James Frank Pokorny’s Reviews

James Frank Pokorny

Average Rating

Based on 33 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. POKORNY'S JUNIOR LAWYER ERIK BRUNER WAS EXCELLENT - GOT ME OFF SCOTT FREE IN CRIMINAL CASE! VERY WELL RUN OPERATION!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Pokorny.

    Upon contacting Mr. James Pokorny's office, having used him when I was dealing with a juvenile violation, he was responsive and helped me resolve the case with a strong offer from the DA. Well, 10+ years later I received a Drunk in Public, and Mr. Pokorny and his associate Michele Gardenier again were there to help get me out of the situation. Pokorny referred me to one of his junior lawyers, Mr. Erik Bruner, who was absolutely fabulous.

    Mr. Bruner had a close and respectful relationship with the City Attorney, making her more amenable to negotiation given the mutual respect. I had a pretty ugly police report, resulting from my attitude towards the officers which included slipping my (thin) wrists from the handcuffs twice, making rude/obnoxious comments, kicking and screaming, the whole gamut. Mr. Bruner managed to get me out of the situation largely scott free. He was able to get the DA to agree to entirely dismiss the case, as if nothing had ever occurred, provided I simply attend a few AA or NA meetings over a pre-specified time period. Very happy with this result. Had previously considered another attorney who acted as if the case would be impossible to get a reasonable deal, so I was shocked when Mr. Bruner was able to so quickly negotiate such an agreeable conclusion, after which my entire case disappears! I was shocked he was able to get such an attractive offer, in short time. GREAT ATTORNEYS, BOTH ERIK AND JAMES POKORNY!

    ALSO, GREAT ASSOCIATE IN MICHELE GARDENIER, WHO WORKS FOR MR. POKORNY AND MR. BRUNER AND HANDLES MOST (IF NOT ALL) OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE ASPECTS OF THE CASE; SHE IS REALLY ON TOP IT!

    My opinions here are particularly useful to someone evaluating a prospective attorney, as I had initially used a different attorney who failed to attend several required appearances; acted as if the case was impossible to overcome without harsh penalties; and clearly ran a lackluster operation from an administrative standpoint, hence the failed appearances discussed in the foregoing. I found it to be a huge relief once I had switched to Pokorny's offices and was working with Michele Gardenier, Erik Bruner and James Pokorny.

    GREAT FIRM, 100% RECOMMENDED.

  2. Top Notch, Meticulous, with Outstanding Results

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Pokorny.

    Jim Pokorny is an absolute class act. Talk about someone who knows the system, and crosses every T, and dots every I. I was arrested for domestic violence. Jim stopped the charges from being filed before they went to court. His guidance, and demeanor put me in a very comfortable position. I recommend Jim to anyone looking for strong results.

    His staff is also so professional. Always available, quick to return calls, and extremely supportive. Both Michele and Jaime became my instant friends, and there friendliness and support kept me calm to the end.

  3. Outstanding and experienced attorney

    Posted by Rod, a Consumer Protection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Pokorny.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Consumer Protection matter.

    Mr. Pokorny guided me through the darkest days of my life. I was facing years in prison and he was able to get me no custody at all. He was honest with me from the beginning of the case all the way to sentencing and he never lost focus of my case due to the length of it being 2 years. James understanding of the law and his attention to detail is unmatched, which was evident during my sentencing compared to the other attorneys that had no game plan and strategy. The biggest thing that stood out with Mr, Pokorny was his caring, honest, dependability and accountability characteristics. My family and friends were highly impressed by his performance at my sentencing.

    One more thing that blew me away during my sentencing was he blamed himself and took responsibility for some events that happened during the case. I can't thanks him enough for what he has done for me and my family. I was blessed to have an attorney like him on my side.

  4. This is the Attorney you want representing your case

    Posted by Travis, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Pokorny.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    I unfortunately got myself a DUI back in July of last year. I hired James Pokorny to represent me in my DUI case and it was one of the best decisions I've ever made. The entire office was outstanding at informing me about the process and returned all phone calls immediately when I had questions about the case. Michele works at the front desk and I can't say enough about her. She was extremely friendly and helped me through the process every step of the way. They even got my DUI charge down to a wet and reckless with a .14 BAC! Anyone looking for a DUI attorney should be giving James Pokorny's office a call. Highly recommended.

  5. Game Player

    Posted by L.A. Jones, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Pokorny.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    He will play you against his many contacts (DA, JUDGES, ) and
    Take the easiest way to keep you guessing. He will manipulate you into paying
    For what you would get with a public defender. If you catch on and ask him questions, he will get angry at you. He took my case which was gun manufacturing and very controversial. Later in the case when i began to lose faith he told me he



    didnt know about gun laws or guns period. He took my money and quit on me. Nevereturned a dime. I got nothing butvhwn i paid up ahead.

    1. James Frank Pokorny

      James Pokorny

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client was a crystal meth and cocaine addict with a felony record whose “hobby” was to build assault rifles. He retained our offices when he got charged with illegal manufacturing of firearms and possession of cocaine. Since he had a prior felony conviction, he was also charged with felon in possession of a firearm. As time went by, he became more and more erratic in his behavior. He would disappear and not return phone calls, which made representation extremely difficult. He demanded that our offices lodge with the court improper pleading documents, insisting that he had done his own “legal research.”

