Back to Michael’s Profile

Client Review

Michael has received 91 client reviews

Successfully Defended Me Against First & Second DUI Charges and Got My Record Clean and Expunged

Posted by: Chris, a DUI client 3 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael < 1 month ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I cannot speak highly enough of Mr. Michael Fremont, he is an excellent professional lawyer ; I would recommend him for any person having legal issues with DUI . Over the years he has represented me on two DUl cases ; and recently getting my DUI criminal record cleaned and expunged . I got my first DUI back in 2006 unfortunately it was more than just a straight forward DUI case, with complicating factors. Michael Fremont did good work in getting my charges significantly reduced, guiding me through the DUI process and keeping life on track. With my second DUI in 2010 it was a very unfortunate low BAC incident . However through the skill and advice of Mr. Fremont we able to get the second DUI case totally dismissed and all charges dropped ; I am incredibly grateful for this. Very recently I had the requirement to prove that my criminal record was clean for professional reasons. Mr. Fremont did great and detailed work in preparing the petition for dismissal, and getting the 2006 DUI charge expunged and dismissed totally . Over the years I have had to deal with a number lawyers , Mr. Fremont is one of the very best ; I highly recommend his legal practice.

Michael Jon Fremont.

Posted by: Jackie, a DUI client 4 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

This man saved my life and helped to set me free. The path I took leading me to Mr. Fremont, was one of desperation. Of course, there is never a reasonable discussion regarding the deadly decision to drink and then operate a motor vehicle. Never. Certainly, when you choose to repeat this three more times, unreasonable. I was desperate for help prior to the many arrests within a short amount of time. Tragically, I led myself down into the darkest abyss in order to find the first light in helping to save my life. I clicked on AVVO, and there he was. Michael Jon Fremont. Naturally, I read about him. I looked into his eyes, and knew. I called him concerning one DUI. We met and he agreed to take me on. He agreed to take on the other three, that quickly followed, as well. This lengthy process was the most arduous, challenging, mentally tortuous as well as frightening. This was also the beginning of the process of learning my life was about to be saved. Mr. Fremont provides you with the gratification of sitting down next to him as he gets to work. Mr. Fremont somehow kept me from jail. The Judge I suppose, agreed with Mr. Fremont to allow me the SCRAM monitor. His Honor declared, I attend AA meetings daily. There, I found my Higher Power and wonderful people who shared their love and hope. I was free. I was able to go home to my family. I was able to meet Mr. Fremont at the court on my own fruition. I was honored to sit next to him and listen as he shared his intellectual wealth and brilliant mind with all that chose to listen. He had my full attention as well as the one arresting officer, who seemed unable to sit still in his chair. Mr. Fremont worked valiantly in an attempt to have one of the arrests dismissed, for this would have kept me from a felony conviction. Under the circumstances, it was as though I had been accepted into the most elite college with the degree of brilliance afforded to me by Mr. Fremont. Mr. Fremont calmly reassured me that things would be OK, when naturally I thought things could not be. Four arrests meant the end of the world. Little did I know. Mr. Fremont had his Honor agree to keep me from jail. His Honor agreed with Mr. Fremont to have me wear the SCRAM anklet which allowed me AA, which in turn allowed me to finally properly introduce myself to God, who Blessed me with his Love and presence in the courtroom, and also Blessed Mr. Fremont. Mr. Fremont then blessed me during the final hearing with telling me there would be no felony conviction, no jail time. I walked from the courtroom first to find a corner to quietly let the emotions flow. Mr. Fremont joined me and we sat on a bench to have a chat. So much was coursing through my mind, and yet, this man once again rewarded me with his sense of humor which instantly calmed my heart. This man introduced me to his colleagues by saying I was a success story. Me? Mr. Fremont provided me his success. If you find yourself in the frightening besides terrifying position of a DUI arrest, I can provide you a referral. If like me, your life depends upon your choice, I can spell his name for you. Michael Jon Fremont. Mr. Fremont literally saved my life. I could not stop drinking, therefore, Mr. Fremont sent me to the place that I needed to be. Instantaneously, God came to me, restored my sanity and hope. Had I gone off to jail, I would have lost my job, my home, my family, and certainly my life. Thank You for the privilege of you, Mr. Fremont. You are the success story and I greatly appreciate your heart. You saved mine.

Michael Fremont won my case and saved my license...and we never even met in person.

