Back to Giacomo’s Profile

Giacomo has received 45 client reviews

Knowledgeable, Innovative, Bold, Pro-Active and can handle the Complex Immigration Cases

Posted by: SaghirShaikh about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

Giacomo helped us on the Permanent Residency case. It was not an easy one as it required lots of extra-steps and lot more supporting documents. He really did a through job and worked hard and in an innovative ways. So I really would recommend Giacomo to you. I think his fee is probably above average but considering his style of team work and giving personal attention, it is worth it. Best is to spell out the complete fee agreement ahead and inquire all the possible scenarios and that way you would know how much it would cost. Nevertheless, Giacomo and Tatyana are probably the best lawyers in immigration field i have come across and I have dealt a few ones for sure. Very friendly, open and accessible.
  1. Giacomo Jacques Behar

    Giacomo Behar

    LawyerComment:

    This was not your simple "Permanent Residency" case. Before arriving at the I-485 adjustment of status stage, we had to deal with a number of other legal procedures and obstacles to assure that all bars to adjustment were successfully overcome and that the client remained in valid status at all times. It took a team of 2 lawyers and innumerable hours of developing customized strategy in this case to bring it to successful resolution. Having the cooperation and complete trust of the clients throughout the entire process was of great help and enabled us to successfully accomplish this difficult goal. Very happy to have been of service to you and we are elated that in the end everything turned out well as expected. Congratulations!

    Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

My husband is finally a US citizen!!

Posted by: Graciela 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

We first met Mr. Behar about 3 years ago. He was the second immigration lawyer we went to see, after we were at a free consultation of 15-20 minutes with another immigration lawyer whose enormously attractive website convinced us to call. That attorney could not even concentrate to look at us straight as we were asking questions and quickly dismissed us after what seemed only a few minutes, during which we had to endure an unbelievable sales pitch.. Most of our main questions were not even being answered, with the attorney seeming to be elsewhere and not even looking at us. We were given the choice of "paying for a consultation" or leaving.. We were introduced to Mr. Behar by common friends who years ago used his services and were still talking about him, his travels and language abilities at our office parties. We had to pay for the consultation, which was "up to 45 minutes" we were explained. We left after 2 and a half hours and did not even feel time pass. My husband and I just moved from Mexico where I had been studying and met my husband there. We had many questions and unending problems it seemed. The other attorney (and two others we spoke to on the phone) did not provide us with straight answers and simply tried to change the subject we felt. Mr. Behar spoke perfect Spanish, which put my husband at great ease, and calmly explained the marriage green card application process. My husband had a problem with Immigration years ago when his border card was cancelled. He was afraid. Giacomo and his staff prepared and filed our case fast and efficiently. He even introduced us to his own Doctor who received us the next day. He accompanied us to the interview. We were approved right there at the interview and my husband received his green card within a week in the mail. 6 months before it was time to file for the conditions removal Giacomo's staff was already tracking us and getting us ready. When we filed the I-761 it was quickly approved and we didn't even have to appear for a an interview again. A year later it was time to file for my husband's citizenship - once again Giacomo was there to explain, prepare and quickly file his application. He accompanied my husband to the interview and came out after 15 minutes with my husband smiling like I never seen him before.. Now after the oath ceremony he is already a US citizen!! Thank you Giacomo! We will never forget you.

NATIONAL INTEREST WAIVER APPROVED IN RECORD TIME!!

Posted by: Kaan 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

Giacomo did a marvelous thing for me: got my National Interest Waiver application approved in a mere few months - without any RFE (as he was so good scaring me about it) !!! Today I am the happiest person in the world! Years after being forced to remain in J-1 status due to the fact that the University where I am a research scholar refused for years to petition me for a Green Card, Giacomo finally pulled it off, again!! He began by first getting my waiver for the 2 years home country ban lifted - despite the fact that other lawyers did not give me much hope.. neither for the waiver, nor for my being able to qualify for a NIW!! Giacomo was so confident from the beginning that my wife and I thought he might be bluffing.. He took close to 5 months to prepare and finalize my application.. I was not too happy when almost all of the recommendation letters were torn apart one by one by Giacomo who time after time sent them back to the drawing board! Only later did I understood the value and wisdom in all of that. When finally filed Giacomo insisted on sending my NIW as a "double barrel gun" as he likes to put it: as both an NIW AND an EB-1 application to cover all possible bases and "double my chances" as he put it.. Until I saw the huge package he put together leave his office... i insisted to my self drive it to the FedEx store, but Giacomo and his staff did not let me.. Everything Giacomo predicted came true: my in reality difficult and not so easy to approve application got approved in a record time WITHOUT AN RFE!!! Thanks a million Giacomo - you've changed our lives!!! Burcu and I will never forget and your services to anyone we know!

Highly Knowledgeable, Trustworthy And Efficient!

