Steven Gary Hittelman’s Reviews

Steven Gary Hittelman

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. THE MOST STELLAR & COMPETENT ATTORNEY IN FAMILY LAW I HAVE EVER RETAINED

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven 1-6 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    There must be hundreds of thousands of family law attorneys who practice in Southern California. I have had my share enough to know the difference between stellar attorneys who delivers vs. others whom do not. I found that Steven knew all aspects of family law including his knowledge in other area legal specialties. This was an added bonus.

    It wasn't until I retained another attorney I had learned in comparison they were worlds apart in terms of caliber & competency. Mr. Hittelman's knowledge of the law alone is superb. He knows the right strategy to implement that will yield what his client' reasonably has requested. Honestly, this man does know. He is powerful in a courtroom commanding presence & respect not only from opposing counsel and his client, but also presiding judges and courtroom staff. If you're going through litigation, this is what you want.

    I found Steven' demeanor always to be professional, demonstrating excellent bedside manners at all times. In Family Law there are a lot of emotional & complex cases. I had no prior experiences with lawyers or court procedures what so ever prior to my situation. My case was definitely complex and highly emotional. Steven literally unraveled most of the mess resulting from a previous situation. You will be in awe and amazement for all the thorough work & execution Steven and his staff provided. I learned a lot from him throughout the whole divorce process when I retained him.

    I cannot say enough great things about Steven' legal associate Lynn Quach. I appreciate now more so & realize her level of competency and work she put into my case. She truly is amazing. Lynn always kept me informed & made sure I received all copies of case related documents, filings, etc. She never ignored my calls even when I was having a major melt down caused by my ex. My case was definitely complex and highly emotional. DV isolated situation had led to my filing for divorce. Steven & Lynn were consistently patient throughout for almost 2 years. Steven & Lynn knew & understood underlying reasons and never once made me feel inferior. This was HUGE. My perception on most family law attorneys interests are assets, liabilities and.....you're done. I realize it's a business; however, we're humans going through probably the most difficult times of our lives.

    If you're going to spend good money for representation, you expect all these attributes & positive results. I can say with confidence, competent, stellar & respectful attorneys who are able to balance complex case matters and their emotional clients (that would be me) are rare. In my defense my melt downs resulted from horrific & life changing events often with little control.
    I look back with respect how they never ever were once rude to me. It is my belief, now that the economy is starting to slowly return, the attorneys who are not competent, stellar or respectful WILL be surpassed by attorneys who are.

  2. I am grateful Steve and his team are on my side

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.

    I highly recommend. Steve, Kerri, Lynn and his HLG staff. They are intelligent, hard-working, patient, professional, courteous and experts in Family Law. I am very satisfied with how they've been handling my divorce/child custody case. I needed a strong team of lawyers and they did not fail me. They stood their ground and protected me and my child from my ex's abusive nature and the opposing counsel's bullying tactics. Thank you Steve for representing me and fighting for my child's safety.

  3. "Here' why people hate lawyers"

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I also retained steven hittleman which consumed way too much time & money. Divorce process is stressful enough without having the confidence you're best intetests & end results were dictated based on profit. I believe steven is a kind human being on a personal level. Not so much on the professional side. I sensed a short temper, don't think of questioning me, & primarily poor, poor communications even in a face to face mtg. Concerns addressed to him are ignored, shot down, or delegated. Made to feel; "do as I say...period". Bedside manners needs to be refined "after" he's retained. His associates & paralegals are way over worked, however more responsive, Lynn in particular. However, falls short in the "seasoned, knowledgable area.

  4. He is why people hate attorneys.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used Mr Hittleman for my custody dispute. I was simply looking to change my custody from 41% to 50% for my 2 minor children. Almost $50,000 later...we got it. Mr Hittleman is the epitome of the lawyer that bills for EVERY SINGLE SECOND that requires his attention. And I believe but cannot prove, that overbilling and "Extra" time was added at any and EVERY opportunity. The ending statement is just insane to review. What I will tell you though, is if you want a lawyer that is willing to do / say ANYTHING to advance your case...he is your man. In retrospect, I wished I'd used my previous attorney. I highly encourage anyone in the process of interviewing / picking an attorney to pass on any attorney at the first sign they're willing to sacrifice their professional / personal integrity just for the opportunity to advance the case. In the end it's just not worth it.

