Christopher J Whelton’s Reviews

Christopher J Whelton

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. WE WILL FOREVER BE GRATEFUL, ATTORNEY WHELTON!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher 6-12 months ago.
    • Christopher handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Our world was turned upside down after our son was charged with 5 serious felonies and the possibility of an 18 year state prison sentence due to a DUI, causing serious injury, with prescription pain medication in his blood.

    We didn’t know where to turn for professional help, but after reviewing the AVVO attorneys’ website, we made the best decision of our life by choosing Attorney Whelton!

    With his outstanding knowledge of the law, he rallied for months, convincing the DA, Judge and the court system that our son was not a “typical felon”. He made one very bad choice to drive while impaired, which resulted in these terrible charges, but he deserved to be given another chance at life. Atty. Whelton presented multiple letters of good character references, as well as exceptional military service and awards or son received while in the military. Due to these charges, his entire 12 year exemplary military career was lost, along with all future benefits!

    Attorney Whelton is very honest, ethical and thorough! He patiently and clearly answered all our questions (and there were many throughout this ordeal), no matter how many times we called him, or stopped by his office. Attorney Whelton gave us his cell phone number and returned our multiple text messages, e-mails, and phone calls. He even returned our urgent text message on a SUNDAY! Who does that? He will tell you the law, the facts, and all possible outcomes in great detail, not just what you want to hear.

    In the final moments, while facing the judge prior to sentencing, the DA produced a last minute letter, which could have seriously affected the judges ruling. In the judge’s chambers, Chris was able to persuade the judge to disregard the letter, and stick to her previous promise to the family, that our son would not go to state prison if he completed a four-month county rehab program, and followed strict terms of probation!

    Chris Whelton achieved the best possible outcome! WOW! From a possible 18 years in PRISON, to one year in County Jail (including the four-month county rehab program) and probation.

    We can never thank you enough, Attorney Whelton!

  2. honest and a great help!!!!

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher 1-6 months ago.
    • Christopher handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    i called chris with concerns about my case and was ready to retain him as my lawyer and just needed a few minutes to get my down payment ready. i called back with credit card in hand ready to pay and chris gets on the line. he had already called the district attorney to get info on my case(he started working immediately for me)and what happened next was amazing. he could of taken my down payment and ran with my money but he was honest and very ethical when he informed me that the district attorney was not going to file my case! he could have gotten an easy pay day but he did the right thing and told me about it and saved me and my family so much money and for that i will always be grateful for an attorney like him. most will just take your money and run but chris is a stand up honest guy i reccomend to anyone!

  3. Awesome, couldn't be more pleased

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    When I was arrested i thought my life was over. I had never been in trouble with the law before, lived an outstanding life serving in the community, and had a "slip up". So i did a little research and found Attorney Whelton. During the consultation he was very upfront and honest. He is a STRAIGHT shooter. He will tell you the facts, not what you want to hear, which i respect. I was arrested on felony charges and pleaded guilty to a disturbing the peace misdemeanor. The DA and judge said that they had never seen this happen before with my circumstances (swat was called to my house, I was passed out drunk, but noone knew that). Attorney Whelton gave me his cell number and returned my multiple text messages, phone calls and questions. I stopped by his office and his staff was very friendly and helpful. He is not only a great lawyer but an upstanding guy. i would highly recommend attorney Whelton.
    His fees are very reasonable and they are accomodating as well!!!

  4. He saved my life!

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher 6-12 months ago.
    • Christopher handled my Child Abuse matter.

    My world was turned upside down after being charged with two felonies and in need of a lawyer, so I hired Attorney Whelton. I am a real person, with real life issues, never been in trouble, no criminal record and I was facing charges that challenged the very core of who I am. My story is real. What I went through was very emotional and left my spirit broken. I am a licensed professional and was facing two felonies, possible jail time and the possibility of losing my professional license which is my family's livelihood. Words CAN NOT describe enough what a unique individual Attorney Whelton is, and his outstanding knowledge of the law. He exhibited compassion, was non-judgmental, persistent, consistent, honest, dedicated, hard-working, and he truly believed in me and my case. He went above and beyond what a lawyer would do for ANY client. He set up a special meeting for me with the District Attorney! When does that EVER happen? He rallied for me for months convincing, the DA, Judge and the court system that I deserved to be given another chance at life. He did that for me. A single mother who really didn't have a leg to stand on. I left the court with two misdemeanors. Misdemeanors!!!!! I literally walked away from two strikes (Three strikes Law). Just because you pay for a lawyer doesn't always mean they will be able to provide you with the best outcome. Attorney Whelton defended me until the end, by my side, and allowed me to reclaim my life. I will forever be in debt to him! I truly mean this from the bottom of my heart.

