Kathryn Ursula Tokarska’s Reviews

Kathryn Ursula Tokarska

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. client

    Posted by Dave, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn 6-12 months ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I am so grateful to have Ms. Tokarska represented me to file bankruptcy chapter 7 and concluded my case very smoothly. She is definitely great experience with an excellent presentation from the beginning filed my case until it’s completely finished without a bit of trouble or fear. I was so lucky to have her helped on my case. I will be happy to recommend her to all my friends. Thank you Ms. Tokarska!

    1. Kathryn Ursula Tokarska

      Kathryn Tokarska

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Dave. Best Wishes and Good Luck. Make the best of your fresh start!

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  2. Handling chapter 7

    Posted by Pearl, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn 6-12 months ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very nervous about the Bankruptcy process. Firstly, Kathryn had a fair price, and quickly put me at ease. She continued to be ethical and communicated promptly and thoroughly.
    I would highly recommend her. She is very knowledgeable, and the process moved smoothly and swiftly to completion.

    1. Kathryn Ursula Tokarska

      Kathryn Tokarska

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much. It was my pleasure to work with such a wonderful client.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  3. No surprises, much easier than I thought

    Posted by David, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would like to recommend Kathryn Tokarska for anyone’s bankruptcy. I contacted her after an injury and chronic pain that left me unable to work for three years. She was recommended to me by a friend who had a good experience with her. Katherine was very sympathetic to my situation and made things easy for me. Everything went just as she said it would. There really were no surprises, which was great for a nervous person like myself. (Since the bankruptcy, my body has even started to heal faster; maybe I have less to worry about now.) She clearly knows her job. She is also very likeable.

    1. Kathryn Ursula Tokarska

      Kathryn Tokarska

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was a pleasure serving you. Getting rid of the stress and worry can make a world of difference in helping your body recover from a traumatic event. Good to hear you are doing better.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  4. Best Decision to work with Kathryn!!

    Posted by Meredith, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After admitting I was drowning in medical bills, I finally considered filing bankruptcy and starting over. When I started to research a bankruptcy attorney, I googled "top rated personal bankruptcy attorney san diego" & Kathryn's name came up. After reading other client reviews, I decided to give her a call and I'm so happy I did. She is extremely personable,
    easy to talk to and knows her stuff! I was very impressed with the fact that I dealt directly with Kathryn throughout the entire process, no paralegals or partners involved. She is extremely thorough and made sure my case was 100% prepared down to the smallest detail, making the court appearance fast and flawless. She kept me informed through all stages of the case, and always returned my e-mails or phone calls quickly. Kathryn managed to make. what I thought would be the most stressful thing I had to deal with, a smooth, positive experience. So happy I found her!

    1. Kathryn Ursula Tokarska

      Kathryn Tokarska

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Meredith. It was a pleasure representing you. Live long and prosper. :-)

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  5. A bankruptcy attorney that really cares

    Posted by Mike, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I consulted with Attorney Kathryn Tokarska, she fully explained all the options so that I understood them and as a result, I was able to make an informed decision. After I decided to go ahead with my bankruptcy, she provided all the forms I needed, and included a thorough explanation and answered all my questions -- by email, a huge convenience to me. I could not have asked for more. Before my hearing she expertly coached me so I knew what to expect and it went very smoothly. My process was completed in the minimal amount of time and I'm very happy that I found and hired Kathryn as my attorney. I would highly recommend Kathryn Tokarska for any personal Chapter 7 bankruptcy, as she really is one of the best in San Diego and it really shows that she cares about her clients. One of the things I liked the most about Kathryn is that she processes all the client meetings and paperwork herself, unlike some other firms that have legal assistants. That gave me confidence that it was being done right and it paid off in my case.

    1. Kathryn Ursula Tokarska

      Kathryn Tokarska

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Mike. May the road rise up to meet you.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Helped with clearing up foreclosure laws

    Posted by Amy, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kathryn was a god send to me. I had gotten a scam notice in the mail stating my mortgage was in foreclosures and had a sale date. They used my mortgage company's header and it looked legit to me. After I explained what happened, her wonderful lawyer radar perked up. She had us call my mortgage company, found out that it was still in good standing.

