Stella Espinoza Browne’s Reviews

Stella Espinoza Browne

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Peope like her give attorneys a bad name

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella 1-3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired her to represent me in a simple divorce case, nothing complicad.
    It was the worst possible choice, tons of work done by me, most unnecessary for my case, all prepared and all the communication was done by her only assistant, Mrs. Espinoza is never there, they never worked on Fridays, whatever time is included in the contract or retainer that you sign with her will be insufficient, there will be more fees at exorbitant costs, they did not work on my case at all for months (possibly because the only assistant she had quit) until I called back to see the status of my case then they restarted, there was another assistant by then and knew nothing of the case.
    Even the calls you make to see the status of your case they will charge you and they can round up the minutes to half an hour increments if they want, when you sign her contract you have given her permission to charge you and you have no ways of verifying this charges, then she'll come with new ones. If you are late in your payment by one day she will charge you, even if it falls on a Friday when they don't work!
    When I question the charges she got extremely upset and simply said "I don't want to represent you anymore" ( she has the right to do so, it's on her contract), by then I had already paid her dues entirely. On her last statement she had new charges! How can you verify that the time of those charges were really spent on your case and were not included in the cost of your retainer?
    They can basically generate the time they want and charge you. She took the money, drop the case and that was it, I was left on my own after I have paid all the money, over 4500 USD for nothing. Never did she ever gave me any advice as far as strategy or updates on the case ever.
    I'm honestly doing a social service to the community if I can stop someone from hiring this person, is that bad. I just wish I could find a way to recover my money without the hustle. WORST EVER "PROFESSIONAL SERVICE" in any service in I've ever experienced.

  2. Best in the Business!!!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella more than 3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From the moment i walked into her lobby i new she was the attorney for me! Her staff greeted me with a pleasant and warm smile,they could not have been any kinder! Mrs. Browne was so understanding of my financial situations and worked with me. She was extremely generous and compassionate!!! I felt completely safe in her care! She got me full custody of my kids and got me a restraining order against my ex. My family and i would not be happy and safe if it wasn't for her! She is a kind woman, but she will fight to the death for her clients!!! She puts her heart into everything she does! She is intelligent, kind, and driven. She is a person WHO REALLY CARES ABOUT THE PEOPLE THAT COME TO HER!!!! SHE IS GREAT! Her paralegal Daisy is a mini Stella Browne! She is helpful when i have questions and always sends me docs, copies, letters etc. in a timely matter!!! FACTS: -Tough in the court room -honest -she will not SUGAR COAT -Smart -bilingual -fierce
    ****I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HER. IF YOU ARE SERIOUS ABOUT YOUR LEGAL CASE, THEN SHE IS THE WOMAN TO GO TO****
    Thank you for everything Mrs. Browne! You have gone above and beyond!

  3. Gets you what you need...

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella 1-3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. browne, although at times a bit hard at times to get in contact with, was very helpful and did an excellent job getting me the child support i so deserved. her rates are fair, and she is very aggressive and passionate in the court room. Best decision i could make for my child's well being!

  4. Don't waste your Money!!!!!!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella 1-3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This attorney is a very poor attorney. One of the worst I've seen throughout my experience. Her fee's are ridiculous and she nickels and dimes for everything. She never opend a file to review a case. Her paralegal Ashle did all the court notes, orders, everything my case needed Stella didn't do her paralegal did. When I went in for a meeting with my attorney Stella didn't have answers to my questions, Ashle did and had them typed up for her to advise me and yet I had to pay $300 for that appointment. Her paralegal Ashle, was the attorney of the office and Stella did nothing but sit on facebook all day. Since Ashle left her practice has went down hill. Don't consult with this attorney, just run!!!!!

  5. Excellent lawyer and highly recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella 1-3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She helped me get custody of my kids and finish my divorce. She and her staff are awesome. She is a fighter in court! Very happy and highly recommend her to others.

  6. happy with Ms. Browne's legal help

    Posted by Richard, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella more than 3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ms. Browne represented me in my divorce. She was great in court. She and her staff were always available to me and answered my questions. I would recommend Ms. Browne to others who need a great divorce lawyer.

  7. GREAT ATTORNEY! THANK YOU MS. BROWNE

    Posted by Leslie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella more than 3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Browne helped me get custody of my daughter back and even got me spousal and child support so I can go back to school and get back on my feet. She was always understanding of my situation. She always returned my phone calls and emails. I hope I never have to go through another divorce but if I do, I will certainly hire Ms. Browne again.

  8. terrible

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella more than 3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    If I could rate her lower, I would. Nonresponsive, not prepared, never available. She obviously is having personal problems, a divorce, a car accident, you name it! She is always on vacation or has some excuse! Apparently, she used to be a good lawyer, which makes her behaviour now, even worse. Her staff is rude and acts as if they are doing you a favor. If you hire her-you will be sorry-I am looking for a new attorney-but it will be rough since Mrs Browne has all my money in advance! I need to get my case resolved-but things are not looking good. She is awful and after she takes her fee will threaten to leave the case and you, in the grease. She should be disbarred.

  9. Horrible attorney...terrible job keeping me informed...

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella more than 3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As a former client I am very disappointed with the way Stella handled my case. As stated with prior reviews, Stella gave me high hopes but in the end I felt she was advocating for the other side and not really showing an interest in my case. She didn’t even read through my court order and signed off on it without making sure it was correct. She didn't keep me informed and made agreements with the other side without consulting with me. As stated perfectly by the last reviewer: If there was a button for VERY POOR, I would have clicked on that instead. I am now in the process of hiring another attorney to fix the mess that she made! As the previous reviewer stated, the majority of the time you will be in communication with Monica, the Paralegal because Stella is either away on vacation, at court for someone else’s case, or just unavailable. And they both have no interest in advocating or fighting for your interest. They are very condescending and always talked down to me and would argue with me if I didn’t agree with their advice. Totally unprofessional! They are happy to agree with the other party for the sake of not going to court which is usually not always in your best interest. Don't hire this attorney. She will ruin your case and won't fight for what you want.

  10. If you want your case ruined.......

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stella Browne.
    • I hired Stella more than 3 years ago.
    • Stella handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If there was a button for VERY POOR, I would have clicked on that instead. Stella gave me high hopes about my case, however, her lack of attention to my case caused my ex to sanction me for attorney fees. To make matters WORSE, I get a bill after one year!!! I ended up having to hire another attorney to fix the mess that she made!
    The majority of the time you will be in communication with Monica, the Paralegal because Stella is either away on vacation, at court for someone elses case, or just unavailable. No joke, I would have to make appointments to speak with her which would take one month, even if its just a simple question. She totally disregarded my case and acted as if she had other cases that were much more important. My current attorney has a 24 hour policy and will return phone calls/emails to you immediately within that time frame. Stella on the other hand, well, you will get lucky if you even get a response to an email!
    Now I'm getting daily phone calls to pay that bill, but when I needed her assistance in my case, she was never there.
    Word of advice, if you are going through a divorce, the last thing you want is for an attorney to add to your stress. Don't hire this attorney, she is the worst out there!