Back to Kelly’s Profile

Client Review

Kelly has received 9 client reviews

Bankruptcy and Home Modifiation

Posted by: a Chapter 11 client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Kelly Johnson

I hired Kelly 6-12 months ago.

Kelly handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Never finished BK and lost my house! Paid him monthly when I could of been paying for my home had I negotiated with the bank myself.

Kelly Johnson

Posted by: a Chapter 7 client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Kelly Johnson

I hired Kelly 1-3 years ago.

Kelly handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

He advised me to file a Chapter 7 bankruptcy and told me that by doing so, I would protect my homestead exemption and allow to sell my home so I could try and get off disability and start a new life for myself and my two (2) minor daughters again. Needless to say, I lost my home, lost my equity I received in selling my home of over twenty (20) year's because this man had no clue as to what he was doing and didn't know anything about the bankruptcy case law that took everything I owned, which was the equity in my home. I had to hire a new attorney and found out that Kelly Johnson had withheld information from me that I had to turn over my proceeds I had remaining even though he told me we had an appeal regarding the case law he had no knowledge about. While he handled my case, he borrowed money from my equity proceeds on three (3) separate occasions (totaling $22,500.00) with no intention of ever repaying the monies. The only reason I loaned him money, was because a good friend of mine had referred me to him, and I trusted my friends judgment. Kelly Johnson lied to me and told me the proceeds from my home were mine until the end. He lied and told me we had an appeal filed regarding the case law he knew nothing about. I later found out Mr. Johnson missed the Federal Court deadline of fourteen (14) days to file an appeal, which he said nothing about. He also directly lied to me and said I didn't need to attend and/or didn't inform me of more than a dozen hearings in front of a bankruptcy trustee. The court Trustee states the meeting of creditors was continued seventeen (17) times. He told me to take care of my health and not to worry he would take care of everything. This was suggested because I had a heart attack over the stress he induced by his negligence, selfish and criminal behavior and losing everything. When I found out that the money he "borrowed" from me was unethical, and per several attorney's, grounds for disbarment and a malpractice lawsuit. He reluctantly paid me back, which I ultimately had to give to the court Trustee's counsel a couple days later. I had to give those monies and any remaining monies I had to the Court. This left me completely destitute and relying on disability benefits for myself and my two minor daughters, which is a joke if anyone knows what these benefits are. They are not enough to support ones self nor added children. At one of the hearings after I had to turn over all proceed remaining from the sale of my home, the Judge was so disgusted with Mr. Johnson's actions... Mr. Johnson was sanctioned $15,000.00 and referred for disciplinary procedures immediately in L.A at Roybal Federal Court. He's been able to continue this matter several times. A delay tactic he's too familiar with... This individual in my opinion, is a very dangerous person and a danger to the public's safety and welfare of any individual who seeks professional assistance or guidance from him. I've been left penniless and destitute with no future in sight. My life and the life of my two minor daughter's are forever ruined. I cannot support myself and my daughter's on what I receive in benefits from disability. With the stress induced heart attack I had, my medical bills have gone up even further and the damage to my heart is irreversible with a very problematic future prognosis.

GREAT ATTORNEY!

Posted by: a Lawsuits & Disputes client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Kelly Johnson

I hired Kelly 1-3 years ago.

Kelly handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.

Kelly Johnson is an excellent attorney to whom I have referred others after using him for legal work myself. He is extremely intelligent, caring, and knowledgeable. I would not hesitate to call him again on a legal matter should the occasion arise. I was very pleased with the legal services I received on a matter outside of my practice area and, as an attorney myself, I believe I am in a good position to judge the quality of another attorney's legal work. In short: I WOULD RECOMMEND KELLY JOHNSON WITHOUT HESITATION.

Best Attorney Ever!!! Dont listen the anything negative about this office!

Posted by: Mike & Kim Munoz, a Chapter 7 client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Kelly Johnson

I hired Kelly more than 3 years ago.

Kelly handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

Kelly Johnson is one of the best attorneys I have ever had the pleasure of working with. Lets face it, if you are calling this office for help, it is most likely that you are in financial straits like my wife and I in 2008. Kelly and his staff were professional, courteous and empathetic. And in the courtroom they are all business. This was a stressful time for my wife and I and as it is easy to see now, we were not alone. Kelly Johnson's office's were extremely busy but always took the time for me and my family. Ultimately we had a very prosperous bankruptcy! I have referred over 30 people to him and continue to do so year after year. If I have to do business in the state of CA and I need the assistance of an attorney, I call the Law Offices of Kelly Johnson!

A THEIF...RUN FROM AWAY AND SAVE YOUR MONEY

Posted by: a Chapter 7 client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Kelly Johnson

I hired Kelly 1-3 years ago.

Kelly handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Kelly was recommended to me and I regret calling him. He was very responsive until he collected my money. As soon as he receives money from his clients he avoids them at all cost. He does not return calls or emails. He also discusses your private matters with anyone who will hear it. He showed me several personal cases of people with even being discreet enough to hide their names. Furthermore, he shared my own personal information with a friend who knew nothing of this private matter. When I asked him for a refund he just hide underneath his rock. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH HIM. He is the text book definition of why people hate attorneys.

If I continued to let this office handle my modification I would of lost my house

Posted by: a Real Estate client almost 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Kelly Johnson

I hired Kelly more than 3 years ago.

Kelly handled my Real Estate matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

He was hired to work on a home modification. I was making my payments, but his office advised me to miss payments that it would go faster. Needless to say my house went into foreclosure. They did nothing to save my house except advise me to go bankrupt. I would of lost my house 3 months later. I reinstated and worked with my lender on my own and received a modification several months ago. Mr. Johnson still has the Title to my home which was never returned to me. Many of the times Mr. Johnson states he spoke with my lender aren't true, confirmed by my lender. Very deceitful.

A great choice

Posted by: Jen, a Chapter 7 client almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Kelly Johnson

I hired Kelly more than 3 years ago.

Kelly handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I had a second generation, 49 years in business catering and event planning service. When the economy tanked my business went south so we decided to close until times got better. I needed a BK Lawyer and the only Lawyer I knew was an awesome one that was a past client of mine that was a defense attorney, so a year after his wedding reception I called and told him I needed a great BK lawyer so he gave Kelly Johnson's number I knew I would be in good hands! Boy was I right. His entire staff is awesome, I would call and get info from him right away, the only time I waited a bit to talk to him was if he was in court. He has a great personality, I felt as though we had been lifelong friends, he guided me through everything, I believe he went above and beyond what was required of him. The results turned out as they should have and I am still in need of his services for another matter and have just started up a new situation with him. When I saw the other reviews it made me so angry I had to set the record straight and defend his skills I would choose him over anyone else anyday..

Flaky "salesman"

Posted by: a Chapter 7 client almost 5 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Kelly Johnson

I hired Kelly more than 3 years ago.

Kelly handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Just made a bad situation worse for me. Doesn't return phone calls. Have to almost stalk him to get him to follow up.

Bad

Posted by: Esther, a Real Estate client about 5 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Kelly Johnson

I hired Kelly more than 3 years ago.

Kelly handled my Real Estate matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Paid the attorney in full upfront. Never heard from him directly, our house went into foreclosure and into REO. Constantly dodged calls, gave excuses for dropping the ball. I had to pester the attorney and his team to get a simple return phone call.