Matthew Ian Terry’s Reviews

Matthew Ian Terry

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Matthew Terry is the best DUI lawyer in San Diego

    Posted by David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    During my DUI case Matthew Terry gave me hope when I felt there was none. I had consulted with multiple lawyers before him. The first thing all other lawyers discussed was money. They made me feel like there was very little that could be done to help my situation. Matt on the other hand gave me options, put my mind at ease and talked to me like a human being. My case involved an accident with another vehicle, a very high BAC and witnesses. I was looking at multiple offender charges, jail time and no chance of having my charges reduced. Matt was able to reduce my charges with no jail or public service. Matthew Terry is the real deal. No gimmicks. Give him a call if you're in a bad spot. I highly recommend him.

  2. M. Terry is the best DUI lawyer in San Diego!!

    Posted by Carolyn, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Matt Terry was an amazing lawyer to have, I was first referred to him by a friend. I decided to call him for a free consultation. I am very young so the pricing was a little high for me but he was very understanding and allowed me to make my payment in installments. Being that this was my first offense he put my mind at ease know that I was in good hands. He did an amazing job with my case as well, so the price was definitely worth it! He fought tooth and nail to get me the best settlement possible. To this day, he continues to assist me when I have questions about fulfilling my tasks for my settlement. I feel very fortunate to have him as my lawyer. I I work full time so it was rather difficult for me to attend court. Matt was able to go to court for me in my absence whenever needed. After every court appearance he attended on my behalf, Matt would follow up with me on any recent developments. Matt is always there when you need him!

  3. Best of the Best for DUI

    Posted by Geronimo.B, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I recently got a DUI with a .18 B.A.C. That is over twice the legal limit. I was recommended to hire Matthew Terry by a reliable source. One of the best decisions I ever made. Matthew was able to beat my DMV hearing in about 15-20 minutes. The percentage of beating a DMV hearing in the state of California is about 7%. I was able to keep my driving privileges. Matt is a reliable person and always responded to me in a timely manner. Matt was very professional and even gets you pumped up to fight your case. Matthew is the best of what he does. If you need someone to represent you and fight for your rights... Matthew Terry is the man for the job! My court hearing is still on going case but will right a review when done. I highly recommend to hire Matthew Terry. You will not regret it!

  4. Phenomenal DUI Attorney

    Posted by Allie10,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

    Matt Terry is a phenomenal DUI attorney, hands down. Searching for a lawyer can seem like quite the task, especially in a time of overwhelming chaos. I was lucky enough to have received a personal referral from a reputable source who has witnessed Matt's successful results. From the minute I walked out of our first consultation I felt like I could trust him. I valued the fact that he was personable; I didn't feel like I was "just another client." I knew he was genuine because after I hired him he continued to "walk his talk." His passion for the law is captivating and it sure shined in the court room. He handled my case throughout the entire event and there was never a doubt in my mind that he wouldn't defend me to the very best of his ability. Being in this position for the first time was terrifying but Matt made sure that my story got told. I went in looking for results, and that's exactly what I got.

  5. The Man Works Miracles

    Posted by Jeff, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hiring Matt was one of the best decisions of my life after suffering from one of the worst experiences in my life. Being involved in a DUI case has its share of anxiety, fear, and just an overall feeling of defeat. As a young, working professional I figured this would ruin my future in a number of ways.

    I blew a .23% and saw no signs of getting out of this situation. I expected the worst.

    These feeling changed after I hired Matt. I chose him after many consultations based on the fact that he had a plan to action, believed in my case, spoke to me like a human being, and exuded confidence. When someone believes in you and genuinely cares about your well-being and future it can do wonders for your emotions during this dreadful time.

    Matt fought for me.

    Long story short, Matt had my case DISMISSED due to winning a motion to suppress evidence. My freedom is a reflection of his hard work. I owe a lot to this man!

  6. Hands Down the BEST Attorney Out There

    Posted by Mike, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Without a doubt, I would recommend Matthew Terry to anyone. After receiving my DUI, I was confused and didn't know what to do. I had talked to a few attorneys and didn't feel comfortable with one until talking with Matt. He talks to you like a friend, like a real person, and listens and shares. I read reviews on him before making my decision and was impressed with what I read and hoped to one day be able to write a review about "winning." Well - here I am, 4 months later, writing my "winning" review. Matt went though my case with a fine toothed comb walked out of court a winner. At any point during my case if I had any questions, I knew I could call Matt in a heartbeat. Even when he was busy, he found time for me. And like I said, talking to him was like talking to a friend - sometimes we would get off topic and chat about random stuff but that made me feel even more comfortable with him. Although I hope I never have to use Matt again, I would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone and everyone who is looking for a DUI attorney. Great work, Matt!

  7. Leo57

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Great Job! Matt Terry won my DUI case on 04/2012. If you need a DUI attorney he's is the man. He worked my case threw a fine comb, filter my case beyone my belief, found flaws from the time the sheriff stop me to the day of my court hearing, also in spite of two expert witnesses that were called in to testify against me. Matt Terry won my case. Thank you very much Matt. Highly recommand, Highly knowledgeable, Trustworthly. Great Job ;)

  8. Extremely Helpful and Informative

    Posted by Max, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I found myself in a potential DUI situation Matt was extremely helpful, open, honest, and informative in helping me make the best decisions concerning my case. He explained the process, what I could/should expect, and was always professional yet personable. He made this process extremely easy and straight forward during an extremely confusing and stressful time. At all times I felt as if he was working for my best interest.

  9. Overdelivered on All Expecations

    Posted by Brendan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    “During one of the most difficult times in my life I had the pleasure to work with Matthew Terry and hire him for his services to help me deal with a personal issue that had breifly sidetracked my long and short term goals. I found great comfort from the moment I walked into the office and was assured by Matthew that there was nothing they would not be able to help me out with and was able to relax and continue my everyday life while they had worked on my case. Matthew was honest, punctual, uderpromised and overdelivered on all aspects of my case and truly made me feel comfortable knowing I had a team of people working for me to provide not only amazing results to my situation but understanding. At no point thrughout my client relationship with Matthew did i ever feel that he was not 100% in control of the situation and each step thru the process I was given up to date information when relevant, and given time and space to continue my life routine while they handled my case. I would suggest Matthew Terry and his firm to represent anyone who is looking for the highest form of representation and candor thrughout any difficulty one finds themself in. Having a law firm that truly treats the individual on a case by case basis was huge and I was very impressed with all services that directly related to a result in my favor.”

  10. Excellent and thorough representation

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Matthew Terry.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

    When my daughter (16 yr old) got caught driving with a 0.06 blood alcohol, I called 8 different attorneys to find out what the changes might be of her keeping her license. Every one of them told me it was a lost cause and that there was no possible way she would be able to keep her license. Then I called Matt's office (Cole Casey)...he represented my daughter at the DMV hearing in person with solid, factual, and compelling evidence. The evidence presented in such a way that the Safety Officer was able to return a decision in less than 24 hours. Great work! Well worth the investment.