like I won the lottery by finding her. I found Ms. Beyers to be fair, competent and very easy to talk to , I very much recommend her as a family law attorney.

  5. Fair and Competent

    Posted by Doug, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Teresa Beyers.
    • I hired Teresa 1-3 years ago.
    • Teresa handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    used this law office for my divorce and was satisfied with the service I received and was very happy with the end results. Although I felt at times that it was never going to end as I quickly learned that many unexpected issues come up during a divorce. Ms. Beyers' always reassured me that things were going as expected and explained to me the process as many times as I needed so that I could understand the legal process that had become such a big part of my life. Through the whole process Ms. Beyers was always understanding and easy to talk to as I called her constantly with questions and for reassurance. I would definitely recommend this law office as I found them knowledgeable, hard working, professional and kind hearted.

  6. Once she sees your finances; you are headed to give her a ton of money.

    Posted by Emanuel, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Teresa Beyers.
    • I hired Teresa 1-3 years ago.
    • Teresa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    First of all, the fact that lawyers get to review your finances was a major problem because she couldn't get enough from taking all the inheritance I gained from my mother. Her billing lady was very consistent but their were a ton of things that were billed knowing that nothing would come out of it. You may say " Every person hates their lawyer due to billing costs" . I want you to make a judgement. If I had a 4 month marriage does it seem fair to be billed over 80,000 dollars.The other lawyer Casey Olsen was in on it as well, he works in Torrance, CA. I got nothing I wanted as far as legally, and the lady I married got everything she wanted. In other words, I could have represented myself and would have been 80k richer. You know something is wrong when she actually says " Hey the other lawyer is offering a 50k settlement and you can get 500 dollars of your unfair child support".That was after I have spent over 70k with her. No lawyer would recommend I take that offer unless she got a piece of that or was working with the other lawyer (that wasn't getting paid) . She also had no rebuttle of me paying 8k to the opposing lawyer!!! I believe this had to be collusion. They were both very aware of my inheritance and they were looking for their own. They delayed things on purpose so she could write hundreds of letters that got us nowhere. Please do not take her as your lawyer.
    She kept me informed of how much she was billing. She was billing a 32 year old about 8,000 dollars a month. Nobody who didn't receive some type of inheritance could be able to pay her. Hence, showing that she will bill you according to how much you have in your account. She will pretend to be your friend, but in the end once you see the bills..she is out for herself only. Please beware. I now have a box of billing that weighs more than 30 pounds all for nothing.

  7. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Cody, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Teresa Beyers.
    • I hired Teresa 1-3 years ago.
    • Teresa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was in need of some legal advice when I contacted The Law Offices of Teresa A. Beyers. Throughout my dealings with her as my attorney, she was very informative, professional, and she gave me great insight into different ways of looking at my legal matter. On top of this, she was also very accomodating to my schedule, as I could only meet her in the late afternoon due to my work schedule. She even gave me her personal cell phone number in case I needed to reach her while she was out of state on a short vacation. Her pricing was also very fair. I did a lot of research before I chose Teresa Beyers and would recommend her to anyone looking for a good family law attorney.

  8. recent client

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Teresa Beyers.
    • I hired Teresa 1-3 years ago.
    • Teresa handled my Child Custody matter.

    I have to agree,Teresa is not a good attorney. The retainer fee I paid her and the amount that would cover my whole case was paid to her when I first hired her. I told her I only had so much money and asked her if she can take the case with the money I
    had , she said yes she would help me and for me not to worry. She was untruthful thoughout my case and after my case was continued she decided to
    charge me an excess amount of money on top of
    What was already promised mutually. Teresa did not do anything good for my case the only thing she was good at was billing me for calls, texts, visits that
    lasted over 2 hrs and acting as though she's your friend but the whole time she is charging you. I had to hire another attorney who did the job for so much less of what she was charging. the attorney I hired only had to make one phone call, one response and only had one visit with him and that was to sign my name that took only 5 minutes. He got the job done!! I would highly recommend that you do not hire this attorney. If you do please Make sure you get a written agreement of fees before you hire her.

  9. Teresa Beyers is unethical

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Teresa Beyers.
    • I hired Teresa more than 3 years ago.
    • Teresa handled my Family matter.

    Teresa was great in her initial phone conversation but everything changed. She is incompetent, over bills then doesn't explain what the billing is. I was forced to go to court without representation because even though I paid her a retainer agreement she used all of that and never told me. She waited until 3 weeks before court to tell me if I didn't pay her an additional $4000 she couldn't appear in court. She was unprofessional, hung up in my face and still has refused to explain all the charges. Do NOT HIRE THIS WOMAN.

  10. A Winning Attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Teresa Beyers.
    • I hired Teresa 1-3 years ago.
    • Teresa handled my Child Custody matter.

    Ms. Teresa Beyers helped me win custody of my children. I was very concerned that I might not even receive joint custody of my three children. However, after hiring Ms. Beyers to represent me I was able to obtain primary custody of my children along with child support. It makes a big difference when you choose the right attorney. I highly recommend Ms. Beyers. She's a WINNER and you can be a winner too. I am confident that with Ms. Beyers representing me, that my children and I have a bright future.