Richard Lawrence Duquette’s Reviews

Richard Lawrence Duquette

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Utmost professionalism with great results!

    Posted by Hector, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Working with Attorney Duquette was a very pleasant experience.
    His thorough knowledge of the law as well as his familiarity navigating the court system were impressive. During the course of the case, we felt comfortable knowing that he believed in our case and was on our side. We are confident the outcome of the case was largely due to his expertise and are very pleased with the outcome of the case.
    The fee was well worth it!

  2. Excellent result in bicycle accident case

    Posted by Jim, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Personal Injury matter.

    Richard resolved my bicycle vs. car accident case with fantastic results. I firmly believe the driver's insurance company would've rolled over me if it weren’t for Richard and his very helpful legal team of Karen and Kim.

    Richard not only knows the intricacies of the law as it relates to bicycles, but as an avid cyclist himself, he personally understands and empathizes with cyclists. You'd be hard pressed to find another lawyer as dedicated to bicycle safety and justice as Richard. When it came time to discuss a settlement with the insurance company, Richard was a patient, accomplished negotiator.

    I was very satisfied with the result of my case.

  3. Highly recommend!

    Posted by Leah, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Richard Duqette is amazing. I called him on a Saturday after an unfortunate series of events the previous evening. I was in a panic and had no idea how to handle the mess I had gotten myself into. He was kind, caring and extremely knowledgeable. He met me at his office the next day, and immediately gave me some peace of mind by outlining what I could expect and advising me on how I should move forward. Every step of the way he was supportive and his guidance was right on the mark. He was able to get an outcome for me that exceeded my best expectation. I feel incredibly fortunate that I was referred to Richard, and I would give him the highest recommendation possible.

  4. Richard L. Duquette Esq. = Excellence in Professionalism, Confidentiality and Representation

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was recently charged with a hit and run felony. Luckily, a family friend referred me to Mr.Duquette. He went above and beyond all of my expectations. From the start he was friendly and professional all at the same time. When I was pessimistic, he was optimistic. He was able to get the felony charge reduced to a misdemeanor and he had the matter resolved sooner then I ever thought possible. If you're in trouble with the law or just need amazing legal representation, I recommend Richard L. Duquette Esq. - he's a great attorney!

  5. Highly recommend Richard L. Duquette

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Personal Injury matter.

    After being hit by a vehicle while cycling on El Camino Real, I was unaware of what the proper protocol was for a bike/car collision. Fortunately, a friend who came to the scene knew Richard L. Duquette and was able to contact him and find out what to do. Richard was more than I could have expected in terms of responsiveness. Before my friend had even had the chance to get me to the hospital, Richard was able to communicate clearly what information to gather and what pictures to take in order to document the incident.

    I reached out to Richard the day after the incident and he again quickly responded (on a Sunday) and provided me with more information and scheduled me for an appointment on Monday. During my interaction with Richard, he explained to me my rights and helped walk me through my options. Anytime I had questions, he was more than able to answer and even was able to predict what my next questions would be. I truly felt that this showed how much he has worked with and cared about the cyclist community.

    Throughout the process, I truly felt that Richard cared for me as a person. He is truly a genuine man who cares about individuals going through the unexpected.

    Fortunately, my injuries and bike damages made me feel that continuing down a personal injury case was unwarranted. However, without Richard, I do not feel I would have the right information available to make this decision.

    I would highly recommend Richard L. Duquette to any cyclist in need of responsive, thorough legal action.

  6. Richard is IT!

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are hit by a car while biking, get in touch with Richard Duquette as soon as you can. I have been very involved in bicycle advocacy and education for the last five years, and have promoted bikes as healthy and practical transportation within San Diego. So when my girlfriend was hit by a driver who cut her off on her commute home, I asked around and Richard came very recommended.
    Right away I was impressed by his range of knowledge and could tell that he puts a significant amount of work into each of his cases. He is hospitable and gets to know his clients while maintaining a very powerful position. He won't back down and he won't take any bullshit.
    He was very accommodating. Being a working couple, we did not always have time to travel to Oceanside or front money for medical expenses involved in the case. Richard accommodated us and explained every financial and technical detail in an understandable way. He found my girlfriend medical care and examinations that could be incorporated into the case. He came to our neighborhood to get to know us, and he was very careful to develop trust.
    Richard made a point of how much he believed in our case and the work we do professionally and in our community. He certainly helped us with the case better than I think anybody else could have, helped us maintain our work with the educational organization Bikes del Pueblo, and believe that with the right skills and knowledge working people can get what they need.

