Kenneth Herbert Carlson’s Reviews

Kenneth Herbert Carlson

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Im not going to review, Here is some correspondence between us.

    Posted by Matt,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth Carlson.

    You have to file an ex parte application [$100] and motion for relief from default [$200], to go with the papers you intended to file [motion to quash $100]. You paid $100 for the consultation, which we did last November, and recently $100 for the initial consultation which we have yet to do. You are sending me emails, without payment for the time I'm spending on them, and you now want me to start writing something on a partial payment.
    First, you are paying for my time. If you send me emails, it's $50 per email, paid in advance. If you want to communicate with me for just a couple of minutes, the Hotline is your best choice,even though it's $5 per minute, and you don't need an appointment. If you're not respecting my time, and using your desperation in this as currency, we're not working together, and I'm not losing a customer. Meanwhile, I will not respond to unpaid emails or calls. You can't just barge into my office and start demanding immediate help for free. I'm not unsympathetic, but I'm tired of being abused by clients I'm trying to help
    (email cut off here due to personal info but above is not edited)

    My Response:

    Ken-

    I didnt know you last November my whole case started 2 weeks ago. AND I sent you an additional $100 yesterday I purchased the Ex-Parte from your list of filings by the piece.

    I never tried to get anything for free. I asked if the ex-parte was enough to get through till the fist of the month when I get a full check. but never asked you to write anything for free.

    Im going to chalk this one up to you just having a bad morning. Why dont you check your receipts from yesterday again and then get back to me. If you need I can send you back the confirmation that you send after purchase.

    Now that hopefully everyone is calm. I do appreciate the half compliment on my attempt at the motion to quash. I knew I was in over my head but was hoping that it showed enough simple visible obvious errors in the complaint that my lack of court presentation would suffice. That being said I wasnt sure if the errors he made were proper for a quash or a demurrer but thats what I have you for.

    Just so its in writing:

    I have never talked to you before a week or two ago and certainly didnt have any case last November so if my file is co-mingled with someone else's please un-mingle them.

    I purchased the $100 Ex-Parte from your website yesterday right at lunch time a cut and paste of the reciept is pasted at the bottom of this reply.

    (email cut off here due to personal information but above is un-edited)

    Like I said I am not going to review him because I got laughed out of the court room so I have a chip on my shoulder. But above is a snapshot of my relationship with him.

  2. Knight in Shining Armor

    Posted by Madalyn,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.

    Thank you so much for the free advice on your site. I was in a full blown anxiety attack from my landlord's abuse. It immediately put me at ease to know my rights and that I had some recourse. Thank you for helping me get on an even keel and see that I have some control here.

  3. Outstanding service!

    Posted by Christine, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 6-12 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ken was extremely knowledgeable and knew exactly when to stand firm. We got EVERYTHING we wanted. He explained everything and gave us the courage to stand by our case and fight. I would use Ken's services again in a heartbeat!

  4. Thank You Ken Carlson

    Posted by Ben, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 6-12 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ken Carlson and his website, kits, and advice, at times has helped me and my family through some very tough times over the last 8 years. Three times we have been forced to move because the owners of property we rented have forced us out because they wanted to, in every case, move their own race in ....Chinese. This may sound racist but it's not, it's merely an observation.
    Mr Carlson, his website, and the ignorance of said landlords and owners, have kept me and my family , at the very least, even with them ...and their lawyers.

    Thank you Mr. Carlson.

  5. Helps you help yourself

    Posted by Stephanie, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 6-12 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ken was exatly the type of attorney that I needed, knowledgeable about the 'system.'
    I completed much of my own paperwork and/or composed my letters and settlement offers and I ran things by him to make sure it was all done correctly and that I was not being taken advantage of by my landlord and his insurance company.
    While Ken does seem to be opinionated and disenchanted with our legal system, I kept an open mind and that served me well. As with all items that you SIGN your name to, make sure you read everything that he produces for you to ensure it is your opinion and not his.
    All in all I would recommend Ken to people that are competent to be their own advocate and are not looking for an attorney to hold their hand and rely on at every turn.

  6. Horrible waste of money

    Posted by Teddy,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth Carlson.

    Total joke. Just keeps asking for more and more money to prepare your paperwork pro per and then you go to court and have the judge look at you like you are a complete idiot. The judge was actually laughing at how bad all of our legal documents were. All paid for by us and written by him.

  7. Excellent Effective & Empowering Counsel

    Posted by Patty, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I worked for more than 8 years in a legal setting in positions with insurance companies where I was responsible for choosing and retaining counsel for clients and also for overseeing their legal work. I have worked closely with many different attorneys. I found Ken Carlson to be excellent in every way. He was very skilled and gave me correct information and very specific instructions that were effective in bringing my rather complicated case to a very satisfactory conclusion. His legal documents were very high quality both in the substance of their arguments and in their accuracy. I would highly recommend Mr. Carlson to anyone who is having problems with their landlord. And I would recommend consulting him and his website http://www.caltenantlaw.com/ even before you are involved in actual litigation.

  8. Accident waiting to happen

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 6-12 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    He knows his business. Unfortunately , his work is laden with his objectification of "the system being corrupt" and rather than prepare documents for client (me) he prepares them with an agenda. So demanding I see a specific judge & can't get a fair trial from one Judge, when I gave no opinion about this, whatsoever- made the judge mad. I was thrown out of court like an eject button and $1600 to Ken who doesn't answer calls, emails or texts and has no accountability.

    How much is a lawyer's knowledge worth if it's used as a personal assault to the system while I have unfairly lost my home? No, he did not say one word about having to appeal AFTER MOVING OUT. NO, he did not mention hardship, which is more than appropriate. NO-I do not recommend this attorney.

  9. IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR THE BEST TENANT DEFENSE ATTORNEY-YOU NEED TO CALL KEN CARLSON

    Posted by Chris, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 6-12 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Finding a tenant defense attorney was not an easy task. All the other attorneys we spoke with seemed to be pro landlord and did not want to handle our case.

    Ken is by far the best you will find. He will walk you through step by step, making you feel better about a bad situation. Receiving letters in the mail or going into a courtroom can be intimidating, but Ken will let you know exactly what will happen next and what you need to do and If you follow his instructions, Ken will give you the knowledge you need to be successful.

    Ken is better than aspirin, after speaking with him you will feel a whole lot better!

  10. Ken Carlson- A great tenant lawyer/advocate!

    Posted by Melissa, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 6-12 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Real Estate matter.

    I had a great experience with Ken. He is extremely knowledgeable regarding tenant law. He was concise and direct. I hired him for advice and to prepare a case in Superior Count against my prior landlord. Fortunately, by understanding my rights and with the threat of a real and justifiable lawsuit the landlord returned 100% of the security deposit she was holding in bad faith. I would recommend Ken 100%.