Joseph Battle Carnohan’s Reviews

Joseph Battle Carnohan

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce

    Posted by Consuelo, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Joseph by my first attorney, to finalize my divorce and have , she represented me on a Limited Scope Basis. Once this case went to the litigation phase, I spoke to Joseph. He was above board with what can possible happen, the Judge can rule in our favor or not. He spoke with my first attorney, she brought him up to speed on all the details of this case.
    I met Joseph at the day of the hearing, his presence was one of professionalism, knowledgeable of Family Law and very well prepared. He presented his Points of Authority and made references to other cases. I was nervous, who wouldn't be, his confidence made it easier for me to relax a bit.
    The Judge ruled in our favor, there are not enough words to say thank you, I have been very fortunate to come across two professionals who are very committed to their profession. I recommend him highly.

  2. Stop Searching, This is the Right Team!

    Posted by Maria T., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    My marriage took place out of state and after meeting with several attorneys who charged $4,000+ and promised unrealistic divorce dates I found Joseph and Michele. To my amazement the entire divorce cost me a fraction of what I was quoted by other offices. In addition, Michele weathered the storm of dealing with my Ex-Husband who did everything he could to make this process painfully slow. In moments where I felt desperate Michele exercised all legal options. Lastly, Joseph knows his laws! Where other’s missed key important facts Joseph and Michele jumped right into the legal books and started researching to find the REAL answers. I knew I was walking into this Divorce with ALL of my bases covered. Don’t hesitate to pick this Law Office! You’re in Safe and Honest Hands. *On a side note, I had always had a bit of a fear when it comes to the Legal World, but Michele taught me the ropes and walking into courthouse isn’t so much a anxiety attack in the making but a business matter that I’m there to take care of. There are no words that can best explain overcoming my fears and concerns. Thanks Michele.*

  3. Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by Caroline, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    Patient, extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and professional through the entire long and emotional process of my separation and divorce case. He and his assistant/wife Michelle are a great team! I absolutely recommend them to anyone and everyone!

  4. Disgraceful

    Posted by Lynn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I went on here to review Joseph Battle Carnohan, he had absolutely no internet presence: no reviews and none of his own advertising and promotions. As soon as I placed a truthfully detailed review that was negative, Yelp and Avvo soon became bombarded with obviously fake positive reviews.

    All of these "positive" reviews came in at the same time, pushed my truthful reviews back many pages, used similar over-the-top grandiose adjectives, and "Michele" was repeatedly spelled correctly when as a teacher and a writer, I could barely learn the lesson and kept wanting to spell "Michelle." Some of these reviews even have the same writing style.

    Most "reviews" completely and obviously contradicted mine. One even stated that he is "inexpensive" (completely untrue). Carnohan knew I was in a last minute bind in my divorce case, inquired how much money I had access to, and overcharged me to an extreme level (I have all the details, if need proof) and was the most expensive lawyer in town. I paid him excess money because he made me false promises, because of the short time-line involved, and husband's attorney Thomas Nares was not cooperating in the exchange of Settlement Briefs (I prepared my own). After my case, I went to other attorneys and presented all the work that I did on my own (before Carnohan) and explained the little amount Carnohan did, and these other attorneys were in shock regarding how much he got from me.

    And if this were not strange enough: An over-the-top grandiose positive "reviewer" even called me names such as "insane" and "bitter" when my review only listed facts. Why would a "reviewer" take my fact-based review so personal and resort to angry attacks? My review was about a 3rd party and not about the other reviewer. Odd. If I want to compliment a business or service, I never feel compelled to start attacking other reviewers. Actually, I've never seen this happen on other review sites.

    If Joseph Battle Carnohan and "Michele" (got it right now, thanks to all the reviewers who are the same great spellers) had a lick of decency and if my review were not completely honest, they would have either dealt with it like adults or at the least ignored it. I would have given them all the credit in the world if they stood up like a real man and a real woman and reached out to honestly communicate with me instead of resorting to such creepy behavior as of piling fake reviews on Avvo and Yelp. By doing it this way, it only proves what type of people they really are. Sad.

    Unfortunately, Avvo does not have safeguards against piling over an authentic review with fake ones. I hope Avvo looks into investing in a filtering system in the future.

  5. Simply the Best

    Posted by Anna, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am so fortunate to have met Joe. He is an amazing, kind, and caring attorney. When I met Joe I was scared that I would not have a chance to win my case. He was calm and reassuring. With Joe's hard work and determination I not only won my case, Joe changed my life. He and his wife Michele make an awesome team!

  6. excellent, EXCELLENT experience!

