Daniel Josef Paletz’s Reviews

Daniel Josef Paletz

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Under Promises, Over Delivers

    Posted by Mike, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Paletz.
    • I hired Daniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My son wanted to move in with me. We needed a ruling before he started school in the fall, six months. This is impossible to do with a slow court system. Originally my case was with Lauren, one of the less expensive attorneys at this firm. Unfortunately she had an accident and was unable represent me in court. Daniel, the full partner, called me and told me that he would be representing me. I worried because I felt in that Lauren was on top of case. She is sharp and managed to get a court date that I thought impossible. My first surprise with Daniel was that he would be charging me at Lauren’s significantly lower rate. The judge in my case was going to request an evaluation with my son. Doing this would have prolonged my case months after my original court date. On the morning of my court date Daniel was able to find minor’s counsel to represent my son and get the other side to agree. My second surprise with Daniel was that the judge on my case accepted the minor’s counsel in lieu of an evaluation. The judge ruled in my favor on my first court appearance.
    Over the years I have become hardened and distrust lawyers. Daniel told me that he is selective of his cases and only takes the ones that should be fought. I thought ya right. Daniel told me that I had a good chance of losing my case. Other firms told me that I had the highest chances of winning. After spending lunch with him I truly believe he is decent person. Every week the partners take the entire staff out to lunch just to bond and catch up. In one of these lunches someone mentioned that they should every have a company Starbucks card. Now the entire staff has free coffee from the Starbucks next to their office. Several times Daniel said bless you to people sneezing nearby that day. After spending the day with Daniel, I truly believe that he cares and will tell you like it is. He will not tell you what you want to hear just to make a buck. If I lost my case, I would post this same review.

  2. Daniel Paletz is worth his weight in gold, and his entire firm was in our corner.

    Posted by Emily, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Paletz.
    • I hired Daniel 1-6 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Daniel Paletz has been our attorney for the past year out of the 7 years I've had to rely on relief from the family court. In that one year, he accomplished more than had been accomplished by our previous attorney in the six years she represented us. The first time I knew of Daniel, we were in court (being represented by our previous attorney). His clients case was called before ours and we were SO impressed with his ability to command the proceedings, while still giving all due respect to the court. My dad and my current husband got his card that day, without knowing the other had asked.

    Daniel is an AMAZING litigator, when we needed to litigate, but was able to successfully negotiate several issues before we even stood in front of our judge. His office staff (Jillian and Eddie) are amazingly helpful, professional, and always responsive. I also had a wonderful experience, considering the circumstances, with Daniel's associate attorney, Aja. Daniel knew money was an issue for us, and therefore had Aja handle most of the pleadings for us because she charges a lesser fee. Aja is EXTREMELY competent, attentive, and responsive. Daniel and Jillian were extremely flexible with payment arrangements and retainer fees. But above all else, Daniel was able to keep focused on the end result and fought extremely hard for our children. His firm is the best thing that has happened to us in our extremely difficult family court experience. Family court is an emotional experience, and Daniel was able to keep us calm throughout the entire process. When you are called to stand in front of the judge, things happen VERY quickly - he never missed a beat. He is beyond impressive and worth his weight in gold.

  3. Amazing- and Impressive

    Posted by Mindi, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Paletz.
    • I hired Daniel 6-12 months ago.
    • Daniel handled my Family matter.

    Daniel is my 3rd family law attorney. He is amazing. He gave me a free consultation before hiring him.
    He really knows the law, and the Judge in the Van Nuys Court, know that he knows the law. Strong powerful in front of the Judge. If Daniel was my 1st attorney, I'd probably be $25,000 richer.
    He is there for you.

  4. Amazing Attorney, Firm and Value!

    Posted by Sarah, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Paletz.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Daniel as my attorney in 2011. Kermisch & Paletz LLP was the least expensive of the firms I looked into, so I was suspect; however, shocked at how amazing they were and how my husband's attorney was expensive and not nearly as informed and prepared. Daniel was compassionate and truly cared about the results of my case and my children. Lauren and Jorge were also extremely helpful when Daniel was in Court and I had a quick question. This firm is top quality and not based upon the older model of billing clients a ton and hoping to get paid. They charge a fair rate, provide top quality advice and counsel, and care about their client. I would highly recommend Daniel.

  5. So great!

    Posted by jill, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Paletz.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am a current client of Daniel Paletz and after a horrible experience with one of the most renowned lawyers in LA, I am beyond thrilled with Daniel and his entire office. He is a true advocate. He is "on the case" so to speak. I can't recommend him highly enough.

  6. Stay Away!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Daniel Paletz.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I usually don't write reviews, but in this case I want to make sure I really help out others who are diligently looking for a faithful, honest and a decent Lawyer. My experience with Daniel was totally opposite to what you would look for/hope for in a lawyer. He along with his staff is VERY INCOMPETENT!

    First, he promised to me that he will be in the court on the date of the court, so listen this; he called me like 10 min before the hearing that he will not be there as there is another urgent case that’s needed his attention. How preposterous is that?

    Second, he tells me that his assistant, who also is a fresh graduate out of college, will be able to handle my case. She was a total mess and couldn’t handle it. On top of that his assistant was billing me like crazy that only after I warned Daniel that I will take him to court, he pulled the amount out of my invoice.

    Last, I found him very in competent that he couldn't get a single judgment in my favor, instead tried to rationalize with me. Not even a good visitation rights. He was just so incompetent that he couldn't advise me on the best possible options for me. I ended up firing him and hired a NEW lawyer.

    You get what you paid for. Ask yourself why an attorney would have a low hourly fee compared to any other good attorney in the Market. If still you want to hire this cheapo, then go ahead. But you have been warned! I am glad I fired him early in my case. Good Luck!

    1. Daniel Josef Paletz

      Daniel Paletz

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is not a client of our firm. This was an opposing party who had results against them based upon our due diligence and hard work. We are presently in contact with AVVO to remove this falsified review. Often times lawyers are attacked by the opposing parties posing to be our clients. It should be noted that this person does not identify who they are in any capacity. Our firm only sends the attorney to Court that the client wishes to have present. We know who this person is and are taking proper action to have them investigated and removed from AVVO reviews.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Great Results!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Paletz.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am going through my first divorce and custody is a big issue and I had heard great things about Daniel and his firm. My ex went out and hired one of the largest firms which scared me at first. Daniel however was so much better than his firm and a much more knowledgable lawyer. He was just spot on and isn't afraid to play hard ball. In the end we got everything and more. It's an on going process so I'm really happy I found him to be on my side to protect my child's best interest. If you're looking for a great attorney I highly recommend Daniel!