Back to David’s Profile

Client Review

David has received 5 client reviews

IRS Audit

Posted by: OCRealtor, a Tax client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Good
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend David Klasing

I hired David more than 3 years ago.

David handled my Tax matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

My husband and I are real estate agents and were under audit for 2006 & 2007 in an “egg shell audit” against our preparer. When we first met with our preparer he presented us brochures touting that he could reduce any client’s tax liability by at least 40%, had lines out the door and came highly recommended. He advised us that his strategy was completely legal. He created 1 California S Corp and 4 Nevada C Corps. He had us use a different fiscal year end for each C Corp, staggered with year ends of 3/15, 6/15, 9/15 & 12/31. He advised us to stagger income out from the CA S Corp to the NV C Corps as management fees. He also advised us to place our yacht into one of the NV C Corps and illegally deduct it as business expenses. An E.A. advised us to stonewall the IRS. This resulted in the IRS taxing all income in the audited CA S Corp while disallowing all expenses which had the IRS attempting to assess $250K. They started to expand the audit to the NV Corps, which would have greatly expanded our own criminal tax exposure for acting on the horrible advice we were given. We hired David just as the assessment was about to be finalized and thus legally collectible. David informed us that the strategy illegally reduced our taxes by ignoring the controlled group election rules for the corps. It illegally ignored CA income taxes of the 4 NV C Corps and the management fees were sham transactions. David filed an appeal and the through the appeals process negotiated audit reconsideration for us. He negotiated our own criminal tax exposure away through total and absolute cooperation with the IRS and by amending all subsequent years’ returns that had followed the same “scheme”. The IRS used the information gained during our new audit to build a criminal case against our preparer who is currently being charged with aiding and abetting income tax evasion. We are very grateful to David. We highly recommend David Klasing and believe he is a superb Tax Attorney.

Tax Issues Resolved

Posted by: a Tax client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Klasing

I hired David 1-3 years ago.

David handled my Tax matter.

I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

I own a multi-million dollar business and I came to Dave with an accounting nightmare; poor records, disorganized books and tax liabilities into the 100’s of thousands of dollars going back several years. My situation could have gotten very ugly without proper professional help. Dave and his team went to work untangling my books and cleaning up my accounting, including the production and filing of amended returns. Dave placed himself between me and the IRS for the entire process; I never had to directly deal with the IRS or any other agency. As can be imagined, this was a nerve racking experience and Dave’s confident, reassuring nature helped me tremendously in getting through it. I’m very satisfied with the quality of service I received from Dave and his team and I recommend them without reservation.

Great Tax Specialist

Posted by: a Tax client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend David Klasing

I hired David 1-3 years ago.

David handled my Tax matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I highly recommend David for his services. I still do not know how he managed to handle the "mess" I presented him with, but he did it very successfully. I was being audited by the IRS, for the first time, and the stress level was high. I had never dealt with that before and I am definitely not an accounting guy. The original tax estimate that I had to pay was roughly 70K with no penalties. In this economy and with a non-working wife and a baby I was freaking out. David and Anne spend a lot of time gathering all the documents and properly reviewing for the audit. It did take us 2 month to collect everything but we were able to present a good case. I was actually interviewed by the IRS myself with David present. It took exactly 3 months from start to finish to get the final verdict which was outstanding. David managed to get me a refund one of the years and pay only 10K for the other year in question. Overall my net liability was 3K, signed and sealed. My wife and I could not be happier and that's why we are staying with David from now on as out accountant and tax specialist. Thank you Dave and Anne!

The right attorney for the job.....

Posted by: a Tax client about 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Klasing

I hired David more than 3 years ago.

David handled my Tax matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I came to Dave and his associates with a complex issue regarding a non-profit. Others may have looked at it as hopeless. They recognized our service to the community, and committed to help us resolve our tax problem. I found Dave and his associates to be knowledgeable, kind and hardworking people that know tax law inside and out. They were very sensitive to our request to find a solution so that we could continue to help the community. With their assistance, we were able to immediately open the channels of communication and start on the path to resolution of the tax issue. I am immensely grateful for thier help.

Top Notch Tax Attorney

Posted by: Krisztian Romvari, a Tax client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend David Klasing

I hired David more than 3 years ago.

David handled my Tax matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

After getting an audit notice from the IRS I googled tax attorneys and found David. I called him and he immediately impressed me with his expert advice and confident approach. After meeting with him the next day, my wife and I were 100% certain that we choose the right man for the job. My audit was handled via mail and the dreaded face to face in person probing was avoided. Without David, we would have been in a much different position. He follows up to your requests quickly and professionally, which is very important in my book. I am certain it was his experience and confidence in dealing with our auditor that kept us out of the IRS building. I strongly recommend him, in fact he is our new tax preparer, he promised to keep us out of trouble from now on.