Back to Edmund’s Profile

Client Review

Edmund has received 13 client reviews

Save yourself from this horrible "attorney"!!!!

Posted by: a Family client 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Edmund Montgomery

I hired Edmund 6-12 months ago.

Edmund handled my Family matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

All I can say is you get what you pay for. He is a terrible attorney. He kept postponing the hearings and at our final hearing he just pretty much sat there and mumbled. He was outlawyered by some Christian attorney that does adoptions, rarely family law cases. I would seriously avoid this guy at all costs. It was very hard to get in touch with him and he never read any of my emails and gave me very bad advice. And I didnt lose my case, but I can honestly say that I could have done a much better job, but when you hire an attorney the judge only lets him speak considering he is my representation. He sat there like some idiot and could hardly respond to anything the other attorney said and I laid everything out there for him! Save yourself. DO NOT HIRE EDMUND MONTGOMERY! Even if you have already paid him and you're in the middle of your case, seriously DONT DO IT! YOUR BETTER OFF REPRESENTING YOURSELF!

Amazing and friendly

Posted by: a client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edmund Montgomery

Mr Montgomery and his staff have never been anything amazing in my experience. They have a small office but you really get to know everyone that way. They are always willing to answer my questions when I call. They are very knowledgeable

BUYER BEWARE!!

Posted by: a Alimony client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Edmund Montgomery

I hired Edmund 1-3 years ago.

Edmund handled my Alimony matter.

Mr. Montgomery prepared me for a very lucrative outcome and when in court 8 months later did a complete reversal. He knew my circumstances, living at the poverty level, when he took my $1500 deposit (loaned to me by a relative) and he assured me I would get it back when my ex paid all the fees. Unfortunately, he allowed the case to be postponed 3 months without asking me if that was OK. I wrote a letter reminding him of my financial hardship and he did not respond. I had to sell my house and all my furniture. I also emailed him to tell him I was worried I was going to have to sell my car and my house. He told me not to do that. He assured me that my case was simple because of the existing Legal Separation judgment. I had a judgment from 2005 for a lifetime of spousal support that Mr. Montgomery single-handedly reduced to one year's worth within an hour!!! Several weeks before the trial date, Mr. Montgomery increased the cost of my case by $1000 (more than 30%) without providing any explanation and when I asked what it was for, he just told me that I needn't worry about it because he was going to get it all paid by my ex. Really? My ex paid 2/3 of my fees. I am left with paying back my relative. I had to sell my house, my furniture, and my car. I am so appalled and disgusted by this outcome that it has taken me a few months to calm down so I could write this review. I emailed him several times without getting a response. He was receiving all kinds of legal documents from the other side which he just flat out ignored. He never bothered to update the other side with my new address so I never knew about my divorce hearing. Missed it. He never discussed with me about the decisions he was making on my behalf. His staff was rude and uncaring. I was in a court of law on my court date in October, just one day after being released from the hospital for an allergic reaction to a flu shot (still feeling ill), and feeling so nervous that my day was finally here (after preparing for 4 years) and hearing Mr. Montgomery laughing in the next room with the opposing attorney was the beginning of my thoughts that things were not right. In the next few minutes, he sits down next to me and tells me about the other side offering a settlement that will permanently terminate spousal support. He never prepared me for a settlement or termination. This offer was an incredibly and ridiculously low settlement. Mr. Montgomery pressured me by saying that if I pursued this by trial I could very well lose (after he said in his office that I would easily win and laughing about the attorney I had just let go). I told him when we first met that my ex is 68 and he said it didn't matter. In court, he reversed that and said the judge was not going to like that fact that my ex was almost 69. I wanted to counter back at double the offer. I was in shock when he said we can't take a risk that this will go to trial. Because of Mr. Montgomery's lack of preparation of me and the case, I will be lucky to still have any amount remaining in 12 months with no job and no income. My ex is retired but his income is more than $3500 per mo. THIS WAS NOT JUSTICE! This was not my imagination--I didn't miss some of the facts. My sister was present for both meetings in Feb 2013 with Mr. Montgomery and heard the same thing. THIS IS NOT A CASE OF REMORSE--I just want to make that perfectly clear! I was PRESSURED and CHEATED. I should have been given the opportunity to confer with my lawyer in private before court was in session. I just don't know how I will recover from this!! I will experience further financial ruin as a result of this. I am so depressed and still in shock -- I can barely function while trying to start a business to try to make some money. I shared my feelings with Mr. Montgomery the day after court--he had little to say. My advice to you...hire a different lawyer.

Custody Case

Posted by: a Child Custody client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Edmund Montgomery

I hired Edmund 1-3 years ago.

