Richard Gaines Heston’s Reviews

Richard Gaines Heston

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Heston and Heston helped me start over

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Heston.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Going through a separation and bankruptcy at the same time was very stressful for us. However, Mr. Heston and his staff handled our case so efficiently, courteously and perfectly, it relieved so much of the stress from the process. While a family breakup is never easy or optimal, at least at this point we can face our future with a fresh start and begin rebuilding.

    We received regular follow up from the team, were lead throught he process without being confused and in the end, received the result we sought. Filing bankruptcy is a very hard decision and one we didn't take lightly. Richard helped me go through the process without too much stress.

  2. Mr. Heston and Mr. Blanco are simply the BEST

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Heston.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Like most people, I was embarrased and ashamed for seeking the "easy way out." Mr. Heston helped me through such a difficult financial hardship. Their Paralegal, Elmer Blanco, was also one of the "main" person who helped me tremendously. He was great. He made the whole process easy for me. He was knowledgeable and very attentative. When he becomes an attorney, he will be a great one- just like Mr. Heston. Both of them were just awesome. Thank you to them- I have a fresh start.

  3. Highest recommendation , no I'm not family

    Posted by Michael, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Heston.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Heston made us feel relaxed from the moment we met him. I was embarrased to be there to ask about and file bankruptcy. Mr Heston really took the time to fully explain every step to us. He also helped relieve the fear of doing all this, and really helped us see that we are not alone. He was responsive when we called or sent emails. The entire staff, especially April at the front desk, was friendly and professional. Mr Heston also showed up himself at the Bankruptcy hearing, not some representative on his behalf. It really helped to have him with us. As I mentioned in my title, I highly recommend him.

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by sheryl, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Heston.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had an urgent bankruptcy question and needed an answer fast and accurate. Richard was both. I would highly recommend Richard Heston.

  5. Very Dependable!!

    Posted by Rudy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Heston.

    Back in 2000 when we were looking for a lawyer to assist us on finding relief from our financial problems through legal process, we were genuinely so lost and so confused struggling about personal doubts, question of trust and worried of being mislead. At the time, there were no easily available online reviews. All we found was advertising of lawyers with their own words of assurances, guaranties and how good they are. Finally, with no recommendations, we settled to talk to Heston and Heston while crossing our fingers. We got an appointment to sit down with Mr. Heston for a free consultation and during that encounter, Mr. Heston spent a long amount of time interviewing us for facts and explaining the legal process that we will go through along the way. Eventually if we will use them as legal counsel, we also talked about their legal fees which we truly believe was affordable. At the end of the interview, we became so comfortable with Mr. Heston and decided to hire them as our legal counsel. It was a sound decision.

    Mr. Heston was our lawyer on our first case in 2000 which was successfully discharged, and now on a second case filed 3 years ago and currently active for another 2 years and so far moving to our favorable expectations. From the beginning of our professional relationship, Mr. Heston and his team are always outstanding on dealing with us and always fully coordinated on attending to our legal needs. We are very thankful for his words of advices which he will always explain in detail with their corresponding positive or negative results. Recently, because of common financial problems due to loss of job, we also started the process of having our real estate loan modified and along the process we somewhat got into some legal complications detrimental to us. Mr. Heston came to our rescue and performed his role as our lawyer promptly communicating with our real estate loan company and their lawyers to stop a motion that they have earlier filed against us. This communication resulted to another motion (of withdrawal) filed by the company lawyers but this time to our favor. Our worries were unimaginable but Mr. Heston with his actions turned these worries into greater relief.

    One thing noticeable with Mr. Heston, he politely emphasizes the importance of the role of the client in the legal process like performing their responsibility of providing him useful information or the prompt submission of required documentations. We think that is fair. We will highly recommend Mr. Heston to our friends and family.

