Kenneth Herbert Carlson’s Reviews

Kenneth Herbert Carlson

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding service!

    Posted by Christine, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-6 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ken was extremely knowledgeable and knew exactly when to stand firm. We got EVERYTHING we wanted. He explained everything and gave us the courage to stand by our case and fight. I would use Ken's services again in a heartbeat!

  2. Thank You Ken Carlson

    Posted by Ben, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-6 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ken Carlson and his website, kits, and advice, at times has helped me and my family through some very tough times over the last 8 years. Three times we have been forced to move because the owners of property we rented have forced us out because they wanted to, in every case, move their own race in ....Chinese. This may sound racist but it's not, it's merely an observation.
    Mr Carlson, his website, and the ignorance of said landlords and owners, have kept me and my family , at the very least, even with them ...and their lawyers.

    Thank you Mr. Carlson.

  3. Helps you help yourself

    Posted by Stephanie, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-6 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ken was exatly the type of attorney that I needed, knowledgeable about the 'system.'
    I completed much of my own paperwork and/or composed my letters and settlement offers and I ran things by him to make sure it was all done correctly and that I was not being taken advantage of by my landlord and his insurance company.
    While Ken does seem to be opinionated and disenchanted with our legal system, I kept an open mind and that served me well. As with all items that you SIGN your name to, make sure you read everything that he produces for you to ensure it is your opinion and not his.
    All in all I would recommend Ken to people that are competent to be their own advocate and are not looking for an attorney to hold their hand and rely on at every turn.

  4. Horrible waste of money

    Posted by Teddy,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth Carlson.

    Total joke. Just keeps asking for more and more money to prepare your paperwork pro per and then you go to court and have the judge look at you like you are a complete idiot. The judge was actually laughing at how bad all of our legal documents were. All paid for by us and written by him.

  5. Excellent Effective & Empowering Counsel

    Posted by Patty, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I worked for more than 8 years in a legal setting in positions with insurance companies where I was responsible for choosing and retaining counsel for clients and also for overseeing their legal work. I have worked closely with many different attorneys. I found Ken Carlson to be excellent in every way. He was very skilled and gave me correct information and very specific instructions that were effective in bringing my rather complicated case to a very satisfactory conclusion. His legal documents were very high quality both in the substance of their arguments and in their accuracy. I would highly recommend Mr. Carlson to anyone who is having problems with their landlord. And I would recommend consulting him and his website http://www.caltenantlaw.com/ even before you are involved in actual litigation.

  6. Accident waiting to happen

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-6 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    He knows his business. Unfortunately , his work is laden with his objectification of "the system being corrupt" and rather than prepare documents for client (me) he prepares them with an agenda. So demanding I see a specific judge & can't get a fair trial from one Judge, when I gave no opinion about this, whatsoever- made the judge mad. I was thrown out of court like an eject button and $1600 to Ken who doesn't answer calls, emails or texts and has no accountability.

    How much is a lawyer's knowledge worth if it's used as a personal assault to the system while I have unfairly lost my home? No, he did not say one word about having to appeal AFTER MOVING OUT. NO, he did not mention hardship, which is more than appropriate. NO-I do not recommend this attorney.

  7. IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR THE BEST TENANT DEFENSE ATTORNEY-YOU NEED TO CALL KEN CARLSON

    Posted by Chris, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-6 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Finding a tenant defense attorney was not an easy task. All the other attorneys we spoke with seemed to be pro landlord and did not want to handle our case.

    Ken is by far the best you will find. He will walk you through step by step, making you feel better about a bad situation. Receiving letters in the mail or going into a courtroom can be intimidating, but Ken will let you know exactly what will happen next and what you need to do and If you follow his instructions, Ken will give you the knowledge you need to be successful.

    Ken is better than aspirin, after speaking with him you will feel a whole lot better!

  8. Ken Carlson- A great tenant lawyer/advocate!

    Posted by Melissa, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-6 months ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Real Estate matter.

    I had a great experience with Ken. He is extremely knowledgeable regarding tenant law. He was concise and direct. I hired him for advice and to prepare a case in Superior Count against my prior landlord. Fortunately, by understanding my rights and with the threat of a real and justifiable lawsuit the landlord returned 100% of the security deposit she was holding in bad faith. I would recommend Ken 100%.

  9. Get the BEST

    Posted by Lee,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.

    I cannot thank Ken Carlson enough. He helped me get through one of the roughest times of my life. I was facing dilapidated conditions, eviction, foreclosure, and to make matters worst a court ordered property management receiver was thrown into the picture. I was fighting two entities not just one. While searching the internet for a lawyer, I found Ken Carlson's website. There was a plethora of useful information, but what got me hooked was The Game Board page. I called Ken who is a pleasure to speak with, a real people person. Ken asked what my situation was and he gave me advice. He made things plain and clear. He answered my questions without any doubts. It was 7 months of paper war before a settlement was agreed upon. I believe if I hadn't found Ken I would have been evicted long ago and had the burden of uprooting my family and moving. Ken walked me through how to get the repairs that I needed and deserved done. Ken knows his business and I was lucky to find him. Throughout the 7 months I paid no rent. I also have security in case the foreclosure ends by way of auction or sale. He is the best. Thanks Ken.

  10. BEST Lawyer you could ever hire! Hands down most knowledgable landlord/tenant lawyer, just follow his instructions and WIN!!!

    Posted by Jolie, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kenneth Carlson.
    • I hired Kenneth 1-3 years ago.
    • Kenneth handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I am so happy I found Ken..He not only understood why I was taking "the riskiest route" when I had enough and had made my decision to withhold rent, he led me step by step in a route to CHECKMATE! I may be speaking too soon as my case is still unresolved, however, I can not figure any possible way for the other party to prevail...they have lost and they have no idea how to proceed! I had been told by every lawyer I had previously consulted, not to proceed as I wanted to...they all said it was too risky. .. and while I was scared, Ken helped us get thru court clerk mistakes as well as our own misguided ideas of how to proceed...and he made it fun...he's funny and extremely knowledgeable in all landlord tenant issues - there is absolutely no way we would be in the position we are in without him! The opposing parties attorney actually called him "notorious" when he was denied his motion and wanted the Judge to know I was "not actually in pro per" because Ken's name was on the proof of service. The judge waved him off as it didn't make any difference - but winning does make all the difference - if you want to win, I really couldn't recommend Ken enough...he predicted every single move of the other party - to the "T". When I told him how amazed I was, he explained he wasn't clairvoyant , he had just had enough experience. I am writing this review in hopes that other tenants read it and hire him - he's so knowledgeable and affordable - I want every mistreated tenant to feel what it feels like when the tables turn and you are holding all the cards...and it's even better when Ken has kept you laughing all along the way! He is the best there is.

    Thank you Ken Carlson - you deserve an award for the most awesome tenant attorney on the planet!!