Michael Ernest Doukas’s Reviews

Michael Ernest Doukas

Average Rating

Based on 51 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Puts an End to Bogus Debt Collection

    Posted by Robert, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.

    Had a company calling me on landline, cell phone, and sending out a collector to my house. The SSN was wrong and DOB was not my own date of birth. They had the wrong person and my credit report proved it. Could not get this company to leave me alone, even after telling them to not call me, come on my property, or contact me in any form. Received a referral for Michael Doukas from the San Diego County Bar Association referral service. Mr. Doukas immediately put a stop to the harassment and took proper steps so the company would learn there are consequences for violations of the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and California Robbins-Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. The end result was very satisfactory and the resolution was quick. Highly recommend Mr. Doukas.

  2. Conscientious Attorney

    Posted by Carlos, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Doukas helped me to quickly resolve a disputed trade line on my consumer files. Mr. Doukas really impressed me with his diligence to keep me informed at every step of my case. He always responded quickly to my emails and phone calls and that's a huge factor for me in the attorney-client relationship. I highly recommend him.

  3. Stuck it to Bank of America

    Posted by a Banking client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Banking matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Doukas kept me informed during the entire process. He knew I was right and he keep pursuing my case against Bank of America. He is extremely prompt in replying to my emails and was always professional. I would highly recommend him to any other client.

  4. Helpful, direct, honest lawyer, with great advice and reasonable fees.

    Posted by Ken, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Michael Doukas gave honest, direct, helpful and much-needed advice on a lawsuit dealing with credit card debt/collection agency. Using a book and the Vista Law Library (very helpful librarians, by the way) I had filed my own challenge and obtained a court date, but other than that, I soon realized I was out of my league, and that if I was going to continue to be my own lawyer, I definitely had a fool for a client. After a free phone consultation where Michael laid out my legal options, the realities of the potential costs a losing decision, and the possible advantages of filing bankruptcy, I decided to pay $250 for Michael to prepare the court forms I needed to send to both the plaintiff and Superior Court. Also Michael advised me on how to handle the court meeting (still pending) on my own, as well as giving a referral for a possible bankruptcy attorney.

    I give Michael a definite 5-star rating. Only wished I'd called him earlier in the process. It would have saved me the $370 filing fee and the loss of half a day's work waiting in line to file papers!

  5. A fantastic job at a very fair price

    Posted by Jim, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Doukas helped me deal with a complicated situation dealing with a default judgment caused in part by another attorney abandoning me and my case. He researched my case in a timely manner, gave me a number of options and worked with all parties to reach an amicable settlement. I would, and have, recommend him to anyone.

  6. I would recommend Michael Doukas

    Posted by Christine, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I interviewed other lawyers and found Michael to be the most reposonsive, capable and interested in helping me prevail in this difficult legal matter. His paying attention to detail and truly advocating for me and working with me, makes this negative process a little more positive and workable.

  7. A knowledgeable and professional attorney who gets results!

    Posted by JulieAnn,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    I had a college credit card that was sold to a collection agency that brought a lawsuit against me. Having never been in this situation, I was referred to Mr. Doukas to assist with debt settlement negotiation. Mr. Doukas was able to negotiate an excellent settlement for me that was substantially less than what the debt collector had offered prior to representation by Mr. Doukas. He was also able to obtain a dismissal of the lawsuit and this allowed me to avoid paying expensive court filing fees. He responded quickly to any phone calls/emails, kept me up to date on pertinent information, and guided me through the whole process seamlessly.

  8. Hired Michael Doukas by referal and could not have been happier

    Posted by Mara, a Credit Card Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Credit Card Fraud matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Michael Doukas always returned calls and e-mails and kept me informed on my case.He is an excellent attorney and you will be treated with respect and honesty.HIs fees are very fair and he works very hard on his clients behalf

  9. Attorney Michael Doukas ends two years of a legal nightmare for me in a few weeks!

    Posted by Scott, a Debt Agreements client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt / Lending Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My name was caught up in a fraud cause in Northern California. The prosecuting attorney, without ever making any attempt to confirm my identity, served my home with papers and spent two years sending me documents on a case I had nothing to do with whatsoever.

    It came to a point where a summary judgement against my name was ruled in the amount of almost $1 million dollars. Again, the prosecution had not once attempted to varify if I was the actual person named in the case.

    I finally turned the San Diego County Bar Association, Lawyer Refferal and Information Service number and was quickly recommended to call Michael Doukas.

    I immediately did so and we met a few days later in person. Michael was a total professional and listened to my story and I presented him with all the documents I had concerning my case. Less than 30 minutes after meeting the man, I retained him as my lawyer and he got to work.

    Without going into specifics, he made contact with the prosecuting attorney and after a bit of difficulty all on their end, he resolved my problems and they dropped the case and dismissed it.

    Outstanding!!

    Michael Doukas is a consummate professional and was nothing but the best as my lawyer.

    I can't recommend this man enough.

  10. Successful Dispute versus Asset Recovery Firm

    Posted by Joe, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Consultation with Michael Doukas related history and elements of factors versus Asset Recovery firm that had billed an erroneous amount. Michael Doukas evaluated all the elements and created a factual assertive counter offer letter that resulted in an acceptible settlement of the issue.