Darren Gordon Smith’s Reviews

Darren Gordon Smith

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Darren Gordon Smith has been very helpful with personal situations that have come up within our family within the last 9 years.

    Posted by David, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Smith was very helpful when our family was going through an illegal forclosure of our home in Orange, California. Mr. Smith was also very helpful in getting a lawsuit dismissed on our behalf concerning the city of Orange and a dirveway that was out of compliance with the city. On numerous occasions. Mr. Smith was available to answer legal questions where answers were needed for our family.

  2. Darren Smith - Expert lawyer helped in dealing with unscrupulous real estate transaction

    Posted by Charles, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Darren Smith to assist with a short sale on my condo when the property management company attempted to place a lien on the property. He was an amazing help. I could not deal with these people, they were unscrupulous, dishonest, and abrasive. Although I know that real estate matters are not necessarily Darren's forte, he was able to deal with these people in a professional and knowledgeable manner until the issue was resolved. I honestly do not know what I would have done without someone like Darren, whom I know had my back when issues with this sale, and specifically this company, come up.

    After a year of struggling, the short sale finally went through. I did not have to declare bankruptcy in order for the short sale to get approved, but if I had, I would definitely have called Darren. He is an extremely trustworthy lawyer AND person.

  3. Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Darren was very honest and professional and did everything he said he would do. He Took over everything and was reassuring to me thru-out the process. He was also sensitive when dealing with me.. who was an emotional wreck at the time. He releaved a tremendous amount of stress from a naturally stressful situation. He was very communicative and always called me back immediately whenever I needed anything! This is so different from most attorneys I have worked with in the past.. even talented ones.. They usually cannot be reached and are bad communicators. Darren is talented AND provides great service! He made everything happen that I needed to happen! He was able to get me 100% out of debt and he managed to include all of my IRS debt, that alone totaled over $100,000, completely discharged in a chapter 7! I would reccomend Darren for his knowledge, professionalism and his commitment to making big things happen. Thank you so much, Darren!!!

  4. An OUTSTANDING PERSON!

    Posted by Cosetta, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Darren is an absolute class act. He not only knows what he is doing but, he always kept me informed. My personal situation had some ridiculous circumstances. He always made me feel comfortable, like everything was going to be okay and that he would be there. He put my mind at ease at what was a very trying time. Nancy is also great! I would recommend and return to Darren should the need ever arise. I really can't say enough good about this man.

  5. Honest and Knowledgable Lawyer

    Posted by Karen, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren more than 3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have known Darren Smith for over 15 years. He has done work for me in the area of partnerships and business related matters. I have also referred him to many of my clients for real estate law and bankruptcy advice and services. He is extremely trustworthy and professional. I would recommend Darren to anyone. You won't be disappointed!

  6. Made a difficult situation much less stressful

    Posted by Eddie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Darren and his staff were great to work with. They communicated well and did an excellent job of explaining what was happening with my case, which was rather complex. They made a difficult situation much less stressful and their obvious expertise gave me great confidence that everything was going to transpire smoothly, which it did. I highly recommend Darren Gordon Smith.

  7. A great lawyer - a great team

    Posted by Kristine,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Not only is Mr. Smith a great lawyer, he is a good man. And his assistant (Nancy) is a doll. They are a great team. They were there for me on more than one occasion. I would recommend their office to anyone in need of a sound, caring lawyer.

  8. A quick painless fix to the long and painful problem

    Posted by Corrie, a Credit Repair client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Credit Repair matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Would I recommend this lawyer? Yes, yes and YES! Mr. Smith was invaluable in quickly and painlessly correcting a discrepancy in my mortgage agreement and credit report that I had been trying to correct for months. He was thorough and detailed, essentially taking over the reigns in a situation where I felt I was beating my head against the corporate wall. I can't recommend Darren Smith enough. He saved me and my mortgage with very little help from me. It's like finding a good doctor. I'll keep him.

  9. Darren did our two BKs superbly and kept creditors at bay. His tax advice was excellent.

    Posted by William, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren 1-3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    For more than 16 years we have gone to Darren Smith for all of our legal needs and he has ALWAYS either steered us to the RIGHT source or in most cases, he has taken on the work we needed done and performed brilliantly.

    In business, he has SAVED us money far exceeding his very fair legal fees. He's helped us with BKs, real estate, investments, sticky past divorces, investment counseling and much more.

    He always calls back the same day and is friendly, approachable, gregarious, respected by his peers and takes his work very seriously, though is not at all up-tight.

    You would like working with him. Both my wife and I have tremendous respect for him. Also, we have recommended Darren to many of our friends over the years, and they, too, have been impressed with his success in clearing up their problems, both big and small.

    We recommend Darren to anyone wanting an honest, fair, hard working attorney who does not charge you an arm and a leg for every little task.

  10. A most remarkable transformation

    Posted by William, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Darren Smith.
    • I hired Darren more than 3 years ago.
    • Darren handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We started with another attorney who had us feeling hopeless and guilty of our unforunate financial circumstances. Heck, the great ressession in 2007 happened to many people. A friend recommeded Darren and we found him to be knowledgable and supportive. He and his team treated us with compassion and respect. The process from start to finish was seamless and always professionally managed. We have recommeded Darren to many of our friends and will continue to do so.