  6. MY EXPERIENCE -- I have nothing to gain from this, just being honest & don't want anyone else to get hurt :(

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Richard Heston.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Details are private. But, in short, I entered into an agreement. I didn't read the fine print, as I trusted him and was referred by a friend, and was also in time of personal duress (ergo, the Attorney, right?...). Well, the agreement said there would be a large fee charged if we had to take a different course of action. And we did need to, and I had to pay.

    What bugs me is I KNOW this guy is super smart, and I can't figure out why he "assured" me that a certain course of action was going to work, when from FORMULA CALCULATIONS, it would NOT work. I know this from retrospect, now that everything's over, years later.

    Again, it was all "legal," meaning he is (legally) an "innocent" man. But, I would NOT recommend him to anyone, and I feel hurt and feel he took advantage of me.

    1. Richard Gaines Heston

      Richard Heston

      Lawyer Comment:

      If this reviewer had actually been a client, I would be distressed by the negative comments, and take whatever steps were necessary to ensure that the client was satisfied. As the review originally was posted at www.yelp.com anonymously, with only initials and the city of residence disclosed, I replied privately to the reviewer to request that he or she directly contact me so that I could take steps to remedy the problem. However, whoever this person is, he or she failed to respond in any manner whatsoever. Upon further review of my own records dating back to 1998, I determined that I had not represented any individual residing in Long Beach, California with the initials of the reviewer during the past 14 years. Further, upon examining the reviews of the 91 other businesses and professionals he or she has reviewed on Yelp, I noted that the vast majority (69%) were given negative 1-star ratings, and that 85% of businesses reviewed were given a 2-star or lower rating. In addition, the odd mix of services appears questionable, as the reviewer has posted negative comments concerning manicure services most frequently associated with women consumers, and put up a posting concerning a surgical vasectomy procedure, a service exclusively associated with men. I would hope that users of Avvo would consider the numerous favorable reviews others have posted. In addition, I have been honored as one of Orange County's Top Lawyers by OC Metro Magazine for the past three years, and I hold the AV rating, the highest ethical rating awarded by Martindale-Hubbell, the nation's oldest attorney rating service, which can be viewed at http://www.martindale.com.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Thankful

    Posted by Phillip, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Heston.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The whole crew at Heston & Heston were so helpful and supportive during my bankrupty procedure. They fully understood my situation and explained the whole procedure.

    Thanks I feel so much better now and am relieved.

  8. Annulment case based on fraud.

    Posted by Dinesh, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Heston.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a U.S. Citizen and I was a victim of marriage fraud. I married a girl from India, sponsored her to U.S. When she received her Green Card, she left me and filled for a divorce. I was heartbroken, emotional, shocked and surprised. I wanted to fight the case and I wanted annulment based on Fraud. I was having very hard time finding attorneys who have the knowledge of handling such cases that are related to Green Card. I spoke with Mr. Heston and because of his knowledge on the subject I hired him. The case took place at Lamoreaux Justice Center, in Orange, CA. During the course, Mr. Heston kept in touch with me regarding what is happening, prepared declarations, statements and filed a motion of bifurcation that resulted in quicker trial and kept me well informed of what is going on. A day before the trial, he prepared me well for the trial and prepared statements and the evidence he will be presenting. I won the trial and I am very glad this chapter in my life is over and my marriage has been erased. I highly recommend this attorney because of his knowledge, professionalism, and I felt he truly fought the case for me. I am very happy I picked him for my case.

  9. Regarding referral from the Public Law Center

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Heston.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have only good things to say about the experience I had with Mr. Heston and his staff from the first appointment to the court appearance. Everyone was very helpful and considerate as well as professional.
    At this stage of my life, and financial predicament; the pro bono help was a blessing.

  10. Bankruptcy Filing

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Heston.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Heston is incredibly knowledgeable in the area of bankruptcy law and provided very constructive and useful information to us. He was very professional yet personable and definitely provided us with high-quality service. I would highly recommend him and don't think any other lawyer would have provided such great advice and help. He is also very well known in Orange County and highly regarded.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

949-222-1041