    Posted by russ, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joe is a caring, determined, motivated person who, with his legal assistant, Michele, has helped me during the occasions of: gaining custody of my children; working through my first wife's application for her share of my retirement; lessening my Alzheimered mother's judgement in a co-signing situation with a grand-daughter of hers; and, my will.
    No hype, no extravagant claims--just good, hard, work.

  7. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Rebecca, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Joe Carnohan. He has been assisting us with our legal matters for several years and has always been honest, helpful, smart, and prompt. He's definitely an asset to have on your team. He is easy to deal with and sincerely wants the best outcome for his clients. He helped my husband through a divorce with his first wife & recently helped us revise our custody agreement. His rates are great too.

  8. A good decent lawyer!

    Posted by Flora, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe and Michele Carnohan helped me with the most difficult time in my life. My divorce was quite traumatic and they were extremely kind and patient to help me solve such difficult situation.
    One of the things that I liked the most about Joe is the fact that he is not your typical "aggressive" lawyer. He is soft spoken and very calm, but do not let that fool you, when it is time for business, he will be in your corner.
    I would recommend his services to anyone without hesitation. I am happy with the legal services they provided for me.
    Thank you!

  9. Dignity and Respect

    Posted by Laurent, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    What you get from the Carnohans are people who respect your situation, see the goodness in you, and build a case based on positivity and mutual respect for both sides during a difficult time. What they know how to do with well-earned expertise is negotiate. Notice "they." Joseph Carnohan's wife is the paralegal. So when she answers the phone or responds via email, she is giving you hands-on highly informed advice and solutions. This is an unbreakable team. I think of Joe as the closer. He's only there if Michele can't get it done. They're that good.

  10. Happy Customer! Best Decision Ever!

    Posted by Maddie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Carnohan.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My then boyfriend (now husband) and I were dating for about a year before he got orders to Okinawa. Unfortunately, he was still married to his ex-wife (they had been separated for over 4 years). The ex had moved to another state and had taken their daughter. They were living with her boyfriend and the ex now had another child with him (4 years old at the time). Needless to say, a divorce was way over due.

    My husband tried to be amicable and get a quick divorce without any fighting. Sadly, that did not happen. We had gone to one of those places where they file the paper work for you, but you have to have a friend mail the order for divorce (certified mail). We thought it would be fine, but she quickly hired a very aggressive (bills out for everything) lawyer. We had no choice but to hire a lawyer. So with the limited time we had together, we interviewed many lawyers in the Oceanside area. They all had the same story and agreed with everything we had to say. They would fight for my husband and they would get everything he wanted. They all sounded too good to be true.

    Then we met Joe Carnohan and he told us the ugly truth about my husband case. He told us that even though the ex was cohabitating, we had to prove it. He told us that because she was a high-school drop-out and didn’t want to work, he was the more “solvent” party, therefore, would probably have to pay her lawyer fees. He told us that he may have to pay child support for the son she had with another man as well as his own daughter because he hadn’t disputed the paternity (for the son) even though he never signed the birth certificate. He also informed us that because he had been married for 15 years, she could get half of his retirement and alimony! My husband had to prove that they had been legally separated for over 4 years. He was a sitting duck! So, we went with my gut feeling and hired Joe Carnohan and we are so happy we did.

    The ex filed her response to my husband’s motion for divorce the day he flew out to Okinawa. I think she thought he was too far away to be able to fight back. Her motion was full of lies and accusations and we were able to prove EVERY accusation a lie. I did some surveillance (all legal with the advice of legal counsel) and was able to prove that she was cohabitating (along with some trash digging & FB). Joe and Michele were there every step of the way. They were so accommodating and worked with my husband’s 14 hour time difference and they worked with me! I mean, they didn’t judge our situation and were always super pleasant.

    My husband does have to give up part of his retirement, but because we were informed we were able to prove the date of separation to be at the 10 year, 5 month mark. So instead of getting half of his retirement, her percentage decreases the longer he stays in the military. Of course, my husband pays child support each month, but only for his child, which he was never trying to dispute. Lastly, because we were able to prove cohabitation, she does not get alimony. My husband did have to pay $1,000 towards her $14,000 lawyer fees. Joe was very honest and told us that he could go in and argue it in front of the judge, (that alone would cost about $1,000.00) or we can just make an offer of whatever we thought we wanted to do and see if she agreed (she did).

    At the end of the day, Joe didn’t tell us what we wanted to hear. He told us the reality of our case and what we needed to do to come out as clean as possible. We weren’t looking to screw anyone over; we just didn’t want be to screwed in the process. I know if we had gone with one of those (fight for everything lawyer) we would still be paying lawyer fees today.

    P.s., If you want reference, please feel free to call the office of Joe Carnohan. I will be more than happy to speak to anyone.