Edmund handled my Child Custody matter.

It was alleged that I raped my daughter twice while living in northern California and she living with her mother in southern California, the Child protective service found out the mother had lied to them and the mother was deemed to have mental issue's per court record. I was awarded custody of my daughter sole legal and physical and under California Family code 3027.1 I was awarded to get all my attorney and court fee's back, it ended with me having to pay her attorney fee's and not to receive any compensation back which is not the law. Mr. Montgomery had all the fact's from CPS , therapist and court appointed officers including the court mediator and did nothing as far as what is written per the family court law . I sent him documentation of the events pertaining to the case but when we talked he seemed to always not know what I was talking about, then sending me a bill for over 7000.00 for what HE DID NOT REPRESENT AS A COMPETENT LAWYER !!!! I was lied on in court under oath on several occasions and fraudulent paper work filed on me and I still have to pay for the other parties attorney fee's in disregard to the California Family Court law 3027.1 code that should have been followed, what are law's put in place for ? The best interest of the child in this case was not important to Mr. Montgomery.

Legal Separation

Posted by: Shirley, a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edmund Montgomery

I hired Edmund 1-3 years ago.

Edmund handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Mr. Montgomery is an excellent lawyer. He has represented me in a Legal Separation case. I am comfortable that he knows the law and how to apply it. He explains court proceedings and possible outcomes clearly. I would recommend him to anyone.

Terrible terrible!! Will take your money and do NOTHING!

Posted by: a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Edmund Montgomery

I hired Edmund 1-3 years ago.

Edmund handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Terrible lawyer!!! Kept calling, calls were unanswered for days. He would be told one thing and he would do another just so he could bill for more hours when court dates would get postponed going against what was wanted. Never informed me or asked me before he made a decision. Do not deal with this lawyer. His attistant is also a liar, claimed to have called and left messages, there was no messages any of the times or voice mails. She was clueless and very rude. Again save your money and go elsewhere. Very unorganized office, the complaints just keep going...terrible terrible experience OMG!!!! I would give him a negative 10 if it was possible!!!

He's the best

Posted by: derek, a Family client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edmund Montgomery

I hired Edmund 1-3 years ago.

Edmund handled my Family matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Since the day of my consultation I have been very confident in Mr. Montgomery. He is extremely knowledgeable in family law and could recite the different codes practically word for word. Ed always responds to my emails almost right away. His office staff is very nice and they never make me feel like I'm an inconvenience. He is also very understanding with my financial situation. My case is not finished yet and I still feel confident enough to say that if there's any lawyer who can get me what I'm asking for, it's Ed.

Best lawyer ever

Posted by: a Child Custody client about 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edmund Montgomery

I hired Edmund more than 3 years ago.

Edmund handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Where should I start Ed has helped me with my child cusody case for the past two years. From the second I walked in he made me feel better, his staff is one of a kind they actually care what is going on, and do their best to help. Ed was very very smart with the different laws and told me what we could go for and what we couldn't. Everything we fought for we won. He was very understanding about the cost as well he even offered different payment plans which was a huge help. He is not your typical charge for every single moment knickle and dime lawyers he is an honest person and has a heart. He still is my lawyer and hopefully always will be I owe him big time for how much he has done for myself and my family. Thank you Ed and Luvia.

Very Satisfied Client

Posted by: a Divorce client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edmund Montgomery

I hired Edmund more than 3 years ago.

Edmund handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I HIGHLY recommend Edmund Montgomery to anyone who has a divorce case. He did such an outstanding job on my case that even I was surprised at the outcome. He is a down to earth man anyone can talk to but is a shark in the courtroom. As for his office, I only speak with his paralegal Olivia who is very sweet and smart too. She calmed, reassured and confirmed to me everything of what Mr. Montgomery would do on my case. I even spoke with his process server after she served my ex with the divorce papers. She also is a nice person to talk to. I am a very satisfied client.

Very Pleased Dad

Posted by: a Child Custody client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edmund Montgomery

I hired Edmund more than 3 years ago.

Edmund handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Ed and his staff are great and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. They are not a huge firm - so you get the much needed personal attention, I paid for Ed and I got Ed, not put off to some other junior attorney. As I don't live conveniently close to Ed's office, him and I communicated a lot via e-mail which for me worked great. Ed's office was also very flexible with my payment arrangements which is rare. I paid my retainer fee up front and then they allowed me to set up reasonable monthly payments that I can afford. Ed helped me win my case and I was awarded primary custody. Going through a custody case can be stressful enough, so I was very fortunate to have found an attorney who exceeded my expectations in all aspects!!