      To make matters worse, this client accused our offices of collaborating with the prosecutor. He somehow was of the belief that we were prosecuting him instead of defending him. He became delusional as the case wore on. This was all the more bizarre since we had reached a tentative agreement with the prosecutor which would have spared our client jail time. What aggravated the situation even more was that this client repeatedly tried to contact the prosecutor directly, without counsel present. He apparently thought that he had sufficient legal knowledge to deal with the prosecutor himself. One wonders how he got into such trouble if he had such a marvelous understanding of the law?

      To compound the problem, this client got arrested AGAIN while his case was still pending in court, once again for felony weapons charges and drug possession. Because of this arrest, all deals with the prosecutor were off the table. Our client could not understand how he had ruined the pending deal, and instead blamed our offices for his plight.

      The situation finally was so bad that the court appointed other counsel to represent this man. Six months later, after pleading guilty to both cases, he decides that he has a problem with our representation of him. The reality is that drug addiction can cause a person to be irrational and paranoid, and this was the case with this client. He was his own worst enemy, and blamed everyone but himself for his legal problems.

      Our offices have received consistently the highest of ratings from Avvo clients. We have never received such a poor rating as we have from this client. It is important to keep this in context and consider the source of the criticism. If our offices were that bad, how would we received such glowing reviews from all of our other clients?

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Call Pokorny

    Posted by Adam, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Pokorny.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Pokorny as a criminal defense attorney. He is very knowledgeable and professional. More importantly he is honest and to the point. He kept me informed and aware of what was going on in my case from day 1 until it was finally resolved and I could not be more happy with the result.

  7. Unsurpassed Service & Communication. The BEST Attorney experience possible IMHO

    Posted by B. David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Pokorny.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    When choosing an Attorney, it really comes down to Knowledge & Experience in the particular matter for which you find yourself needing one. And when my wife recently got arrested for a DUI, none of the corporate Attorney's that I know would have been able to meet those requirements.

    So I polled friends and colleagues for a reference. Surprisingly, more than one Attorney recommended James Pokorny's firm directly. I picked up the phone and initially spoke to Michele. She took the time to walk me through the process, set reasonable expectations, and even an initial plan of attack. She even recommended that I talk to a number of firms before I made my decision, and told me what to look for and ask. Frankly, I was so impressed with her knowledge and attitude, that I was sold on her personally from the onset, and I agreed to move forward.

    From then, the experience continued to get better. I additionally worked with Jamie, who coordinated just about everything there was to get done. She kept me educated throughout the process, got every question answered, and basically handled every single detail without flaw. By the time our case was finished, I felt like i had a developed a friendship with their team. In fact, what the actual Attorney's did in our case was almost a formality, as their team was so professional and communication was so virtually flawless, that it all went like clock work.

    As far as results, in the end they were able to get my wife's DUI dismissed, and we plead guilty to reckless driving. My wife and I felt like that was an amazing result which we were quite happy with. They, as a firm, had gone over and above to make sure we got the resolve for which they had hoped.

    To say that I would recommend this law office is an understatement. If you want a Law Firm that cares, takes the time to make sure you understand your options and how the process works, communicates amazingly fast and without flaw, and then goes over and above to do exactly what they said they were going to do, then you found the right place. And if you think this is a commericial written specifically about how great they are, then you are also right! Because I don't impress easily.

    Thank you Mr. Pokorny & Team!

  8. Compassionate and caring indvidual!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Pokorny.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    Amazing, compassionate individual and great attorney. Unfortunately had to deal with him multiple times over a few years for family members- and each time he was very honest upfront regarding the situation and the probable outcome. Always felt he gave it his best.

  9. Best in Town! Felony Drug Charge Dismissed!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Pokorny.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jim is the epitome of an excellent and trustworthy attorney. I was charge with a felony drug possession and Jim was able to get the charge entirely dismissed. Regardless of the results, Jim demonstrated throughout the case why he is considered to be one of the top criminal defense attorneys in San Diego. (I am so thankful that a good friend of mine recommended me to Jim or my case may have had a much different result.) His legal skills and relationship with the Judges in San Diego cannot be understated. The minute he walks in the courtroom the judges give him respect and take his arguments seriously. His seemed to know everyone at court and his relationship with the judges is simply invaluable. Finally, Jim's ability to cross-examine witnesses (i.e., the cops who were testifying against me) was incredible to watch. Jim is so comfortable in the Court room and it paid off tremendously in my case.

    Jim is also the ultimate professional and sincerely cares about his client (at least it was clear to me that he personally cared about my case and the impact a conviction was going to have on my life). He went above and beyond making sure me and my family knew what the entire legal process was going to entail. He made sure my wife and I were comfortable with the process and decisions that were being made. I would not hesitate to recommend Jim to anyone who is facing a criminal charge.

  10. Best Attorney if in a Bind in San Diego

    Posted by Josh, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Pokorny.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Last Year I was charged with a DUI in San Diego and my whole world stopped on a dime. I had no knowledge of the court or law and was scared out of my mind. Someone suggested Mr. Pokorny and his law office to help me through the process. I called and from that point on they were very helpful and knowledgable in keeping me on track with the law and out of trouble. The price for retainment was very affordable and the whole team was on my side to help me in the best way possible. If it had not been for the Law offices of Mr. Pokorny I would have spent time in jail lost alot of money and had extreme headaches over the whole thing. When my job didnt allow me to be in court they were right there to represent me in court. Thank You to Mr. Pokorny, Eric bruner, and especially there Sceretary Michelle without you guys I would have failed. I strongly suggest Mr. Pokorny for any of your attorney needs. Thank You so much.