Posted by: Dane, a DUI client 22 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I live in Northern California and was in San Diego for an event. I was arrested for a DUI and given a temporary license. I was just in San Diego vacationing and didn't have time to run back and forth between Northern and Southern California preparing for the case and attending court hearings. I contacted Mr. Fremont and he made all the court appearances, kept me informed on the progress of the case and answered all my questions. He was able to get my DUI dismissed and the DMV did not suspend my license. We communicated by phone and email. I especially appreciated having our email communications available to keep track of the case. I haven’t needed the services of many attorneys, but this gentleman put me at ease and I was comfortable trusting him. Because of his representation I was able to continue working and living my life while my case progressed through the court system. I recommend Mr. Fremont to anyone charged with a DUI in San Diego!

LIFESAVER IS CORRECT!!!

Posted by: a DUI client 26 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

A few months ago I found this site when my life turned upside down. I was charged with my first and only DUI. I was confused, scared and hopeless. I read through hundreds of reviews on this site trying to find a hope. I was very skeptical reading positive reviews thinking they must have been fake. And here I am writing a review myself, so may be this will help someone else who is in a similar situation now. I didn't know if hiring an attorney was worth it, many people mentioned that they had the same outcome the would have without a lawyer and should have spent the money on fines instead. But I knew that if I didn't hire one, I would always be wondering what if I had a chance. After calling a few law firms and having a few free consultations, I hired Michael. Why? Besides the great reviews here on AVVO and many years of experience, I liked that he didn't try to push me to sign anything when I met him. He didn't use scare tactics like some others did. I met him in his Mission Valley office, he just listened to me, he didn't overpromise but he sure did deliver. My charges were dismissed, yes dismissed, not reduced but gone. The guy knows his stuff, that's all I can say. If you are in a same situation like I was, give him a call, your life might just turn around just like mine did. On behalf of myself and my family, I thank you Michael Fremont.

Revised review

Posted by: Susan, a DUI client 26 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I am reposting my review because I did not understand about clicking on the stars. I stand by my previous review. He is in fact an excellent lawyer. Michael Fremont represented my son 10 years ago in San Diego and did a fine job. The details of that case were needed for another court appearance, this time on the east coast. I contacted Mr. Fremont, who kindly took time to research and provide the details. I am impressed that he was willing to help a family living far away after such a long time. He's not only an excellent lawyer, he's a mensch (a man of honor, a caring human being. Used on both coasts).

Lifesaver

Posted by: a DUI client 28 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mr. Fremont is great. I found out recently that a warrant had been issued from a DUI I had 5 years ago. Because I had moved, I never received a letter from the court and did not know of the warrant. Due to personal circumstances I missed completing the program given to me by the court at the time and that is why the warrant was issued. Additionally because my blood/alcohol level (.18) was so high, it would have been a felony. Not only was Mr. Fremont able to negotiate my charges down to a wet reckless, he also was able to convince the court to withdraw the warrant and release me from having to complete the program due to the length of time that had gone by. Mr. Fremont is a lifesaver. Had I not found out about the warrant issued, if I had been pulled over for something even as a minor as light out, I would have been immediately arrested and taken to jail for the unknown warrant. I also did not have to pay any fines or money related to this warrant/issue. I tried another attorney before calling him and was told I would probably have to re-enroll in the program, pay more fines and be put on probation for another 3 years. At the referral by another friend, I called Mr. Fremont and he was able to handle the issues with no further costs. I would definitely recommend him.