Posted by: Maurice 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

I decided to find out what all the "buzz" about Giacomo (Jacques) Behar was and find out for myself. I scheduled a consultation with him in Los Angeles over the weekend. He came as dressed for sailing. I was on TN status and my wife on J-1. Time was running out, after 5 years in the US my wife was pressuring me to either obtain a green card or return to Montreal. The immigration lawyer my employer pushed on us did not impress us - she did not think I could obtain a green card with the type of work I did on TN status, "too many unemployed US workers" she would say. My wife was (is still) working for a university and they never file for 'green cards', unless indispensable. My wife as a research fellow was not. It all fell on me. We ended up spending over an hour with Giacomo and he dissected and reclassified my job description in such a way that "only those truly qualified will apply" he assured me. The specific job duties almost every Canadian performs are unique he told me, and cannot be duplicated. "It's only a matter of properly describing them, by throwing the generic out and bringing the highly specific, customized to your employer's needs" I still remember him telling me. He convinced my employer to file a PERM labor certification. It wasn't easy. It took months of give and take with my employer and Giacomo, and to hear my boss complain about it, one thought the "recruitment" process would never end. 5 long months, during which a "Chinese Wall" was erected between me, the advertisings, interviews of applicants, etc. One day my employer told me the PERM was already filed and wished me good luck. Many, many months passed and then suddenly the boss informed me "we are being audited by the Department of Labor". Again I couldn't do or say anything. It was between Giacomo and my boss. From what I saw, within less than 10 days Giacomo finalized the audit response and sent all kinds of documents to sign. Even I had to sign one and notarize my signature. Another what seemed interminable months passed and we still did not hear from DOL. Then suddenly the boss received some mail and Giacomo notified us the PERM was approved! I couldn't believe it. Then Giacomo rushed the boss to file the Immigrant application with USCIS. To our amazement, it was approved within less than 3 months!! Unlike DOL, USCIS did not "audit" our Company. We now have to wait until my priority date becomes current for us to be able to file our individual green card applications. "Don't leave the country now that an I-140 has been filed" warned us Giacomo. I didn't listen. There was a business trip I had to make to Toronto, my presence was indispensable i was told and simply flew out without letting him know or thinking about the consequences. An unpleasant surprise awaited me in Toronto airport with the US Immigration there: the I-140 showed up on the officer's screen and I was about to be denied the right to take my flight back to L.A. "Immigrant intent" I was told. My TN status did not allow me for "dual intent" I was repeated over and over again. I was petrified. I was about to lose my job and future in the U.S. I don't know how I succeeded to convince the officer to let me call Giacomo and let him talk and explain. I still don't understand how Giacomo convinced the officer to let me board my Los Angeles flight by assuring him that my wife and I will seek our immigrant visas at the US consulate in Montreal rather "change the status" in Los Angeles. I saw the officer smiling at first and then laughing non stop. I was so nervous that I started laughing too.. Uncontrollably.. The officer let me go by telling me "you are very lucky" "you've got an outstanding attorney". A true miracle worker! True to his reputation, Giacomo will go out of his way to make reality almost anyone's dreams! Just don't ignore his advice. He literally resuscitated me from the dead at Toronto airport. I will never forget.

I-751 APPROVED IN LESS THAN A MONTH!!

Posted by: Alfredo 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

Mr. Behar first obtained my green card. It was not easy. I am 14 years younger than my wife and no one wanted to believe my wife and I were really married. Two other lawyers in Los Angeles turned us down, they simply didn't want to deal with it and told us our case will never be approved. Mr. Behar believed in us. He prepared a superb case and came with us to the interview in downtown. Our interview lasted almost an hour. I finally obtained my first green card weeks after that interview. When the time came to file the I-751 we were very afraid of the 2nd interview. Giacomo assured us we wouldn't have one. My wife was still too afraid, we had just moved to another state where my wife got a better job. We finally filed the I-751 - to our amazement and disbelief, it got approved in 28 days!!! No interview!! Thank you Mr. Behar! You came true again! I am now waiting to file for my Citizenship and we will fly Mr. Behar in for my interview, that's for sure!

WAS SO WONDERFUL TO WORK WITH!

Posted by: Anna 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

Giacomo was wonderful to work with! Im a US citizen, and married the French love of my life. Only problem was my husband originally came here with an entrepreneurial visa which was valid as long as his coffee shop was open. He sold his coffee shop 6 months before we got married, which made his visa expire. Giacomo spoke perfect French, which put my husband at ease and helped him communicate everything we needed to do. He counseled us extremely in depth before our interview. He always responded to our questions in a timely manner, and he accompanied us to our interview as well. Not to mention Giacomo had a great sense of humor and kept us laughing overtime we met him. Now my husband has a green card, and can apply for citizenship in 2 years!

GRATEFUL FOR EVER - Where were you all these years?

