Michael Ernest Doukas’s Reviews

Michael Ernest Doukas

Average Rating

Based on 47 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very helpful - Debt and Lawsuit

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Doukas helped with debt/lawsuit which I had previously been told (not official legal advice) I would likely not be able to do anything about.

    The issue was resolved within a few weeks with a couple of emails. I wish I had known that I could fight it successfully as it would have saved me quite a bit of worrying.

  2. Summons & Credit Card Negotiations Settlement

    Posted by Eva, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Michael Doukas by the San Diego Bar Assoc. when I had become an unwilling participant of a very large national scam with an attorney out of Florida whom I had retained in assistance for Credit Card Dissolution and Settlement.

    Without going into details of the scam in Florida, the end result was that I was given a summons from the attorneys representing the credit card company, that the attorney in Florida was suppose to be handling. I contacted the Florida Bar as well as the Florida Attorney General's office to explain what was happening with the FL attorney who was representing me, who took my money and disappeared. I was instructed to obtain a California attorney where I currently reside. This brought me to the local bar assoc who referred me to Michael Doukas.

    Michael returned my call within 5 minutes of me leaving a message and has done so every single time since then.

    I explained in detail what I was experiencing with the FL attorney, that I had received a summons to appear in a city 500 miles from where I live and I needed help in debt settlement negotiations.

    From the start, Michael was polite, knowledgeable, trustworthy and kept me well informed of every step and action he would take on my behalf. He explained to me, in detail, what my options were and what avenues and/or actions I could take He also explained to me the best course of action and his recommendation. We discussed, together, what I thought would be best for me and Michael handled everything exactly as we had discussed. During this time, Michael was calm and collected during the whole process even, when at times, I was in a panic and scared of what might happen.

    I was very pleased with the outcome and even more pleased that I had someone like Michael to help me every step of the way. I have a little more to take care of in the near future and will, without a doubt, be contacting Michael again for his assistance.

  3. A case across the States

    Posted by Dave, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    Michael was supportive and explained in detail how the system works in my odd case across the United States. He was able to resolve my case quickly and set up a plan that helped our business put this situation behind us.

  4. Highly recommend Michael Doukas

    Posted by Camille,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.

    Excellent attorney. Kept me well informed every step of the way and handled everything quickly. I never had to wonder what was happening with my case. He really goes out of his way to help you and make it as stress free as possible. I very highly recommend Michael Doukas and if I need an attorney in the future will definitely hire him again.

  5. Identity Theft case

    Posted by Lauri, a Identity Theft client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Identity Theft matter.

    Mr. Doukas resolved my case. He was professional and expedient. He appeared to have a good knowledge of my rights and laws pertaining to the case.

  6. Excelent Attorney

    Posted by Pierre, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.

    I know and have secured Mr. Doukas services first 9 years ago and have always been satisfied with his knowledge and ease of explaining complicated matters.
    He is the person I go to for any questions and/or issues related to legal matters.
    He represented me in several cases with great standing and no non-sense approach to difficult issues.

  7. Puts an End to Bogus Debt Collection

    Posted by Robert, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.

    Had a company calling me on landline, cell phone, and sending out a collector to my house. The SSN was wrong and DOB was not my own date of birth. They had the wrong person and my credit report proved it. Could not get this company to leave me alone, even after telling them to not call me, come on my property, or contact me in any form. Received a referral for Michael Doukas from the San Diego County Bar Association referral service. Mr. Doukas immediately put a stop to the harassment and took proper steps so the company would learn there are consequences for violations of the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and California Robbins-Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. The end result was very satisfactory and the resolution was quick. Highly recommend Mr. Doukas.

  8. Conscientious Attorney

    Posted by Carlos, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Doukas helped me to quickly resolve a disputed trade line on my consumer files. Mr. Doukas really impressed me with his diligence to keep me informed at every step of my case. He always responded quickly to my emails and phone calls and that's a huge factor for me in the attorney-client relationship. I highly recommend him.

  9. Stuck it to Bank of America

    Posted by a Banking client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Banking matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Doukas kept me informed during the entire process. He knew I was right and he keep pursuing my case against Bank of America. He is extremely prompt in replying to my emails and was always professional. I would highly recommend him to any other client.

  10. Helpful, direct, honest lawyer, with great advice and reasonable fees.

    Posted by Ken, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Doukas.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Michael Doukas gave honest, direct, helpful and much-needed advice on a lawsuit dealing with credit card debt/collection agency. Using a book and the Vista Law Library (very helpful librarians, by the way) I had filed my own challenge and obtained a court date, but other than that, I soon realized I was out of my league, and that if I was going to continue to be my own lawyer, I definitely had a fool for a client. After a free phone consultation where Michael laid out my legal options, the realities of the potential costs a losing decision, and the possible advantages of filing bankruptcy, I decided to pay $250 for Michael to prepare the court forms I needed to send to both the plaintiff and Superior Court. Also Michael advised me on how to handle the court meeting (still pending) on my own, as well as giving a referral for a possible bankruptcy attorney.

    I give Michael a definite 5-star rating. Only wished I'd called him earlier in the process. It would have saved me the $370 filing fee and the loss of half a day's work waiting in line to file papers!