  5. Honest, quick, and professional

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Attorney Whelton was very professional, explained everything very thoroughly (appreciated this since it was my first time in any sort of 'trouble' and I was sorta lost as to what to do), quick, knowledgeable, and overall a nice honest person to work with. He had my case resolved without any jail time or any real charges on my record. The charge was dropped to an infraction from a misdemeanor.

  6. Best decision I've have ever made!

    Posted by Andre, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Having Mr. Whelton representing me was the best thing I've done at very dim moment in my life!
    I received a letter in the mail after I was arrested, I contacted Mr. Whelton and explain the situation to him, without any retainer he took me point by point down my list of charges and explained to me what was I facing!
    Mr. Whelton and his staff were kind and attentive every time I contacted his office even when I was very intimidated by the charges against me, they always reassured me that they where on my side and that they would do all they could for the best outcome possible on my case.
    Mr. Whelton was always on time for our court appearances, and made me feel supported and well represented during this scary time.
    I do recommend his services to anyone in need of legal representation!
    Thank you Mr. Christopher Whelton and staff!!!!!

  7. Best decision we ever made!

    Posted by Sarita, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher 1-3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If you need a criminal attorney Mr. Whelton is the one to hire. He is staight forward and to the point. He put us completly at ease with his knowledge of the law and kept us informed every step of the way. We had never hired a lawyer before but he and his staff gave us confidence that there would be a positive outcome for our son. He did exactly what he said he would do. His staff is very professional and answered all our questions in a timely manner.

  8. Best decision I ever made, besides marrying my wife.

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We were informed every step of the way during the legal process and initial interview.
    Mr. Whelton handled our case expeditiously and garnered a minimal penalty for a moment of poor judgement by our daughter, soon to begin attending college .
    It was a horrific moment for us that was alleviated by the professionalism and experience of Mr. Whelton. We can not thank him enough and we intend to refer him at any opportunity.

  9. Peace in the middle of a storm

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After receiving numerous amounts of mailers from various attorneys one letter stood out to me and that was from the office of Christopher Whelton. After scheduling a free consultation I went to meet with Chris with one of my members of my family. I have never been arrested before, I didn't even have any traffic tickets. This was my first offense, a white collar crime. This event in my life brought horror, confusion, and sadness not only to myself but to my family as well. Not knowing anything about the legal system Chris sat down with me and had me explain my situation. After explaining to him what had happened he explained what the possible outcomes for my case would be. Chris will not hold back in explaining to you the truth about your case. He is straightforward and I liked that about him. He expressed his interest in my case. After leaving the consultation I knew that I didn't have to look any further for an attorney. Upon hiring Chris he made it clear that he worked for me and not the other way around. If I ever had any questions I could easily get in contact with him. And if he was not available Chris would return my calls or e-mails within 24 hours. Just the feeling of Chris standing next to me at every one of my court appearances truly brought peace in the middle of my storm. Every time I would meet with him I knew he was on my side 120% I was facing a very serious punishment but with his experience in Criminal defense Chris was able to come to an agreement with the District Attorney's office. NO JAIL TIME, 6 months of the work release program and probation. Being able to walk out of that court room with no handcuffs on was a huge relief and a victory for my family, myself, and my Attorney Chris. I can never thank him enough for what he did. If you are in the middle of a criminal storm, let Chris bring you that peace. Believe me, you want him standing in between you and jail.

  10. The Best Around!!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Christopher Whelton.
    • I hired Christopher more than 3 years ago.
    • Christopher handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We were in the biggest bind of our lives and Christopher Whelton came through like a champion!!!