Posted by: Amelie 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

Giacomo made it possible for our son to remain with us in the US, on a newly issued visa at the border, without having to leave back for Europe and apply for the H-4 child-dependent visa there, as the law required us to. My husband and I will never be grateful enough, nor ever be able to express our thanks. Two lawyers before him lifted up their hands in the air and told us nothing could be done, that we had to take our infant son to Paris and apply for his H-4 visa there.. Giacomo was the only one who said "let me try something" and drove us straight to the Mexican border. Once there he used his charm, humor and wits and was finally able to convince CBP to admit our son back in H-4 status He was no longer "out of status"! Giacomo even managed an officer to escort us all the way to the beginning of the passport control line, shaving a min. 60-90 minute wait! My husband now calls him "Giacomo 007"!

Amazing person, great professional

Posted by: Henrique huyer, a Immigration client 7 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

I hired Giacomo 6-12 months ago.

Giacomo handled my Immigration matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

If these are not the best immigration lawyers in the nation, then who?? nI am from Brazil and more than 2 years ago got married to a US citizen and applied for a green card in Las Vegas. With the help of a local “lawyer” I obtained my conditional residence. When time came to file the I-751 removal of condition, that lawyer eagerly took my money to “prepare” the application, but when I notified him my wife and I separated, filed for divorce and I needed to file the I-751 alone, he suddenly became unavailable: my phone calls were no longer returned, emails went unanswered and even when I walked into the lawyer’s office unannounced he still managed to avoid me. In the meantime I had to move to California to accept a wonderful job here. It was then that I was introduced to Giacomo and Tatyana, who were highly recommended to me by other fellow Brazilians who had been in the same, or even more desperate situations than I was (immigration court and all…) Giacomo and Tatyana managed to save me from my predicament, by providing me with highly creative ideas on how to assemble my case to achieve the most effective and expeditious result. As a result of their incredible work I recently received my new, 10-year green card in the mail in less than 2 months! And without having been called to an interview, despite having applied for the I-751 alone! This result was so fantastic, that neither myself, nor any of my friends and co-workers could believe it! And yet, this is what characterizes the quality of work that Giacomo and Tatyana consistently produce, and comes as no surprise to all of us who are blessed to count ourselves as their clients. Obrigado, dear Giacomo and Tatyana for caring so much for your clients and being the Best of the Best in the nation!! And, last but not least, many heartfelt congratulations to both of you for successfully passing the state of California Legal Specialization Examination in the area of Immigration and Nationality Law!!

K1 Visa in 27 days!

Posted by: gloria adriana pena, a Immigration client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

I hired Giacomo 6-12 months ago.

Giacomo handled my Immigration matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

After consulting with 4 other lawyers previously I decided to work with Mr Giacomo becose he answered all my questions patiently, with deep knowledge and most of all with comon sense and no legal BS talking. My fiancee is Swedish and was working for an American company, we were not sure if we should waited for his company to transfer him as they promised under a working visa or apply for him under a fiancee visa or getting him in US as a tourist and then after get married apply for his green card. If I would not have talked to Mr Giacomo and followed the other layers advice we would have make a huge mistake and make things very complicated for us. Under his instructions and representation my fiancee got his K1 Visa approved in 27 days. The whole process took us less than 5 months, my fiancee and my step daughter are here with me and we will get married in 10 days.

Miracle worker on removal case

Posted by: Hang, a Immigration client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Giacomo Behar

I hired Giacomo 6-12 months ago.

Giacomo handled my Immigration matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

My girlfriend is a graduate student in California. She has been in the states for 3 years and thus has not seen her parents for the same period of time. A few months ago, she got the permission from her adviser to take a vacation and see her parents. However, her F-1 visa expired already. While her DS I94/I 20 give her legal status to stay in the states, she is not able to travel with these documents. We went to Mexico to renew her visa, but the consulate decided to run a security clearance on her before they can issue her the visa. At the time, we had the misconception that she can come back to the US to wait for the security clearance. However, at the border, she was denied entrance to the US and subsequently placed under the custody of CBP/ICE. I was informed by the CBP/ICE officers that my girlfriend is subject to the removal proceeding since she tried to enter US without a valid visa. I felt that the punishment was too harsh for the crime, but I didn't know what to do about it. At this time, I found Giacomo Behar on avvos and called him. The case was handled by both Giacomo Behar and Tatyana Edwards. These attorneys were very thorough in getting the case information from me, making sure all accounts are accurately described. For the next two weeks, Giacomo and Tatyana made quite an effort to reach the CBP/ICE officers and updating me whenever they have new findings. Originally, the ICE officers tried to issue an expedite removal on my girlfriend, but Giacomo and Tatyana fought it off and bought us some time. My girlfriend and I wanted to request for voluntary withdraw of request to enter the US, but it seems that the ICE officers aren't being very responsive to our request. A week or so later, the ICE officer tried to perform the expedite removal again. This time, the officer seems to be pretty determined and unwilling to make compromises. Just when I thought that all causes are lost, Giacomo and Tatyana were able to reach their contacts in the ICE and touched them with our story. Now, instead of being deported, my girlfriend is given the opportunity to see an immigration judge. The best part of it being that she was paroled out of the detention facility without a bond. This was truly a miracle, and we owe much thanks to Giacomo Behar and Tatyana Edwards.