James Kasper Ulwelling’s Reviews

James Kasper Ulwelling

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Best of the Best Lawyer

    Posted by Sally, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Ulwelling.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Real Estate matter.

    There are no words to describe how great Jim is! I was in desperate need to find another attorney to help with my Real Estate matter. Luckily, I met Jim’s associate, Tom, who referred me to Jim. Even though it was completely last minute, Jim set aside his time to meet with me for an hour to go over my case. He listened patiently while I went over the matter with him. Not only is he professional, but he truly cares about his clients. For instance, when he met with me, he knew I was stressed. Instead of just focusing on the case, he asked me to breathe and relax. He made sure that I was OK before we proceeded. He is so knowledgeable on the matter and asked me great questions to make the case stronger. Jim knew where and what information to look for from all the documents I had with me (and I had huge stacks of docs too). Jim did a great job in constructing the cancellation letter and putting pressures on the other side. At the end, the other side knew that they did not have any grounds to sue me based on the cancellation letter that Jim put together. Not only that, Jim made sure that I got all my money back that I have wired to the Escrow office.

    I’m so grateful and please that Jim resolved the matter within a week. I was so stressed but after meeting with him, he helped relieved a lot of my stress and gave me a positive outlook in this matter. Jim is very professional and always made sure that I’m in the loop on all communications. He is truly the best I have seen so far. I would recommend Jim if anybody needs a lawyer. Kudos to him and his work!

  2. An attorney you can trust - represented us on Auto accident case on the defendant side

    Posted by Karen, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Ulwelling.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We were looking for an attorney we could trust, and Jim came highly recommended. Jim represented us in a car accident case, where the plaintiff's attorney was initially requesting a very large settlement amount. We felt very comfortable and relieved after meeting with Jim at his office. He responded to emails and phone calls very quickly and was extremely knowledgeable, professional and efficient in consulting with us as needed. I really felt he was there for us, and he spent the time we needed to come up with the best strategy, in collaboration with our insurance company and their attorney. The case ended up going well, and we are very grateful. I give Jim my highest recommendation and will call him again if we ever need any legal advice! Thanks Jim!

  3. Exceptional Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Ulwelling.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.

    Attorney Ulwelling represented my family in a complicated real estate matter. While I am extremely pleased with the outcome (we prevailed), I am really impressed with Mr. Ulwelling's process, his ethics, and his business style. He quickly grasped the situation, applied the law along with his own sense of reasonableness, and proceeded to an expedient resolution. He always had my family's best interests as his foremost concern. Mr. Ulwelling turned what could have been a protracted and expensive process into a quick and reasonable one. Further, he was communicative, trustworthy, and exceptionally responsive. I am very grateful to Mr. Ulwelling for his service to my family.

  4. Endorsement for the Attorney Skills of Jim Ulwelling

    Posted by Toni, a Financial Services client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Ulwelling.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Financial Markets And Services matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I would recommend without reservation the legal services of Jim Ulwelling. I had the incredibly good fortune to have Jim represent my interests as a client as well as the interests of the organization with which I was affiliated. Jim exhibited a level of skill, professionalism, work ethic and diligence that I have personally never experienced. I have had the opportunity to work with other attorneys and Jim’s representation was unique and exceptional. Preliminarily, Jim was able to secure the ultimate result that I was seeking which was a dismissal with prejudice of the entire action against all parties including but not limited to myself. However, to simply state the result which was obtained would be to grossly understate the effort which was required on Jim’s part to obtain this result. Jim was up against a highly assertive adversary in this situation which required him to utilize virtually every skill in an attorney’s arsenal including but not limited to detailed legal research, incredibly strategic litigation tactics, legal argument, etc. Jim exemplified all of these skills throughout his representation but was at all times sensitive to cost issues and did his best to minimize these.

    Jim made me feel at all times as though winning the case became a personal mission for him which instilled even greater confidence than I already had in his fine representation.

    If anyone is seeking an attorney who will truly immerse himself in his client’s case with genuine authenticity, you have found that individual in Jim Ulwelling. I recommend that you entrust your matter to this fine individual of incomparable skill and work ethic.

  5. Excellent Experience

    Posted by Mike, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Ulwelling.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We went to Jim with a tenant problem involving an eviction. The initial interview was very through and a plan to deal with the tenant was developed. All calls and e-mails were responded to very quickly. Jim's emphasis was on solving the problem in a timely, realistic and economical manner. I would highly recommend this attorney and would definitely use him again.

  6. Lawyer who thinks about his clients first!

    Posted by JET, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Ulwelling.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James K. Ulwelling and his team are the best in the business. We were amazed at the preparation, organization, and tenacity James and his staff exhibited. Realistic expectations were always set, and his flare for strategy was excellent! Our business felt confident in his hands! We were pleased to have him as part of our team, and will continue to recommend his services!

  7. The best attorney you can find

    Posted by Wayne, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Ulwelling.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have known Jim for the past 10 years during which time he has acted as my lawyer in both business and personal matters. We are general contractors that do both commercial and residential construction.

    His best work so far has been in the matter of a lawsuit that another attorney had been handling for 4 years before I had met Jim. Jim took the lawsuit over two years ago and I just received my settlement check! This was definitely his best work in a very difficult real estate case.

    I would highly recommend Jim Ulwelling to anyone looking for an excellent attorney. I have referred many business associates as well as friends to him and everyone has been pleased with his work.

    I have only known Jim to be very honest, fair, knowledgeable, personable and has always acted with the utmost integrity throughout my 10 year relationship with him.

  8. trustworthy and responsive all the time

    Posted by johanna, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Ulwelling.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    was treated as if i was a high dollar customer. always returned my calls in a timely matter. he is very knowledgeable about real estate law. he got me through a complicated real estate transaction.

  9. Absolutely THE best attorney we've ever used!

    Posted by Don (M.B.A.), a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Ulwelling.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jim has handled our legal matters for several of our companies as well as our personal legal issues. He is absolutely positively THE best attorney we've ever used, ALWAYS putting our interests FIRST which quite honestly is EXTREMELY rare these days. Jim takes the time to understand the legal issue then asks what result WE'RE looking for and then does everything in his power to achieve OUR goals instead of focusing on "billable hours" like a lot of other attorneys do.

    Jim also understands and focuses on the DOLLARS and SENSE (no pun intended) of legal issues and disputes, reminding us to forget Right and Wrong (a usually EXTREMELY and EXPENSIVE approach to legal problems) and instead focus on WHAT MAKES SENSE. Jim also doesn't invoke the typical NASTY attorney approach which simple fans the flames of a dispute which almost always benefits the attorneys, NOT the clients. Instead he does a great job of keeping everyone, including opposing counsel and clients, in perspective to get problems RESOLVED both QUICKLY and INEXPENSIVELY.

    Jim's represented us as both plaintiffs and defendants in both lawsuits and arbitrations, ALL meeting or exceeding our expectations... while staying within our budgets... something we've never experienced with the multitude of other attorneys we've interacted during the last 29+ years of commercial real estate brokerage and multiple business ownerships.

    EVERY client who we've recommended Jim to has been not only satisfied but feels the same way about Jim as we do. We consider him as family when it comes to trust and WHOLEHEARTEDLY recommend Jim to everyone we know.

    Give Jim a call and see what it like to be represented by THE BEST!