Staycie Renee Sena’s Reviews

Staycie Renee Sena

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney, worth every dime!

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Staycie Sena.
    • I hired Staycie 6-12 months ago.
    • Staycie handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Helped my son with a traffic ticket. Got the fine reduced and traffic school. We hope that this is last time we need a criminal defense attorney, but if it's not, we will definitely call Staycie Sena first and will refer her.

  2. Caring lawyer that stood by me and fought hard

    Posted by Rip, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Staycie Sena.
    • I hired Staycie 1-3 years ago.
    • Staycie handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Like you, I had read tons and tons of these reviews before hiring the right lawyer. I met with a grand total of 7 lawyers before deciding that Stacy was the right one. Now, after having been caught up in the system for almost a year and a half, I can honestly say that hiring her was one of the best decisions of my life. First, I will say, it can be difficult to choose a lawyer based on what these reviews say. I think that people second guess their lawyers after-the-fact, based on what they hear other people in their classes or at the jail say. What I want to tell you (and what you can trust from this review) is that this lawyer really cared about me and how things turned out. I called her on her cell phone and she took my calls, she was understanding when my payments were late and she really understood what happened in my case and explained to me what was going to happen BEFORE anything happened. I have seen the way people treat their lawyers in court and it makes me wonder why Stacy would want to do this kind of work, but a couple of trips to court with her and I got it. She cares. She felt I was being railroaded just like my family did. And she stayed with me until we got a deal that was much more fair. I could tell that the prosecutors and judges respect her and I really am thankful that I shopped around until finding her.

  3. I would not recommend her

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Staycie Sena.
    • Staycie handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    On the day in court, just before handing the papers to the judge on my behalf she showed me the papers. I noticed that only two of the three charges were on the paperwork. She had "forgotten" the third charge (which she had told me in our initial consultation she was confident she could have dismissed). She quickly scribbled it onto the paper and handed it in. The judge did NOT dismiss the charge because Staycie didn't even ask the judge to. She did not have the judge order house arrest for 2nd DUI. She did not help me obtain house arrest. I had to do all that leg work (and it's A LOT) on my own. I've since heard from many other people that their lawyer got all of that taken care of for them. Additionally, there are ways to get a house arrest sentence reduced, none of which Staycie told me about. I, again, found that out on my own. She had a total of four clients that I could see at the same courthouse with the same judge on the same day. I was under the impression that I would have someone on my side fighting for me. Not pick a number and be one of many (which seems to have resulted in an unprepared and scatter brained attorney). I would NOT go with this attorney for a DUI matter. She takes on too many clients and is not focused. It's all about money and numbers with her. Go somewhere else. I wish I had.

    1. Staycie Renee Sena

      Staycie Sena

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client would not have been eligible for the program that she references because of particular circumstances in the case. Her case was intentionally "stacked" with other cases so that the DA would pay less attention to it than if it had been the sole case that we were appearing on. This was a case with serious aggravating circumstances.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  4. Cruel and Unusual Punishment

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Staycie Sena.
    • I hired Staycie 1-3 years ago.
    • Staycie handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mrs Sena was my second attorney. My First attorney told me to shut up and take the deal. After 50K in retainer fees it was obvious that he was only out to take all my money. The DA slipped in a TRO so I wasn't able to visit my children for 10 years. My attorney didn't care about anything other then finishing my case and moving on and collecting more money from another sucker.

    Mrs Sena reviewed my case and gave no false promises. She admitted that there were some problems and she would do her best to resolved the issue regarding my kids.

    I was able to witness an attorney fight for my rights. She fought the DA who was unfair and obviously personally involved in my case.

    Sena was able have the TRO removed and now I'm back in family court fighting to see my kids. She cares about her cases.

  5. Great lawyer - smart, professional and personable!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Staycie Sena.
    • I hired Staycie 1-3 years ago.
    • Staycie handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Ms. Sena was able to get my DUI case dismissed. She was very professional while still being nice and approachable. I had a lawyer in the past who was intimidating and arrogant. She's not like that at all. She helped me feel at ease and I could trust her. She responded in a timely manner to my questions and kept me in the loop on my case.

  6. Best in Irvine, OC area!

    Posted by EJC, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Staycie Sena.
    • I hired Staycie 1-3 years ago.
    • Staycie handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    She knows her stuff! She works hard! And she ensures that you'll be taken care of.
    I was charged with domestic violence crime (2 felonies! Can you believe that?) against my ex-boyfriend who attacked me in my sleep, while I was naked in bed and she immediately assured me that I won't go back to jail and that we can get the case dismissed. I've never been charged with anything in my life before, so I was clearly freaked out. So Staycie told me what evidence to collect (thank God for photos of the bruises he gave me and the pictures of my ex's body with the self-defense scratches I gave him with a pen when he didn't let go of me and was about to break my wrists) and she put a big box of presentation together for the tough D.A. (including internet posts/proof that my ex was very aggressive and was trained in Martial Arts as well as a Personal Trainer) and she negotiated it down to a dismissal after 10-12 classes of Anger Management Probation approved classes and a $200 donation to Victim Witness Unit. It took less than 4 months too! Now I can continue with my life and apply to other high-prospect jobs and travel! Thank you, Staycie! Keep up the good work!