Not all DUI cases are high priority to Mr. Fremont

Posted by: Aaron, a DUI client about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I hired Mr. Fremont due to his reviews on Avvo. There are only 3 or 4 negative reviews out of 84. However, Mr. Fremont doesn’t direct clients to Avvo unless they’ve had a good experience. I now realize that with 26 yrs of experience and only 84 reviews on a relatively new site, there are probably a lot of negative experiences that we don’t know about. In my case Mr. Fremont is tremendously overrated. I had to plead guilty to a DUI. Looking back, I feel that I paid Fremont solely to make appearances. However, ANY lawyer does that. Aside from that one ‘positive’ thing, I felt like Mr. Fremont held me as a low priority and believed he had more important things going on. He never seemed well informed with my case If he did make any attempts at making any resolutions with the prosecutor/DA, I was not aware of them because he didn’t keep me informed. I would give him a negative star if I could when it comes to communication. If you are used to DUIs because you rack them up, maybe this is your lawyer. If you are scared and stressed and need a lawyer to talk to you about the process and what is happening, Mr. Fremont should be the last lawyer you should get. In my case, he was likely not even looking at my paperwork unless he HAD to, so there’s nothing to inform me about if he is ignoring my case. If you write him an email or a text, he will respond with a snippy short message. Many times I would email asking for an update and he’d respond saying he would call later or tomorrow but the next day would come and go. Here is an entire email he sent me: “Yes u can. Willbsoeak eithbu tomorrow”. An average response, actually. He also called me ‘Alan’ instead of ‘Aaron’ over the eight month period which made me know that he wasn’t very informed. I will say though in his defense that I am not aware of what preparation he may have done – maybe he researched my case diligently every night and spent every waking hour on it - I highly doubt it. My preliminary hearing was a crucial point in my case - where the arresting officer made his testimony. Instead of concentrating during the hearing, Mr. Fremont was reading emails on his laptop from other clients in the middle of the hearing. I was sitting next to him and saw his screen, so I’m not making this up. He was on his Gmail account scrolling through unread emails and responding to them. He made a motion to get one of my breath tests thrown out – which was knocked down – and also questioned the cause the officer had to pull me over. After that, he seemed to have nothing left and also seemed uninterested in the actual hearing going on in front of him. The DA on the other hand, was a fresh grad out of Stanford who was trying to win this case like his life depended on it. When the DA was making his case, Fremont was still reading his emails and barely paying attention. Fremont’s actions during this hearing made me lose all confidence in him. It was then that I knew I was going to end up with a DUI. I could tell he didn’t care whether I got a DUI or not and that he wasn’t going to pull any moves with the DA to make a deal. I am seeing all these reviews about how people received misdemeanors instead of felonies, or wet/reckeless instead of DUI, but Fremont never attempted to even talk about that to me or to anyone involved in my case. If you get an initial impression that Fremont cares about you, you could give him a shot and maybe you’ll be in the majority. If he seems like he wants to talk on the phone to other clients and acts like you are not important, go with another lawyer.

After 10 years, Michael Fremont came through again - long distance.

Posted by: Susan, a DUI client about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Michael Fremont represented my son 10 years ago in San Diego and did a fine job. The details of that case were needed for another court appearance, this time on the east coast. I contacted Mr. Fremont, who kindly took time to research and provide the details. I am impressed that he was willing to help a family living far away after such a long time. He's not only an excellent lawyer, he's a mensch (a man of honor, a caring human being. Used on both coasts).

I recommend Michael J Fremont

Posted by: Andre, a DUI client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Average

I recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

If you're ever charged with a DUI in Southern California, I recommend hiring Michael J. Fremont to represent you. He is very experienced in this area and has ample knowledge about it. He knows how to attack the state's case from every angle, using all resources at his disposal to get his client the best deal possible. I was charged with two consecutive DUIs and Mr. Fremont was able to get the first one dismissed. On the second one, I received probation. I'm grateful for the way he handled my situation, especially the first case. This attorney is very trustworthy and appears very comfortable and confident in a courtroom. He walks in there and talks to everybody as though he's just entered his own living room. Mr. Fremont also cares about the well-being of his clients beyond the courtroom. He is almost always available to answer any questions about your case and knows what he is doing.

5YRS OF SUPERB REPRESENTATION

Posted by: RAFAEL, a DUI client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Michael Fremont

I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.

Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

ATTORNEY MICHAEL J. FREMONT IS SOMEONE YOU NEED IN YOUR CORNER. MIKE FIRST REPRESENTED ME OVER 5 YRS AGO. I WAS GIVEN A DUI AND I HIRED AN ATTORNEY THAT ONLY MADE MATTERS WORSE FOR ME. MIKE TOOK OVER THE CASE AND AT OUR FIRST COURT APPOINTMENT IT WAS APPARENT THAT MIKE WAS THE REAL DEAL. HIS RAPPORT CAN ONLY BE GAINED FROM YEARS OF EXPERIENCE AND SUCCESS IN THE COURT ROOM. MONTHS AGO I WAS PULLED OVER ON WHAT I BELIEVED WAS PROFILING AND WAS BROUGHT IN TO COURT ON A TECHNICALITY FOR THE SAME DUI. EVEN 5 YRS LATER, MIKE CAME TO REPRESENT ME WITH NO HESITATION. EVERYTHING WAS SORTED OUT IN A MATTER OF DAYS AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE WITH MY LIFE AND CAREER. EVERYONE WHO HAS A RECENT DUI KNOWS THAT FEELING OF POSSIBLY LOSING THEIR CAREER. MIKE GAVE ME PEACE OF MIND AND HELPED ME EVER STEP OF THE WAY. THANKS MIKE. YOU TRULY ARE THE BEST AT WHAT YOU DO.