Michael Ernest Doukas’s Reviews

Michael Ernest Doukas

Average Rating

Based on 50 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great service. Great results.

    Posted by a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael did a great job with my case. He gave me sound guidance a long the way, and helped to get the judgement amount reduced. I would highly recommend him, without hesitation.

  2. Debt Settlement

    Posted by Kerry, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We were being sued by a loan company and Michael helped us resolve this quickly by negotiating with the company and setting up a payment plan.

    Michael talked us through the situation and the possible outcomes and kept us informed along the way about correspondence with the loan company. One thing inparticular that I valued was that he would text me with information which made the communication quick and to the point. If I had questions that needed more explanation, I was able to call him and get a quick answer.

    Overall, this was a positive experience in the midst of a challenge. Michael set our expectations and then kept us informed along the way.

  3. Michael Doukas, Attorney--Highly Recommended

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.

    We brought Michael Doukas our unresolved problem, the installation of new carpet throughout our home which had been installed in two different colors instead of the one color we had ordered.

    Michael Doukas analyzed the problem, including reviewing all the material and experts reports. He advised us on the rights of the law so we could achieve a favorable result. After working for a considerable period of time trying to resolve the problem with the local carpet retailer, he filed a lawsuit on our behalf. He negotiated with the carpet retailer's attorney and achieved a satisfactory result for us. We could not have achieved this result without his expertise.

    He responded promptly to our questions and concerns with outstanding communication skills. He, at all times, was professional, ethical, knowledgeable and supportive.

    We highly recommend attorney Michael Doukas.

  4. Very helpful - Debt and Lawsuit

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Doukas helped with debt/lawsuit which I had previously been told (not official legal advice) I would likely not be able to do anything about.

    The issue was resolved within a few weeks with a couple of emails. I wish I had known that I could fight it successfully as it would have saved me quite a bit of worrying.

  5. Summons & Credit Card Negotiations Settlement

    Posted by Eva, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Michael Doukas by the San Diego Bar Assoc. when I had become an unwilling participant of a very large national scam with an attorney out of Florida whom I had retained in assistance for Credit Card Dissolution and Settlement.

    Without going into details of the scam in Florida, the end result was that I was given a summons from the attorneys representing the credit card company, that the attorney in Florida was suppose to be handling. I contacted the Florida Bar as well as the Florida Attorney General's office to explain what was happening with the FL attorney who was representing me, who took my money and disappeared. I was instructed to obtain a California attorney where I currently reside. This brought me to the local bar assoc who referred me to Michael Doukas.

    Michael returned my call within 5 minutes of me leaving a message and has done so every single time since then.

    I explained in detail what I was experiencing with the FL attorney, that I had received a summons to appear in a city 500 miles from where I live and I needed help in debt settlement negotiations.

    From the start, Michael was polite, knowledgeable, trustworthy and kept me well informed of every step and action he would take on my behalf. He explained to me, in detail, what my options were and what avenues and/or actions I could take He also explained to me the best course of action and his recommendation. We discussed, together, what I thought would be best for me and Michael handled everything exactly as we had discussed. During this time, Michael was calm and collected during the whole process even, when at times, I was in a panic and scared of what might happen.

    I was very pleased with the outcome and even more pleased that I had someone like Michael to help me every step of the way. I have a little more to take care of in the near future and will, without a doubt, be contacting Michael again for his assistance.

  6. A case across the States

    Posted by Dave, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    Michael was supportive and explained in detail how the system works in my odd case across the United States. He was able to resolve my case quickly and set up a plan that helped our business put this situation behind us.

  7. Highly recommend Michael Doukas

    Posted by Camille,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    Excellent attorney. Kept me well informed every step of the way and handled everything quickly. I never had to wonder what was happening with my case. He really goes out of his way to help you and make it as stress free as possible. I very highly recommend Michael Doukas and if I need an attorney in the future will definitely hire him again.

  8. Identity Theft case

    Posted by Lauri, a Identity Theft client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Identity Theft matter.

    Mr. Doukas resolved my case. He was professional and expedient. He appeared to have a good knowledge of my rights and laws pertaining to the case.

  9. Excelent Attorney

    Posted by Pierre, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    I know and have secured Mr. Doukas services first 9 years ago and have always been satisfied with his knowledge and ease of explaining complicated matters.
    He is the person I go to for any questions and/or issues related to legal matters.
    He represented me in several cases with great standing and no non-sense approach to difficult issues.

  10. Puts an End to Bogus Debt Collection

    Posted by Robert, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.

    Had a company calling me on landline, cell phone, and sending out a collector to my house. The SSN was wrong and DOB was not my own date of birth. They had the wrong person and my credit report proved it. Could not get this company to leave me alone, even after telling them to not call me, come on my property, or contact me in any form. Received a referral for Michael Doukas from the San Diego County Bar Association referral service. Mr. Doukas immediately put a stop to the harassment and took proper steps so the company would learn there are consequences for violations of the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and California Robbins-Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. The end result was very satisfactory and the resolution was quick. Highly recommend Mr. Doukas.