William R. O'Connell’s Reviews

William R. O'Connell

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Brandon, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Connell represented me last summer on two separate cases -- DUI and Felony Commercial Burglary, Possession of Burglar's Tools. He successfully pleaded the DUI to a Wet & Reckless (BAC 0.10) and he was able to have all burglary related charges dismissed prior to trial. This was the best case scenario outcome that I could have hoped for, and his rates are very reasonable.

  2. Third Strike Candidate

    Posted by Alex, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William 6-12 months ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Initial Charges: Felony assault with great bodily injury.
    My prior history: 14 years 11 months in prison, multiple violent felonies and kidnappings. Two striker.
    I did some research looking for an attorney, and found Mr. O’Connell. These are the things I found:
    * You will have his personal cell phone number
    *easy to come and see in person
    *old school, straight shooter
    *has strong integrity
    *very shrewd
    *loaded with experience
    *his price is fair.
    I was very worried about a receiving a third strike, and not being treated fairly because of my history. Mr. O’Connell did a great job creating a balance that the prosecution would accept and that would also be fair to me.
    Resolution of case: Reduced to Misdemeanor battery, and ultimately PC 415(1) (Disturbing the peace). I received summary (informal) probation, and a $500 fine.

  3. Bill O'Connell is a man with integrity.

    Posted by Matthew, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Bill O'Connell is a very knowledgable lawyer that puts integrity first. He helped me through a DUI in 2008 when I had moved out of the state of California, and made the process simple and painless. Thank you Bill for your hard work on my behalf.

  4. Very good lawyer!

    Posted by Rochelle, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. O'Connell is very knowledgable about what he does, very helpful and very nice. He handled my case very well. He explained to me all the possible outcomes of my case and told me what would be the best for me. He made sure my record will remain untarnished. When i met him, I was a mess due to my case but after talking to him, he reassured me and was able to put me to ease. He always kept me informed about my case and was available whenever needed. I will not hesitate to recommend him to anyone. Thank you so much Mr. O'Connell.

  5. good review for good lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He was good with my case, help me as much he could, very professional.

  6. Professional, Honest, Realistic, Hardworking

    Posted by Eric, a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Bill was able to help me out with my case and instantly put me at ease. There was a lot of uncertainty in my case and possible charges that may have been added on after the fact. Bill was able to not only make sure that the extra charges did not see the light of day, but he also was able to drop my two misdeamenors down to one measely infraction that will never see my record. I have licensing reviews coming up and he made sure that he did everything possible to ensure my record remained untarnished. This lawyer is professional and has a great sense of humor. On top of it all he is easily accessible and does a great job of easing fear. Thanks Bill!

  7. My Friends

    Posted by Alex, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Connell is an honest man, very professional and effective attorney. I do not hesitate to recommend him. My experience with him has been that he is straightforward in his dealing, and very cost effective and reasonable in his fees.

  8. Great Juvenile Attorney

    Posted by Sam, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    confident, knowledgeable, highly professional, and a very approachable attorney. He has a high level of attention to his clients and made the process a smooth and pleasant journey, and has always replied in a timely manner. He kept me in the loop and was able to fill me in on details. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking a Juvenile attorney.

  9. LETTER OF APPRECIATION

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney O' Connell represented me in a petty theft case, and the case was dismissed as he promised. i would highly recommend him if u need representation for any misdemeanor case. thank you

  10. Excellent Representation

    Posted by Ken, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William O'Connell.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We retained Bill after a family friend's referral to represent our son on a very serious criminal matter and we cannot be more satisfied with the result. Bill explained to us how the court process would go and made us feel as comfortable about possible outcomes as family members could in this situation. The result was exactly what we had been hoping for and I would highly recommend Bill to anyone who needs a lawyer.