  7. OUTSTANDING!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard Duquette is an outstanding attorney. As soon as I sat in Richards office, I knew everything was going to be OK. I got a DUI and Richard came highly recommended. Under the circumstances I needed strong representation because I was not only cited for DUI but was in a bad collision where the other driver was claiming injury. First Richard walked me through everything that was going to take place, then he explained what was necessary on my part to keep my consequences to a minimum.
    Richard and I had several meetings where he kept me informed of the progress on my case. As much as I co-operated and did everything that Richard asked me to do, I must admit he took the bull by the horns. My situation posed serious fines, jail time, public service and long term alcohol programs to name a few....With Richards help I received a minimum fine, no jail time or public service. I do have to attend an alcohol program, but it is the shortest one available. One of my biggest concerns was being sued by the other driver, again with Richards help all that went away. From the time of my DUI until my court appearance I knew what was happening, thanks to Richard. When things like this happen, you need someone with experience, someone who's been around and most of all someone who is competent. Not to mention honest. I felt like my best interest was at heart with Richard and I know he gave me the best representation possible. I Know I'll never need Richards services again, but if I did, I would call him in a heartbeat.

    In closing, there is one other important factor that I would like to mention. Richards team was excellent. Every time I called Richards office, I was taken care of promptly and all my questions were answered accurately. His team is prompt, courteous and professional, they treated me with the utmost respect.

    If you're looking for an outstanding attorney...look no further!

  8. Clear, Concise & Results

    Posted by Markus, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with a DUI and I had no idea of the legal process that was
    involved or lay ahead of me. I am so fortunate that my friend handed me
    Richards contact card to me. But not out of a stack of others but from
    his personal wallet, and told me to see this man and he will help you
    through this. I called the very next morning and Richard met me Saturday
    afternoon! In his office! Richard was influential in calming me down,
    educating me, and assuring me he could help me through this. On my DMV
    hearing, Richard even took his valuable time to go down with me to the
    hearing. It is this kind of commitment, and his many years of
    experience, along with Richard knowing all the points of my particular
    case and the law, that lead to a dismissal of my case by the DMV! This
    lead to my court case hearing and the negotiating a guilty plea to a
    reduced charge of a "Wet Reckless", not a DUI. The DUI charge was
    dismissed! This resulted in substantial reduced fines, probation period,
    and enrollment in an alcohol program for me.

    Richard did 'Everything' and 'More' for me and my circumstances!
    Richard did 'Everything' and 'More' for me and my circumstances!

  9. Great Work!

    Posted by Kevin, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Richard has represented me with for a DUI charge, a Drunk in Public charge, and a probation violation. The DUI charge was reduced down to a Wet Reckless violation, which lessened the probation, fine, and prevented me from having to do any service. He informed me of everything that I would need and recommended me to get the proper paperwork that would only help my case. He was willing to meet to answer any questions, but also did not bother me too much so I did not have to worry about the case. He also worked for me when I got a Drunk in Public charge while still on Wet Reckless probation. This got reduced down to a Disturbing the Peace charge, which enabled me to only have to pay a small fine. Once again he was willing to answer any questions and provide advice while taking care of everything so I did not have to worry too much about it. I was in the middle of getting out of the military so Richard was able to keep me informed but also understood that I did not want to have to be too involved. He was very helpful through the whole process and kept all the charges to a minimum. Thank you Richard!

  10. If your incident is bicycle related, there is no one better than Richard

    Posted by Tim, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Duquette.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard helped me out with a bicycle incident I was involved in. Let me start by saying that Richard really knows his stuff. He is an avid bicyclist himself and really cares about bike awareness and safety. If your incident is bicycle related, Richard is the best plain and simple. Also, he is very genuine and works on a personal level, making him very easy to work with. I would highly Recommend Richard.