Janet Eileen Sobel’s Reviews

Janet Eileen Sobel

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Not a Positive Experience

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Janet Sobel.
    • I hired Janet 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I wish my experience with Janet had been as good as everyone else posting here. Unfortunately, it was not. While she was fairly knowledgeable about my legal matter, she became quite irate when I requested an itemized invoice to submit to the court, and she wrote several emails chastising me for asking. I was very upset by her emails and asked her to stop sending them. Even though my case has been settled, Janet has persisted in sending me emails soliciting donations for various charities she is involved with even though I have asked her to stop. I will be calling the local bar association on Monday to see if they can assist me in stopping these unwanted emails.

  2. Janet Sobel Exemplifies the Highest Standards of Her Profession

    Posted by Julie, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janet Sobel.
    • I hired Janet more than 3 years ago.
    • Janet handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Janet Sobel exemplifies the highest standards of the legal profession, serving her clients with knowledge, integrity and perseverance. Ms. Sobel also has the rare ability to explain the nuances and complexities of the law, providing understanding, open communication and down to earth wisdom to her clientele as well as her peers. Having worked with Janet during a difficult Real Estate transaction, I observed her commitment to the well-being and prosperity of those she represents. Janet Sobel combined passion, ethics and dedication to bring a seemingly impossible case to a successful outcome. I highly recommend Janet Sobel as a first class attorney.

  3. Janet Sobel is my lawyer of choice

    Posted by Ed, a Ethics client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janet Sobel.
    • I hired Janet 1-3 years ago.
    • Janet handled my Ethics / Professional Responsibility matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I've engaged Janet in various issues over the last 8 years. One involved a non-profit that I was working with whose principles wrongfully took funds for personal use. She helped me negotiate a satisfactory resolution. She also helped my family when my mother was a subject of attempted elder financial abuse by an unscrupulous individual. She has consulted with me on a number of other issues that have helped me make good legal decisions. Janet's ethics are certainly of the highest level.

  4. We highly recommend Janet Sobel

    Posted by Amy, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janet Sobel.
    • I hired Janet more than 3 years ago.
    • Janet handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would absolutely recommend Janet Sobel. She is conscientious, thorough and a very trustworthy attorney. She made us feel valued, she listened to us and she gave us excellent advice. A wonderful, wonderful person. My husband and I respect her tremendously.

  5. Excellent Listener

    Posted by Dennis, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janet Sobel.
    • I hired Janet 6-12 months ago.
    • Janet handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Sobel is an excellent listener and will evaluate your legal situation very carefully. Her knowledge is always up to date. Janet presented me with the facts and the likely outcome in my situation. I highly recommend her to anyone seeking legal advice.

  6. Great Attorney!

    Posted by Marina,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janet Sobel.
    • I hired Janet 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend Janet Sobel without hesitation and to my closest family members and friends.
    Janet is highly professional and informed attorney. She takes care and time to understand each client’s specific situation and capacities, so that she can offer most sensible tailored advice. She is very generous with her knowledge and compassion.
    In addition, Ms. Sobel most recently wrote a book: “Litigation – Insult to Injury: What Judges and Lawyers Know About the Legal System That You Don’t”. This is an amazing most comprehensive work on what really happens inside a civil dispute. Reading this book, which is an important read for all, made me realize once more how blessed I am to have found Ms. Sobel.

  7. Great legal advice

    Posted by Kathy, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janet Sobel.
    • I hired Janet 1-3 years ago.
    • Janet handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Janet is a wonderful resource, very helpful and knowledgeable. Felt that her advice was ethical and based on years of experiences and cases. Would contact her again when needed.

  8. More than advice - a learning experience that transforms you as a person!

    Posted by Melissa,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janet Sobel.
    • I hired Janet 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Janet Sobel has helped me and members of my family in a way no other lawyer could have helped us. She truly is a "counselor at law" and genuinely cares about helping her clients find solutions. As Janet guides you, just be ready to also learn a little about yourself during the journey. She challenges you to make the hard decisions so that you can rid yourself of your legal issues and come out a better and wiser person in the end. Thank you, Janet, for all of your wise, caring, insightful and always practical advice!

  9. Very Helpful and Efficient

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Janet Sobel.
    • I hired Janet 6-12 months ago.
    • Janet handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a problem with with someone who owes me money. I had a judgement against him, but could not figure out how to collect. Janet helped me understand and showed me exactly what I needed to do to file a Debtor's Examination. She was extremely generous with her time and expertise. I recommend her because she knows what she is doing and is very helpful.