David Wendell Seal’s Reviews

David Wendell Seal

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If you need an Attorney, Look no further...

    Posted by Freedom, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Absolutely Outstanding Attorney!!! David Seal is highly recommended. Professional, Committed, Timely, Intelligent, Trustworthy, Creative, Thorough... there are not enough adjectives to describe the quality of David's business. Thank you for your outstanding Service!!!!!!

  2. Good legal services !

    Posted by Robert Byron, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    In my experience with attorney David Seal, my father was being sued for half a million dollars by an ex business associate. My sister died on the same day that my father was served; he was destraut to say the least. He was also in his eighties at the time. I knew that I had to find some good protection for him and at an affordable rate. I knew David prior to the law suit; I had heard how he had helped other people , in the past, so I decided to give him a try.
    One of the things that particularly impressed me about attorney Seal was his willingness to come to our apartment to meet with my elderly father. The court case was very challenging, but we won the case. As far as I'm concerned, our victory, was in large part due to David's congeniality with my dad, his tenacious attention to detail, in the preparation of our case, and his sence of determination when the opportunity aroze to go in and make "the kill."
    I recomend the services of David Wendell Seal for anyone in need of competent and affordable legal services!

  3. MUST READ BEFORE HIRING THIS ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Attorney David Seal promised to assist me with my collateral complaint for trespassing and private nuisance for a business operated out of my rental apartment without a business license and home occupation permit. After the retainer agreement was signed and the $3,500 retainer check was cashed, I did not hear back from attorney Seal. I tried calling and emailing him but he is always busy working on other cases, personal health issues, and holiday vacation.

    The day before the statutory deadline to file suit for my case expired, he called me and told me that it is not the best use of his time to file an action for trespass and private nuisance. He then sent me an email confirming that I agreed to his recommendation. At this point, even if I disagreed with his recommendation, it is impossible for me to find another attorney to help me with my case. Attorney Seal should provide his clients sufficient notice of his decision not to pursue the case so the client can find another attorney. In any legal matter, time is of the essence. Attorney Seal accepted my money and promised to help me but he did not do anything. I lost my legal rights due to his failure to take action on the case and he did not provide me with advance notice to find a new attorney had I wanted to still pursue these causes of action.

    To make the matter worse, I asked him to provide me with his tax identification so I can issue him form 1099 for the $3,500 I paid him to comply with the IRS rules. I faxed and emailed him copy of IRS Form W-9 and instructions. He never got back to me. Now I am out $3,500 and I can’t even get a tax deduction for the money I paid him.

    I hope my review will help other to learn from my mistakes. If you are going to hire attorney Seal, I highly recommend paying a very small retainer fee and see if he actually follow through with what he promised. Pay the bills as the retainer is depleted to make sure you actually got legal services you paid for. If you don’t get any services, at least you lose out on a smaller amount. Also, get the form W-9 at the time the retainer agreement is signed and the initial retainer fee is paid. Once the check is cashed, you are out of luck with this attorney.

    1. David Wendell Seal

      David Seal

      Lawyer Comment:

      There are exactly two negative reports about our services on the internet, both from the same husband-wife duo. A full accounting of time was given, and since then, there has been no direct contact from them regarding their desire for a refund. They have been provided the required form for requesting fee arbitration, but as of yet, that hasn't taken place. We are quite willing to honor the decision of any fee arbitrator in this matter.

      This is a case that would be analogous to a paramedic trying to revive a seemingly dead person, only for the dead person to awake periodically and try to punch the paramedic in the face. This matter was nearly two years post judgment with a long and convoluted history. The client desired to pursue many ill-advised courses of action, such as filing lawsuits against the opposing attorney which were already barred by the statute of limitations (that expired several months before our first contact) or by attempting to re-litigate issues that had already been tried.

      As an attorney has a duty to provide his or her independent judgment, the problems with the clients' desired approach were explained, not just once, but many times to the clients. This was done far enough in advance of any deadlines that the clients could have taken their already - drafted complaint and filed it (either in pro per or with counsel). Sometimes a lawyer has to save clients from themselves and that is part of the benefit of having legal representation. Unfortunately that benefit isn't recognized by all, but in this case there was definite value, which far exceeded the amount of any retainer, to the client from the representation given.

      In many cases, we seek to reach fee agreements with clients that are very economical, in order to allow the client to pursue legal action within the clients' budget. We have an excellent track record, do not over bill, and provide regular communications, including providing personal cell phone and email contacts to current clients.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  4. Settlement Doubled in High Tech Layoff

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    David and his team were excellent at taking in all the information and giving me back the possibilities and probabilities of various legal scenarios.

    Basically doubled my layoff package without having to go to court.