  7. Awesome attorney!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Staycie Sena.
    • I hired Staycie 6-12 months ago.
    • Staycie handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Great lawyer, she is very understanding and kept me well informed. She actually went above and beyond for me and I am very great full. I would recommend Staycie to anyone that is looking for an attorney that stays on top of things.

  8. DV case, no charge was filed

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Staycie Sena.
    • I hired Staycie 1-3 years ago.
    • Staycie handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I was arrested for DV a month ago. I have interviewed several attorneys before Staycie. All other attorneys told me it was hard to have the case dismissed before the arraignment. Staycie told me a special strategy she will use to make the DA's office not to file any charge. This strategy had turned out good results several times before my case. She was very knowledge about how the legal system in orange county worked, and explained that very well to me ( who was unfamiliar with the area ). It was the special strategy and my first impression of her that made me to hire her to help me pass through the unexpected darkness in my life.

    About one month later, it turned out that I made the right decision. DA's office told me that they had rejected the case and returned the paperwork to the agency. Up to now, no charge was filed against me, no arraignment was scheduled, I did not even have to go to the court.

    I also want to mention that during last month, I needed to talk to my school about my case, because the police also reported the DV incident to my school. Staycie gave me good suggestions about how to talk with the officer in my school, such that I could avoid sanction from my school.

    I would highly recommend Staycie if you were involved in a DV case.

  9. Amazing

    Posted by Jade, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Staycie Sena.
    • I hired Staycie 1-3 years ago.
    • Staycie handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Staycie is amazing. She got my case dismissed and literally saved my life. She's very trustworthy and extremely smart. Reasonable price for the work she does. I would highly recommend her to anyone, in fact I keep her cards in my purse.

  10. Go elsewhere

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Staycie Sena.
    • I hired Staycie 1-3 years ago.

    If your life is on the line, and it probably is if you're looking for her services, go elsewhere. She may tout her excellent Stanford credentials, but she is impersonal and unprofessional, and ultimately, she cares more about getting paid than getting you results. She is unprofessional (she showed up late to the hearing, leaving me very worried about what to expect--the judge was clearly annoyed). That was for the first crime charged (the first for me ever in over 3 decades). I had no idea I could be viewed as such a terrible person. I went through depression just because of how the whole process made me feel.

    People charged with crimes "enjoy" a very unique position in society: they are presumed guilty by police, which can lead to harassment by law enforcement. This occurred. My Fourth Amendment Constitutional rights were violated in an illegal search and seizure, during which inadmissible evidence was obtained to further prosecute. She did not file a Motion to Suppress, as requested (explaining it would only "anger" a judge). She did not attempt to amend the record to reflect disputed facts. She did not review the police report in the months prior to the hearing (only in the last minutes, after she showed up late). She failed to obtain a copy of the evidence for me. I have been a very clean-nosed citizen, and never was it my intention to place myself in a situation where I could be charged with a crime. I do not fit the profile of the criminal the prosecution and police made me out to be. Even the alleged "victim" was completely on my side. Ms. Sena claimed that did not matter, and that person's testimony would be defeated if the case went to trial. I believe that is NOT true; I believe I had a strong case with MULTIPLE affirmative defenses.

    The reporting officers were unconcerned with an accurate telling of the facts (facts were manipulated and distorted--it's true that "[a]nything you say can and will be used against you . . ."). Ms. Sena did not even take testimony of the ONLY (key) witness to the alleged event. After the initial charging complaint, I was unlucky enough to be out late on an errand to get gas. Ran out of gas in a neighborhood not my own. Had to walk 3 miles round trip to an ATM to get cash for a gas tank and a gallon of gas. As I was getting in my car, an officer stopped me. I refused to answer questions. After running my name (and discovering the still pending charges), he searched the vehicle without consent, and found something to charge me with. This is not how our society is supposed to work. Did she care about my Constitutional rights being violated? Of course not! She's not a Constitutional rights lawyer.

    So the DA decided to "marry" the two cases together, as though they were one. I had a GREAT chance of defeating the first, most serious charge by itself. With the later, lesser charge added, I felt I had no chance if they were to be tried together. I did not find out until much later (after resolution) that under rules of civil procedure, an attorney may file a motion to sever cases, which she should have done. She should have tried the cases separately, but I felt like she was trying to get me to accept a plea (and therefore guilt and punishment) because she believed I could not pay for a trial at the time, which I couldn't. To her credit, she did negotiate with the DA to get the original complaint dropped in 6 months prior to picking up the second charge, but upon picking up the new charge, the DA refused to negotiate further and reinstated the charge. However, Ms. Sena, completely unconcerned with my situation, demanded a new retainer, which I struggled to pay. She is not a good trial lawyer because she won't even try to fight your case, even if it's strong, unless she knows you have money up front. Long story short, I may become a lawyer just because of how awful she was. Defendants deserve better representation than what she has to offer. Look for good client-rated attorneys instead.

    1. Staycie Renee Sena

      Staycie Sena

      Lawyer Comment:

      We worked very hard on this case for several years and all of the charges were dismissed. The Rules of Civil Procedure do not, of course, apply in a criminal case. Other legal matters are erroneously referenced here as well.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

Graduate, Stanford Law School. Numerous cases dismissed. Free Consultation Now.

949-477-8088