    She was able to help me over the phone and gave me some very good tips with out charging me any fees. I had already talked to other lawyers and they were requiring a fee to talk about my case.

    If Kathryn is this great on helping me, I am sure she is spectacular on her paid clients.

    I hope i never have to use her services, but if i do get into trouble, she will be the first and probably only person I will call.

    1. Kathryn Ursula Tokarska

      Kathryn Tokarska

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Amy for the wonderful review. Remember to follow up on what we discussed and let me know what result you get. I want to hear some good news from you soon. 619-285-1992.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Recently Discharged of Debt From a Chapter 7 Filing!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very apprehensive about seeking help from an attorney, as my previous bad luck with one is what got me into my debt situation in the first place. However, Kathryn Tokarska's knowledge, professionalism, and warm personality reassured and made me feel right at ease, from the beginning through the end of the entire process. She was always approachable, dedicated and reliable, going above and beyond to help make the whole bankruptcy process as pain-free as possible. I highly recommend her to anyone seeking a trustworthy and effective bankruptcy attorney.

  8. Top Shelf Service yet Affordable...even for my case!

    Posted by Scott, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We had been trying to file for a few years. I met with at least 8 different bankruptcy attorneys over those years, most of them referred to me by friends or associates. Kathryn is in a whole different league than all of them. She tells me that my case was a new record for her as far as the total amount of debt discharged - most of that from personal guarantees on a failed business. All of the other attorneys I spoke with used this as a reason to charge more money for my case, which I could not afford. That is why I was never able to file. I even had to pay fees to the first one I talked to, just to talk to him on that initial consultation, non refundable. Kathryn's fees were about half of what others charged but her service was far and above the best. She did not charge for the upfront consultation. She is the only one that answered her phone on the first call. And within just a few hours of that first call, after I emailed her some of my paperwork, she had answers. Yes we qualified for Chp 7 but we needed to file asap. She quoted her fee and the process, and what she needed from me all on that first day. Within a week our case was filed. and 90 days later it was discharged, just like she said it would be. When I did have to leave messages or sent emails, she always got back to me within 1 day, usually the same day, sometimes even on weekends. She actually made proactive calls to me for things she needed or to fill me in on what was happening, which is opposite of all the other attorneys where I always felt like I was chasing them down and begging them to work on my case. She really knows her stuff, and does a great job explaining things, and because of that, and her speed and responsiveness, we are now back on track financially.

  9. Took away the fear and uncertainty of bankruptcy

    Posted by Ken, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Kathryn Tokarska changed my perception of attorneys and bankruptcy in general. I always associated bankruptcy with negative connotations. And the last thing I wanted to do was deal with a lawyer. She was able to allay my fears and put aside my anxiety that I held with filing bankruptcy. The option is there for a reason. Many people need to start over or get a fresh start. She helped me see this and guided me through every step of the process clearly and concisely. I was also fortunate to have such a compassionate attorney to represent me. It ended up to be a very pleasant and painless experience! It was one of the few good things to happen to me in the last few years. If you're worried about your credit rating being stained by a BK, for most people it doesnt matter as if you reading this, chances are your credit is already destroyed and your debt will continue to accumulate for many sleepless nights. Do yourself a favor and discuss this matter with a good attorney such as Kathryn Tokarska.

  10. Made a difficult ordeal seem a piece of cake.

    Posted by Eunice Mejia, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Tokarska.
    • I hired Kathryn more than 3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired a lawyer to help me with a problem (Debt) I had and find the best way to handle it according to my needs, and that is exactly what I got. I had to make some hard decisions so be prepared to make some yourself. I was surprised to find out how many variations are possible on a claim so I am glad I hired her to file for Bankruptcy. Best decision I've made so far that has improved my way of living.