David Philip Shapiro’s Reviews

David Philip Shapiro

Average Rating

Based on 50 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. GREAT and SKILLED Attorney - depends on your needs...

    Posted by erin.piskura, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Shapiro is skilled in his profession. He is a competent attorney and I believe he worked hard for the best outcome in my case(s). If, however, you are charged with a first time and are nearly as scared as I was, he may not be the best fit. Although he is a great attorney, I did not find him to be very compassionate - I was in a frenzy (how would this impact my employment? when can I clear up my record? etc.). I found him to be rather impatient with me and am not convinced that he was really concerned about me. Perhaps this was just a personality issue. Despite this, he is a great attorney, a nice guy and he will go to bat for you.

    1. David Philip Shapiro

      David Shapiro

      Lawyer Comment:

      I believe the great majority of our clients prefer that I tell it like it is, as opposed to sugar coating the issues and creating unrealistic expectations.

      My experience the past 7 years, and with 1,000 clients, has been that you can not please every client you represent, irrespective of the number of messes you get them out of or the countless nights and weekends you spend addressing their unrealistic expectations about their case(s).

      Nevertheless, we appreciate the feedback and the references to David Shapiro as a "nice guy," a "great attorney" who is "skilled in his profession," and someone who "will go to bat" for his clients.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  2. Expert in Subject matter

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    David is really a great lawyer .He made me understand the rules and regulations which i don't know being a foreigner in this country, he also helped me to consult with an immigration attorney and then he himself worked with him to understand to choose best option for me. I am really thankful to David for his great help , i will recommend David to my friends and co-workers as an expert in his subject matter and the away he approaches to resolve the case.

  3. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Shapiro is a very aggressive and knowledgeable attorney. He always keeps his client updated and responds all questions very quickly including weekends. He is also pretty smart and is extremely helpful in working things out. He resolved my case with a wonderful result and I highly recommend this amazing attorney!

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Dale, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    David keeps his clients well informed about their case and responds very quickly to any questions or concerns you might have. He is a very professional and knowledgeable DUI lawyer. I would highly recommend him.

  5. Amazing experience, wouldn't go to anyone else!

    Posted by Carolyn, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    David Shapiro is one of the best lawyers I have had. I was charged with a DUI a year ago and he was able to get me the minimum sentence due to the circumstance. I was extremely shameful and felt awful that I was being charged as a criminal. When I walked into his office, he sat me down, understood how I must be feeling and assured me he was going to do everything in his power. He was very calm and collected asking me questions and gave me time to answer them, considering the state I was in. That case was handled the best it could have. Then recently, last Sept. I was pulled over for speeding and I had failed the breathalyzer test (as per my probation orders). I couldn't believe it! I went back to David and asked him to help me out with the case, he said no problem I'll take care of it. No need to worry. This was EXTREMELY reassuring due to the fact that I was leaving for Virginia for 3 months in about 2 weeks time. He was able to reassign my court date for me and go in to represent me and.....I couldn't believe it....David got BOTH the DUI probation violation AND the speeding ticket dismissed!!!! I don't know how, but I know it had something to do with having the right lawyer to represent me. If you are ever in either or both situations, I would HIGHLY recommend David Shapiro. You really wont find anyone as skilled in and out of the office and in court at such a fair price. His pricing was a flat rate, which for my finances was more than fair. Thank you SO much David!!!

  6. I SIMPLY CAN NOT SAY ENOUGH GOOD THINGS ABOUT MR. SHAPIRO. OUR FAMILY IS BLESSED TO HAVE HIM WORKING OUR CASE. HE IS #1...

    Posted by Terrilyn, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Shapiro is the BEST attorney ever. I had numerous attorney's that I could have chosen but something made me call him and boy what a blessing that call was. Mr. Shapiro is one that I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone that is in need of an excellent Criminal Defense Attorney. In my opinion no one can beat what he does. He is 100% in ALL categories of trustworthy, responsive, knowledgeable, and keeping me informed on each and every single thing. Seriously, do not call any other attorney...CALL Mr. David Shapiro...he will make sure you are taken care of. He does not mess around and gets things done. He is worth every dime and then some for the expert services he delivers. He truly cares!

  7. Very helpful

    Posted by Gevrey, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    David was extremely helpful in letting me know everything that was happening with my case and responded immediately to any questions I may have had about the case. I defiantly recommend him.

  8. Best Attorney Ever.

    Posted by Kamal, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Truthfully, Before I hired David Shapiro I was talking to few attorneys, as soon as I met with David I knew he was the man for the job, he does what he promises he will let you know how it is straight no sugar coating at all. He is by far the best attorney ever. Thanks David and god bless you.

  9. Exceptional! Firm with clients but compassionate

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    David knows what he is doing. I got myself in some binds and he was firm with me but also showed some heart. He fought hard for me even when I kept making things worse. :)

    1. David Philip Shapiro

      David Shapiro

      Lawyer Comment:

      I'd like to think these ratings, based on the reviewer's narrative, were incorrect.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  10. Great lawyer for DUI cases

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shapiro.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I got my second DUI and my friend referred David Shapiro. It was easy to get ahold of him when I needed to ask a question or for information. I didn't have to go to jail and got only 4 days of community service which was a relief. Very knowledgeable and responsive. Thank you!

Do Not Settle for Anything but the Best Representation..Call Now!

619-295-3555