    1. Steven Gary Hittelman

      Steven Hittelman

      Lawyer Comment:

      The expense of a custody case is unpredictable and can not be assessed at the outset. There is no such thing as a "simple" custody case. While I can do a cost-benefit analysis for litigating an issue over an asset with a certain value I can't do the same for the priceless relationships that parents have with their children. I'm most surprised by this review's comment that I am somehow not trustworthy, especially after I apparently succeeded in achieving their objective. I would not have been able to succeed had the Judge not believed that the client and I had the children's best interests at heart. Also, any of our clients can look at a monthly invoicel and see that there are "no charges" throughout their bills - meaning that they are getting that service for free.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  5. Unprofessional and arrogant

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am flabberghasted after reading the reviews on Mr. Hittelman. It's as if I am reading about another attorney. He charged me over $15,000 in a restraining order matter. That is major money. When I tell other attorneys this amount, I watch as their jaw hits the floor. No restraining order case should cost that much. Personally, I feel the bill was padded. There is no way to prove at 3pm he wasn't reviewing my file for 3 hours, or at 4:30pm he wasn't drafting a letter that took 2 hours--unless you are standing in his office, so on and so forth. In addition, he likes to scream and make it known that he is above you. Even when you prove he is wrong, he is still right. He is extremely difficult to deal with. A little diplomacy may take him a long way. If you choose him, then you will know what I mean. Beware, beware!

    1. Steven Gary Hittelman

      Steven Hittelman

      Lawyer Comment:

      After representing dozens of victims of domestic violence it is difficult to try to recall who this may be, but given that most Domestic Violence actions can take at least three court appearances of several hours each the fees incurred can be unpredictable. Our office sends bills every month so that the services rendered can be assessed on an ongoing basis. As for the comments about any personality conflicts I will let the other reviews speak to that.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  6. Wow! Words will never express my gratitude for your ourstanding representation!

    Posted by Jacqueline, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    While I have what should be a "simple" family law case addressing custody, visitation and support issues, my ex has a different perspective. Steve and his amazing team have been a protective barrier for all the harassment and nonsense. They keep me informed and act swiftly on my behalf. Sometimes the harassment and issues have come up at the end of the day on a Friday. Still, Steve is on top of it and has even called me over the weekend to assist. My case is not about someone "winning" and Steve and his team always keep that in perspective for me. I respect his integrity and that while Steve is my attorney, he keeps our son's best interest in mind at all times. Thank you Steve, Lynn, Melissa, Jenna and Hittelman Law Group!

  7. So Impressed I retained Steve twice!

    Posted by Danielle, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I originally retained Steve when he was a Senior Associate at Minyard Morris for a child custody/support issue. I found him to be extremely HONEST, knowledgeable, personable, realistic, and most of all, caring during this very difficult time. I was so impressed with Steve’s professionalism, I retained him a second time; at Nelson Hittelman, for a divorce/child custody issue. While working with Steve at Nelson Hittelman, I had the opportunity to work with two of his associates as well, Eileen Garvey and Lynn Quach. Both Eileen and Lynn were truthful, pleasant and compassionate. As with any legal counsel, fees can be a deterrent from representation. However, I believe Steve and his staff were fair and cautious with their hourly billing. I would not hesitate to retain Steve’s services again or recommend him. You do get what you pay for!

  8. A good and honest lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Steven is not only very knowledgeable about family law- he is ethical and a good man (not always easy to find in an attorney). Unfortunately my case had to go to trial, and he was very specific and actually caught my ex in some lies on the stand. Though my ex was a bully- not once did Steven attack his character. He instead, though his questions, let my ex's character speak for itself on the witness stand. He was also able to turn around things I was accused of and disprove them- both through my testimony and my ex's. I do not know yet the judgment for our case, but my experience with Steven has been positive.

  9. Absolutely Fantastic!

    Posted by Chris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    After having a horriffic experience with a first divorce attorney, Steve agreed to take my case only 3 months before the final hearing. I got 100 times more out of Steve than I did my first attorney. He is extremely knowledgeable about child custody, financial issues and the entire divorce landscape. He was able to get exactly the outcome I hoped for -- both with child custod and financial issues -- after taking my case with only 3 months to completion. What Steve (and his wonderful staff) did for me and my daughter was actually a small miracle. I couldn't recommend him more... Thank you so much, Steve.

  10. What does one want from an attorney?

    Posted by joe, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Hittelman.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    What does one want to know when it comes to an attorney? Will this attorney protect me? Protect my kids? Protect my home? My money? Will the other attorney get bounced for attacking me? Steven did all these things for me and my family. Because of Steven we were able to stay together and in our home. Steven provided me and my family a sense of security in a very insecure time. If you need an attorney, I recommend Steven Hittelman

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

949-289-9089