David Michael Boertje’s Reviews

David Michael Boertje

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Exceptional Results and Service

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I needed to get some misdemeanor convictions removed from my record as they were preventing me from clearing a background check for employment. The problem was that I was still on probation and three lawyers that I had spoken with told me that, although there was early termination of probation in California, I had not completed a sufficient amount of my sentence for a judge to consider such a motion. After speaking with David Boertje, although we had no guarantee of success, I felt that I had the best possible chance of having my record cleared. He explained the process to me, expedited the filings so we could get the earliest possible court date and even took time during his vacation with his family on Fourth of July weekend to speak with me about our case that was coming up the next week. Not only was David successful, (the judge granted both motions) he made me feel as comfortable as possible through the entire process, giving me realistic expectations and understanding and addressing my concerns.
    I would recommend David Boertje to anyone who needed help with Criminal Defense or related motions in San Diego. He is a true advocate and partner and got results that others said were impossible.

  2. Mr. Boertje is Amazing!

    Posted by Jennifer, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Boertje is amazing.

    I had gotten a letter the day before I had an arraignment, I googled San Diego Criminal Lawyers, he was the first name that came up and I did some research. I called him, he took my case immediately and went to my arraignment for me the next day. Since I am located out of state, he got it rescheduled for a date that worked for me to commute back and forth. His fee was reasonable and he worked out a great payment plan with me. My case is now finished and I only had to go to jail for a book and release. Still horrible, but absolutely necessary. I ended up taking a plea and all I have to do is do 40 hours of community service.

    He is very kind and caring and not at all what you think of when you think of a criminal defense attorney. His staff is amazing as well. Kamron is awesome and so is the receptionist (I forget her name) but everyone is just amazing. I was so scared and freaked out but Mr. Boertje explained everything to me and put me completely at ease. I could not have asked for a better lawyer. I would insist that everyone who is faced with a criminal case to call David Boertje.

  3. Great!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Amazing Lawyer! Got DUI with .24 dropped to a wet/reckless. Always let me know what was going on and easy to talk to. Would definitely recommend him to anyone.

  4. Knowledgeable, Dedicated, and Client Focused

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. David Boertje and his paralegal Ms. Kamron Diaz made me feel immediately at ease when I first approached them in the representation of my “under the influence of a controlled substance” case. The retainer was reasonable and affordable, and much less than many other defense attorneys. He attended all of the pre-trial hearings for me, allowing me to continue with my daily routine. He always kept me well informed of each hearing’s outcome as well as the subsequent steps in the process. Once he received and reviewed a copy of the police report, he recognized the police officers conducted a flawed arrest, and filed a motion to suppress evidence. At this hearing, Mr. Boertje’s legal acumen and thorough preparation was displayed through both his pragmatic questioning of the officers and substantiated arguments made before the judge. The judge had no other choice but to rule in our favor to suppress evidence, resulting in a complete dismissal of the case by the prosecution.

    Thanks David and Kamron for all of your hard work and help!!!

  5. David Boertje = Helpful

    Posted by Chelsea, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I needed a lawyer to go into court for me to have all my community service and dui classes transferred to another county and they made it happen. Kamron, David's partner/assistant, was the one communicating with me. She was very informative, responded to my calls and e-mails at a very quick manner and time, and was always keeping me updated and making sure everything went smoothly. They were more helpful then any of the legal programs in San Diego could be put together!

  6. Honest, Hard Working, and Highly Skilled

    Posted by Steven, a Class Action client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Class Action matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    David is honest and conscientious. I've known him and worked with David and his staff for several years, and trust him, implicitly. He's also an excellent trial attorney, and truly cares about his clients. Very hard working, and has an excellent support staff. Bottom line: If I ever needed assistance, David is the first person I would call.

  7. Great Lawyer who is extramly knowledgable of the law

    Posted by Matthew, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David Boertje is a great lawyer. He was not only professional and set my mind at ease but he immediately had me feeling confident that I was going to win my case. He was well prepared and made the prosecution seem like it was their first case. He immediately noticed a mistake on the prosecution’s case and had the charge thrown out. The prosecutor argued and the judge actually went to his chambers to review if the prosecutor made a mistake. The judge came back within 5min and ruled that the Prosecutor was at fault and the charge was thrown out. I could not believe how quickly he got the charge dismissed which made for one super happy client and one very upset prosecutor. If you want to hire an experienced, well rounded, and prepared lawyer hire David Doertje. I felt like I had the dream team in my corner. He was great!!

  8. Happy I Hired David Boertje

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David is quite a unique type of Attorney in CA in that he is honest with you. He tells you like it is and then guides you in the best possible way. He is a very personable chap. In fact when you meet David and look at his face in person you can instinctively tell that he is an honest man and a good attorney. I hired him on the spot. He is also very reasonably priced. Although I paid him all the money upfront I believe that he has a payment plan for those of you who cannot afford to pay him upfront. It is apparently a very good payment plan too.
    As far as his office is concerned Kamron is an exceptional person and we share the same birthday which is kind of cool. She is very approachable and easy to communicate with.
    Overall I would say that David is a very good Criminal Defense Attorney. He got my 3 charges down to 1. Specifically from Drunk in public, assault & battery to disturbing the peace. I was happy with his work and the communication with the office. David comes highly recommended by me.

  9. Expert Criminal Law Advice

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    David Boertje provides excellent criminal defense, is honest, fair and always keeps you informed. You can count on him to give you the best defense possible and know that you are in great hands.

  10. Excellent Lawyer, highly recommended!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Boertje.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Amazing lawyer! I recommend him to friends and anyone I know that needs a great lawyer. I hear tons of horror stories from friends who have had different lawyers and pay expensive fees (3-4x as much or more) and can never get a hold of their lawyer or have poor outcomes. David Boertje and his office updated me every step of the way and the price was very reasonable. I have used David as my lawyer multiple times and I have always had the best possible outcome. Every in the office was very professional and helpful!

Call now for a free consultation.

619-229-1870