    Would highly recommend for anyone, especially, tenured professionals affected by unjust or any type of termination!

  5. I'm very satisfied with David Seal

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    I hired David Seal to handle an employment case for me. He listened well to my complaint and agreed to take it on. He communicated well both by calling me and asking any questions while going over documents and also taking my calls if and when I had any concerns. I was able to attend some of the depositions of witnesses and could only listen in on them and was very impressed with the way David hammered with just the right questions. He really cornered the right witnesses into admitting wrongdoing and that was what my case was all about. I remember thinking that I was glad I was not in the hot seat on the other side of the table that David turned it into. I was very well satisfied with the outcome of my case due to Davids diligence. At the end of the settlement conference the judge stopped and told David that he " represented his client well". I got the impression that it is not often that a judge would stop and offer that kind of compliment. David got a friend for life for helping me like he did when I really needed it. The legal system can be a spooky place for someone like me who is not familiar with it so it was great to have Dave give me reassurance, answered all of my questions when I had them and brought it all to a successful conclusion. Can't do any better than that.

    1. David Wendell Seal

      David Seal

      Lawyer Comment:

      Jeff, thank you so much for the nice comments, and for being a great client, and after that, a good friend.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  6. Capable! Successful! No surprises! Gets the job done!

    Posted by Eric,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.

    Mr. Seal has represented us three times in three different situations, and has prevailed. One was the pursuit of legal malpractice against another attorney. One was an estate dispute involving malfeasance on the part of a bank. One was a fee dispute with another attorney. In each case I do not believe we could have realistically wished for more informative, more open, more capable, more personable, more practical, more realistic, or more articulate representation.

    1. David Wendell Seal

      David Seal

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Eric! It was a pleasure working with you and Charlene and if you should ever need a lawyer again in California (hopefully you don't) I would very much appreciate your consideration!

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  7. David Seal has been highly effective for me on more than one occasion, I highly recommend him

    Posted by Thomas Rambacher, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Real Estate matter.

    I have had the pleasure of having David Seal represent me on a couple of occasions and I couldn't be happier with the service I got. He communicated thoroughly, explained the processes to me, and in the end obtained excellent results. Mr. Seal helped me to avoid exposure in a real estate matter, quite effectively and quickly resolved a dispute with a rental tenant, and even helped to save my drivers license a few years back. His presentations were extremely effective and you know if he tells you something is the law, he is probably right about it! His fees were quite reasonable., too.

    1. David Wendell Seal

      David Seal

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Thomas! It was a pleasure working with you.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  8. Unresponsive

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    I was referred to Mr. Seal to litigate against a laundry company for abusive process of misrepresenting a laundry service contract as a lease of hiring real estate and to recover the legal fees expended in that case. After I signed the retainer agreement and paid the $3,500 retainer fee, I did not hear back from Mr. Seal. Each time I contacted him to find out the status of the case, he gives me excuses and delays. He makes promises but does not follow through. After I terminated his services and requested for fee refunds, he sent me an invoice for 20 hours of work that are in bulk hours, vague description of work done, unsubstantiated and unsupported by any legal work products. During the short time I retained his services, he did not file a single court document, prepare any brief, make any court appearances, and provide any legal research materials relevant to the laundry service contract. I hope this review will help others to review his retainer agreement carefully and they may want to hire another attorney to review it before signing and paying the retainer fee since the retainer agreement is very complicated for a non-lawyer to understand.

    1. David Wendell Seal

      David Seal

      Lawyer Comment:

      While we strive to make all of our clients happy, unfortunately that does not always happen. As a professional I cannot debate the substance of the post, other than to say I disagree, but wish you luck going forward. If you have an issue with any aspect of the accounting, I am happy to discuss that offline.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  9. Great Results, Expert, High Integrity

    Posted by Jalal, a Copyright client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Copyright Infringement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It is a great pleasure for me to recommend Mr. Seal. He has been able to achieve great results for me as my attorney. All I can say is that he is an outstanding Lawyer and extremely a conscientious and caring person in handling cases. His meticulous approach and extraordinary diligence and perseverance through out the case is a rare attribute of his that enables him to negotiate successful resolutions for his clients.”

    1. David Wendell Seal

      David Seal

      Lawyer Comment:

      Jalal - Thank you for the very nice comment. I miss the days of taking on Luce, Forward with you. One couldn't ask for a better client than you, and I have to say that working with you has made me a better lawyer and a better person. If you get this message, please give me a call so we can catch up. (949) 529-1090.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  10. enthusiastic and hard working

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Seal.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David communicated regularly and worked very hard to get me a good result.

    1. David Wendell Seal

      David Seal

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for appreciating my services.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

Call now for a free consultation.

949-529-1090