Paul Jan Nelson’s Reviews

Paul Jan Nelson

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Revision of previous review

    Posted by Kim, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I previously reviewed this attorney and highly recommended him in the early stages of my case. Unfortunately my case is still ongoing. I attribute much of the delay to Paul and opposing counsel in my case being more concerned about their egos and driving up fees on both sides than working towards any resolution in my case. I found that there was a lot of talk, but not much action.

  2. A Lawyer that is honest!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have a great attorney with Paul!! He has integrety and morals. He does what he says for you and is very hard working!! I couldn't give him a higher rating!! He's courteous and handlles himself wiithprofesssionalism!!

  3. do not hire Paul Nelson.

    Posted by Holly, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Paul made a mess of my divorce. He did not inform me of half the things he was doing then charged me at a rate of $400 an hour. He made things with my ex much more hostile and emotional than they needed to be. He ended up having my kids completely taken away from their dad which is not what I wanted. I fired Paul. We went to mediation and were able to work things through that eere fair to both sides without getting screwed by attornys. DO NOT HIRE PAUL NELSO.

  4. Not honest and causes more problems and charges you more money...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    He made a lot of promises and none of them happened, except a large bill. He is not a good attorney. He travels and is never prepared.. He is not truthful. You are suppose to trust your attorney and I did and he never did the right thing.....

  5. Professional, Expert Guidance, and Priority

    Posted by Sylvia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Paul for 6 months and was happy, and then tried the process of mediation which didn't workout in my case. So, I re-hired Paul with full confidence. Paul and Tracey always giving me the real picture. Its a joint effort when it comes to decision making with Paul's expert guidance.
    His staff is professional, knowledgeable, attentive to my questions and keep me well informed, He is a natural talent in the courtroom. My case is a bit demanding, and very happy with my choice in getting through this process. My best interest is priority and always protected.

  6. Tenacious, Bulldog, Great Attorney

    Posted by Stephen, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Using Paul Nelson for my divorce was the best decision I made in the entire process. He is knowledgeable, tough, and does not back down. I first noticed Paul while at court for another matter. I liked the way he approached the judge and did not back down. He was considerate, but firm and backed by knowledge of the law that applied. Because of that, I followed him out of the courtroom and got his card. Divorce is terrible, but working with Paul helped me to achieve good results.

  7. Defend yourself first

    Posted by Paul D., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I also had to fire Paul, like the other critics all I ever got from him was bills. he was not available for any court dates and did nothing after the initial filing. He will bill you to death for every e-mail you send him and every phone message you have to leave. And as for whoever wrote that praising letter about Nicole, I cant imagine a more incompetent person. She would demand information from me that I had already submitted months prior and refuse to simply look in the file. Imagine trying to intimidate your ex when you have to keep telling her your big bad lawyer lost the paperwork. Finally they started sending my bills to an e-mail address I never heard of. Then after two months they sent me a bill with overdue finance charges because I didnt pay the bill they never sent me. They had 2 e-mail addresses for me, my phone number and my address. they say you can appeal their bills but that is through the OC bar that is right down the street from them and no lawyer os going to rule against them, all that will happen is the OC bar makes you pay them too. In reading these reviews ask youself who has a need to write a negative review that is untrue? Its not like you are going to use a specified competitor. What agenda could any of us warning you away possibly have except that we are pissed at Paul? And if we are pissed then there must have been some reason. On the other had what agenda could the positive posters have?

  8. Can't recommend Paul and his team highly enough

    Posted by Kim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I absolutely love working with Paul and his associate Nicole. Nicole has spent hours working on my case and her attention to detail is amazing. She wrote my orders to show cause in such a professional manner, while getting all the important legal details across. She knows the law and it shows. When I saw the declaration that the opposing attorney wrote in comparison to Nicole's it was almost laughable. She is also very aware of dates that things are due, and on top of what is going on in your case.
    Paul is just awesome. If you were unfortunately married to a overbearing narcissist like I was, Paul will know just how to handle him in court. Paul is superb in the courtroom. He knows the law, and he knows what information is important to present. He doesn't get emotional and stays focused on getting the truth to come out. He is able to keep the mood light during a horrible process with his witty comments and comfortable demeanor. I also feel very secure in the courtroom because I know he has my back and he doesn't let opposing counsel badger me, which she repeatedly tries to do.
    Both Paul and Nicole are excellent at returning phone calls and emails, even if I just have a minor question. Hiring this firm was the best decision I could have made during this process.

  9. review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Paul Nelson handled my divorce. He was very responsive and would highly recommend him. Great guy and very trustworthy.

  10. Exceptional

    Posted by Rebekah, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Nelson.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Paul Nelson was very professional and informative prior to, during, and after handling my legal situation. I was grateful for his guidance, and communication throughout the process. Additionally, I appreciated his availability in answering any questions I may have had.

    More often than not, family legal situations can be very time consuming, frustrating, and lengthy. I am thankful that even in the midst of all the details, Paul Nelson, and his associates were notably helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, and speedy in all actions and correspondence.